top of page

'The Adoption' by Jenna Kernan


Book Description:


Your little girl is all yours… isn’t she? Dani and her husband Tate’s life together is almost perfect. But Dani is haunted by guilt for causing a terrible car accident that left her unable to have children. She can’t remember why she was driving so fast that day or where she was going. Her therapist says she should try to move on. So when their application to adopt is accepted, Dani sobs with joy. As perfect little Willow nestles in her arms, Dani looks at Tate’s loving smile and knows he will always provide for his family, no matter what. When Dani sees a woman staring as she pushes Willow’s stroller around the safe, gated Florida community where they live, she tells herself it’s simply an admiring passer-by. After all, Dani herself used to watch the local moms and wish she was in their shoes. But when Dani wakes in the night to find Willow’s crib empty, their perfect life becomes a nightmare. In her frantic distress for her daughter, Dani’s memories of the accident flash through her mind. And with a jolt she realises: everyone around her has been lying about that day. Will Dani find out the truth before it’s too late for her baby girl? Or will facing her own dark secrets tear them all apart? A totally addictive and heart-stopping read with a truly mind-blowing twist. Fans of The Woman in the Window, Gone Girl and The Wife Between Us won’t be able to put down this incredible thriller from bestselling author Jenna Kernan.




BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'The Adoption' by Jenna Kernan.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Jenna Kernan, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous.


Publication date 11th May 2022.


This is the second book I have read by this author. I have previously read 'The Hunted Girls' which I would also recommend.


I was originally drawn to this book by its colourful and interesting eye catching cover and its intriguing synopsis and title. I am a fan of Jenna and if this is half as good as 'The Hunted Girls' it is guaranteed to be a page turner. It also stated in the synopsis that 'Fans of The Woman in the Window, Gone Girl and The Wife Between Us won’t be able to put down this incredible thriller from bestselling author Jenna Kernan'. I am a huge fan of 'Gone Girl' so am looking forward to see if it lives up to this. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of a prologue and 30 chapters. The chapters are medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in Florida, USA 🇺🇸.


This book is written in third person perspective with the main protagonist being Dani Sutton. The benefits of third person perspective with multiple protagonists are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything.


Wow!! What a non stop, mind blowing, action packed psychological page turner!! Fantastically written with vivid descriptions that really put you in the storyline. The synopsis, title and civet worked perfectly with the plot.


The plot itself is unique and intriguing and filled with heart in your mouth in the edge of your seat moments. Several times I realised I was holding my breath and biting my nails. This book has everything you could want in a psychological thriller novel!! It was filled with love, mystery, deceipt, secrets, tension, suspense and several messed up people!! I was completely absorbed from page one until the explosive ending. I cannot wait to read more books by this fantastic author. Just when I thought I had worked one thing out I was absolutely mind blown by another shocking reveal!! It is getting harder and harder to shock me when it comes to thrillers but this book absolutely messed with my head!!! Well done Jenna!! The storyline is unique and I've never come across one like it before. It was also intriguing that it mentioned covid as I've only read one other book that mentions Covid before. It was also interesting to read about Prosopagnosia as I've never heard of it before. The fact that Jenna has done her research absolutely shines through so another congratulations for that! There's nothing worse than a book littered with mistakes as the author has not spent the time researching their subject.


The characters were all very different with their own unique personalities. They were all strong and well developed characters along with being very believable. I was completely invested in Dani and my heart completely went out to her for all she went through. I loved seeing her character develop throughout the book and was extremely proud of her at the end. I lost trust in both Tate or Enid and started disliking them both extremely quickly. However I won't say more than that as I don't want to spoil it for future readers. Regardless of whether I loved or hated the characters they all worked perfectly together to create an unputdownable psychological thriller.


Congratulations Jenna on yet another fantastic page turner!!! Here's to your next success 🥂


Clear your schedules as you won't be able to put this book down!!


Overall a heart stopping, page turning must read psychological thriller that will suck you in from start to finish.


Genres covered in this book include Psychological Fiction, Suspense, Domestic Thriller, and Psychological Thriller amongst others.



I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Angela Marsons, Carol Wyer, M. J Arlidge, 'The Woman in the Window' , 'Gone Girl', 'The Wife Between Us', PJ Tracy and anyone looking for a book guaranteed to shock you!!



407 pages.


This book is just 99p or free in kindle unlimited (at time of review) to purchase on kindle via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5/5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@JennaKernan @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86










Author Bio:


Bestselling author Jenna Kernan writes gripping domestic thrillers. Her 2021 release, A Killer’s Daughter, won the bronze medal from the Florida Book Awards in the popular fiction category and her next release, The Adoption, arrives in May 2022 and features a couple whose adoption goes from blissful to terrifying when a dark secret and menacing stranger threaten the baby. Visit Jenna at www.jennakernan.com.

Sign up to be the first to hear about new releases from Jenna Kernan here:




Buy Link:



You can sign up for all the best Bookouture deals you'll love at: http://ow.ly/Fkiz30lnzdo




32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Kommentare

Mit 0 von 5 Sternen bewertet.
Noch keine Ratings

Rating hinzufügen
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page