top of page

The Nurse by Jenna Kernan. Review


Book Description:


Can you start right away?” I can hear the desperation in Dr Roth’s voice. He’s longing for someone to look after his poor, sick wife Sabrina in their perfect Florida home. The job pays an awful lot. And I really need the money. As long as they don’t ask too many questions…


I spend my days by Sabrina’s side. She has everything money could buy – a luxurious home, a handsome, doting husband who would do anything for her. I hate cleaning up her mess, picking her designer clothes off the floor, and driving her to the golf club. I hate how she sneers at me, no matter what I do. But I have to remember why I’m really here.


Dr Roth has made it clear I have to make sure she takes her medication. Because if she doesn’t, there’s hell to pay. Three times a day, I count her sedative pills carefully. Sabrina rambles about the death of a child. About a terrible accident. Dr Roth shakes his head sadly. Delusions are a heartbreaking symptom of his wife’s illness, he says.


But when Dr Roth leaves the house, Sabrina becomes more clear-headed. She tells me she’s done something terrible. And that her husband is lying. He keeps her trapped because of what she did. And I’m the only one who can help her escape.


Can I believe the words of a woman suffering from delusions? Or is Dr Roth not as trustworthy as he seems? Someone is lying. And if the Roths find out why I’m really here, this could take a deadly turn…


An unbelievably gripping psychological thriller with a mind-blowing twist that will have you flipping the pages deep into the night. Fans of The Doctor’s Wife, The Perfect Marriage and The Surgeon won’t be able to put this down!





BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'The Nurse' by Jenna Kernan.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Jenna Kernan, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous.


Publication date 2nd October 2023.


This is the fourth book I have read by this author. I have previously read 'The Hunted Girls', 'The Adoption' and 'The Ex Wives' which I would also highly recommend. It is also the first book in 'The Roth Family Lies' series.



This novel consists of a prologue and 46 chapters. The chapters are short to medium in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!



Wow!! What a non stop action packed psychological page turner!! Fantastically written with vivid evocative descriptions that really put you in the storyline. The synopsis, title and civet worked perfectly with the plot.


The plot itself is unique and intriguing and filled with heart in your mouth in the edge of your seat moments. Several times I realised I was holding my breath and biting my nails. This book has everything you could want in a psychological thriller novel!! It was filled with mystery, twists, deceit, secrets, shocks, tension, suspense and everything you could ever want in an addictive page turner !! I was completely absorbed from page one until the explosive ending. I cannot wait to read more books by this fantastic author. Just when I thought I had worked one thing out I was absolutely mind blown by another shocking reveal!! It is getting harder and harder to shock me when it comes to thrillers but this book absolutely messed with my head!!! There were so many times I told myself I would read just one more chapter and then go to bed that I gave up trying to foo.myself in the end!!! I ended up devouring it in one sitting as it is genuinely unputdownable!!!! I absolutely love, love, loved the explosive ending which I would never have seen coming and would absolutely love to see this turned into a movie!!


This is one of the few books that I have listened 100% on Audiobook. If I listen to a book on audiobook I usually also read the physical book between but I listened to the whole book and I was impressed! I must say a HUGE congratulations to the narrator Madeline Pell who did a great job bringing this story to life. I have also listened to Miranda Smith's 'The Weekend Away' which Madeline also did a great job narrating and I would highly recommend that book also. I would listen to it in the car and while walking at any opportunity!!! I'm not only looking forward to reading more books by Miranda but also to listening to more books narrated by Madeline!



The characters were all very different with their own unique personalities. They were all strong and well developed characters along with being very believable. I was completely invested in Emily and Jenna's evocative writing skills and Madeline's fantastic narrative skills really brought her character to life throughout the book. I loved seeing her character develop throughout the book along with getting to know more about Henry Roth and Sabrina Roth. This is one of those books that I am extremely limited in what I say about the characters as I really don't want to give anything away about the storyline because, believe me, you will not have a clue of what is to come when you read this gripping page turner!!!

All I am going to say is that regardless of whether I loved or hated the characters they all worked perfectly together to create an unputdownable psychological thriller that will keep you sucked in from the second you pick it up to the moment you get blown away by the twist at the end!!!



Continue to read until the end of the book to read the prologue and first chapter of Jenna's 'The Adoption'. Another absolutely addictive psychological thriller that will have you hook, line and sinker!!



Congratulations Jenna on yet another fantastic page turner!!! An explosive psychological thriller that will have you chewing your nails and screaming and shouting at the pages!! Here's to your next success 🥂. This is exactly why I love your books and cannot wait until each and every one you bring out!!


Clear your schedules as you won't be able to put this book down even at 2am!!


Overall an absolutely heart racing, suspense filled, unputdownable addictive page turner psychological thriller with a bombshell unexpected twist at the end!




402 pages/ 12 hours 9 minutes



This book is just £1.99 to purchase, free with kindle unlimited, £10.99 on paperback and £39.37 for the audiobook via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!



Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.



Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews





@TheNurse @TheRothFamilyLies @JennaKernan @MadelinePell @Bookouture @BookoutureAnonymous @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Netgalley @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger @KindleUnlimited @BookoutureAudio @Audible @Audiobook




























Author Bio:


Publishers Weekly bestselling author Jenna Kernan is a two-time RITA nominee and winner of the Book Buyers’ Best award. Prior to signing with Bookouture, she published over thirty novels including her popular APACHE PROTECTOR series, and is a member of numerous writing groups, including International Thriller Writers, Mystery Writers of America, Sisters in Crime, Florida Mystery Writers and Novelists, Inc. and frequently attends conferences on police procedure at the Writers Police Academy and MurderCon. Jenna currently lives on Florida’s Gulf Coast with her husband. A natural redhead, she has recently increased her sunblock to SPF 50.




Social Media Links






Sign up to be the first to hear about new releases from Jenna Kernan here: https://www.bookouture.com/jenna-kernan




Buy Link:



You can sign up for all the best Bookouture deals you'll love at: http://ow.ly/Fkiz30lnzdo







0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page