top of page

'The Ex Wives' by Jenna Kernan

Updated: Oct 13, 2022

Book Description:


Two ex-wives. Two missing girls. Will yours be next?


Pulling a batch of my husband’s favourite golden oatmeal cookies from the oven, I smile to hear my daughter Phoebe playing in the treehouse outside. I was once so close to losing everything, but since I married handsome Jackson, I have a perfect life. Jackson might tell me what to wear, but he just likes to buy me nice things. He says I don’t need a job, and why would I want one? I can spend all day taking care of Phoebe and running errands in the fancy car Jackson gave me—he knows everywhere I go, and I love how much he wants to keep me safe.


But my whole world shatters when I find out Jackson is a liar.


He never mentioned he was married before—twice.


I love him so much. But how can I trust him now? Desperate for answers, I search our pristine house top to bottom. I thought Jackson was caring: but is it a way to control me?


When I track down his ex-wives, I see fear in their eyes. Both these women had little girls just like me. And when they left Jackson, their daughters went missing.


Devastated I’ve put Phoebe in danger, I have no choice but to find the truth about those poor girls. To protect Phoebe, I must pretend to still be the perfect wife, even though fear floods through me at Jackson’s touch.


But how far will I have to go? And what will happen to me and my sweet child if my husband finds out?


An absolutely addictive psychological thriller that will have you racing through the pages late into the night! Fans of The Perfect Marriage, The Wife Between Us and The Woman in the Window won’t be able to put this down.




BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'The Ex Wives' by Jenna Kernan.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Jenna Kernan, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous.


Publication date 10th October 2022.


This is the third book I have read by this author. I have previously read 'The Hunted Girls' and 'The Adoption' which I would also recommend.


I was originally drawn to this book by its colourful and interesting eye catching cover and its intriguing synopsis and title. I am a fan of Jenna and if this is half as good as 'The Hunted Girls' and 'The Adoption' it is guaranteed to be a page turner. It also stated in the synopsis that this book is 'An absolutely addictive psychological thriller that will have you racing through the pages late into the night! Fans of The Perfect Marriage, The Wife Between Us and The Woman in the Window won’t be able to put this down'. I am a huge fan of 'The Wife Between Us' so am looking forward to see if it lives up to this. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of 35 chapters. The chapters are medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in Florida, USA 🇺🇸.


This book is written in third person perspective with the main protagonist being Elana Jackson. The benefits of third person perspective with multiple protagonists are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything.


'The Ex Wives' discusses some topics that may upset some readers or may not be suitable for others. I like to point this out ahead of time in my reviews so you can judge if this book is for you or not. In this book Jenna discusses domestic abuse/violence.


Wow!! What a non stop action packed psychological page turner!! Fantastically written with vivid descriptions that really put you in the storyline. The synopsis, title and civet worked perfectly with the plot.


The plot itself is unique and intriguing and filled with heart in your mouth in the edge of your seat moments. Several times I realised I was holding my breath and biting my nails. This book has everything you could want in a psychological thriller novel!! It was filled with love, mystery, deceipt, secrets, tension, suspense and several messed up people!! I was completely absorbed from page one until the explosive ending. I cannot wait to read more books by this fantastic author. Just when I thought I had worked one thing out I was absolutely mind blown by another shocking reveal!! It is getting harder and harder to shock me when it comes to thrillers but this book absolutely messed with my head!!! The worrying thing is that the plot is scarily realistic and the psychological abuse that Elana suffers many women suffer similar worldwide. Domestic abuse is a hard subject to write about but Jenna has done an absolutely fantastic job!! Although hard to read at times I just could not put it down!! If one person who is being abused reads this recognises the signs of abuse gets the help they need it then Jenna has potentially saved a life! If you or someone you know is going through anything mentioned in this book please get help ASAP before it is too late. Jenna has included helplines at the end of this book. I have been a victim of domestic abuse myself and would like to thank you Jenna for covering this important topic, showing readers red flags to keep an eye for and for including charaties and numbers survivors can use to get help. I absolutely love, love, loved the ending (and relieved about something specific, I won't go into details though as not to spoil it for future readers but I'm sure if you've read in you'll know what I mean) and would love to see this turned into a movie!!


The characters were all very different with their own unique personalities. They were all strong and well developed characters along with being very believable. I was completely invested in Elana and my heart completely went out to her for all she went through. I loved seeing her character develop throughout the book and was extremely proud of her at the end. As a mum myself what she went through is a mothers worse nightmare and she is an amazing mum who does everything she can to put her child first. I could not stand Jackson who made me sick to my stomach. There was also several other characters who had serious issues doing what they did/didn't do. However I won't say more than that as I don't want to spoil it for future readers. Regardless of whether I loved or hated the characters they all worked perfectly together to create an unputdownable psychological thriller.


This is only the third book that I have listened 100% on Audiobook. If I listen to a book on audiobook I usually also read the physical book between but for the second time I listened to the whole book and I was impressed! I must say a HUGE congratulations to the narrator Stephanie Cannon who did a great job bringing this story to life. I would listen to it in the car and while walking at any opportunity and Amalia did a fantastic job on both male and female characters voices!!! I'm not only looking forward to reading more books by Jenna but also to listening to more books narrated by Stephanie!


Continue to read until the end of the book for an excerpt from Jenna's 'The Adoption'. Another absolutely addictive psychological thriller that will have you hook, line and sinker!!



Congratulations Jenna on yet another fantastic page turner!!! An explosive psychological thriller that will have you chewing your nails and screaming and shouting at the pages!! Here's to your next success 🥂. This is exactly why I love your books and cannot wait until each and every one you bring out!!


Clear your schedules as you won't be able to put this book down even at 2am!!


Overall a heart stopping, page turning must read psychological thriller that will suck you in from start to finish.


Genres covered in this book include Psychological Fiction, Mystery, Suspense, Domestic Thriller, and Psychological Thriller amongst others.



I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Angela Marsons, Carol Wyer, M. J Arlidge, 'The Woman in the Window' , 'Gone Girl', 'The Wife Between Us', 'The Perfect Marriage', 'The Woman in the Window', PJ Tracy and anyone looking for a book guaranteed to shock you!!



350 pages.


This book is just £1.99 or free on kindle unlimited (at time of review) to purchase on kindle or £9.99 in paperback via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5/5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@JennaKernan @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86









Author Bio:


Publishers Weekly bestselling author Jenna Kernan is a two-time RITA nominee and winner of the Book Buyers’ Best award. Prior to signing with Bookouture, she published over thirty novels including her popular APACHE PROTECTOR series, and is a member of numerous writing groups, including International Thriller Writers, Mystery Writers of America, Sisters in Crime, Florida Mystery Writers and Novelists, Inc. and frequently attends conferences on police procedure at the Writers Police Academy and MurderCon. Jenna currently lives on Florida’s Gulf Coast with her husband. A natural redhead, she has recently increased her sunblock to SPF 50.







Sign up to be the first to hear about new releases from Jenna Kernan here: https://www.bookouture.com/jenna-kernan





Buy Link:



Audio Links:




Listen to a sample here:


You can sign up for all the best Bookouture deals you'll love at: http://ow.ly/Fkiz30lnzdo








11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page