top of page

You've Got This by Maxine Morrey. Review




Book Description


To find true love, first you have to truly love yourself…


Fleur French does not have the best of luck when it comes to life and love, and her current boyfriend Jasper is yet another person who only seems to like Fleur when she moulds herself into his idea of the perfect partner. So, when she finds herself single, jobless and homeless, Fleur has to decide if she’s ready to finally be herself – if only she knew who that was.


Matt Morgan saw things he’ll never forget when he was deployed in the military, but now back home in Wales, the recuperative powers of the stunning countryside are working their magic. And when Fleur takes a job at his mother’s hotel, Matt senses she could benefit from that same magic – if only Fleur realised it too.


It’s hard to be yourself, when you’ve never felt you quite fitted in. But with new days come new opportunities, and as Fleur begins to flourish and find out who she really is, her luck in love might be about to change too.




BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'You've Got This' by Maxine Morrey.


Read and reviewed for Maxine Morrey, Netgalley, Boldwood, Book & Tonic and Rachel's Random Resources Tours.


Publication date 9th May 2023.


This is the first book I have read by this author.


This book is set in Wales 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁷󠁬󠁳󠁿, UK . The bonus for me of books that are partly or fully based in the UK is that I live in the UK and have sometimes visited places mentioned in the book which makes it easier to picture. I absolutely love that this book is set in Wales which I must admit was another thing that drew me to it and I cannot wait to see if I recognize any places mentioned.


I was originally drawn to this book by its eye catching cover and its intriguing synopsis and title. The synopsis stated '‘Read yourself happy’ with Maxine Morrey’s latest feel-good, unforgettable and utterly uplifting love story, guaranteed to make you smile. Perfect for fans of Mhairi McFarlane and Sophie Kinsella.’ I am a HUGE fan of Sophie Kinsella so am looking forward to seeing if it lives up to this statement. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Boldwood. I have yet to read a book published by Boldwood that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).

Pop


This novel consists of 33 chapters and an epilogue. The chapters are short to medium in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!



This book is written in first person perspective and the main protagonist is Fleur French. The benefits of books written in first person perspective are as long as they are well written it makes you feel that you are being spoken to by the protagonist and it can create more of a bond between yourselves and them.


This book has fantastic descriptions that set you straight in the scenes. The cover, title and synopsis suit the storyline perfectly.


Love, LOVE, LOVED this absolutely gorgeous page turner!! An absolute must read!!!


This book is very well written with vivid descriptions setting the picture perfectly in the readers mind. The title, description and cover works perfectly with the storyline. It is one of those books that are very easy to read and perfect for any reading situations whether you are laying on a beach or curled up in front of a fire. It is an absolutely ideal read for anyone who is looking for a fantastic read that will have you hooked from beginning to end. I absolutely LOVED the realism of this storyline which made it so easy to picture everything that was going on which had been helped by Maxine's fantastic evocative writing skills. I cannot wait to get hooked into more of Maxine's books so I hope she is busy writing her next one!!

This is definitely one of those books that will turn a frown upside down and make life seem a lot brighter. It is packed with fun, compassion, romance, heartbreak, friendship, laughter, sympathy, memories and everything you could ask for in a fantastic feel good book. Fleur’s scumbag boyfriend dumps her on a trip away leaving her single, jobless and homeless all at the same time. The hotel she is staying in belongs to the mum of the guide that Fleur and her ex hired and she offers Fleur both a job and a room. This is Fleur's journey of self discovery, going from someone who agreed with others for an easy life to a stronger and much happier person. Maxine's evocative writing skills drew me deep into the book bringing the atmosphere and characters to life all around me. It is one of those books that I could not put down. I ended up walking around the house looking at my kindle reading away and absolutely devoured it in one sitting..


This may be the first book I have read by Maxine but I cannot wait to get hold of more books by this extremely talented author!!!


The characters were all an eclectic mix and each one of them were realistic and strong. I was completely invested in them all. It also makes them more realistic, believable and made me feel even more for them than I normally would. My heart went out to Fleur who was treated appallingly by her scumbag ex boyfriend Jasper who I absolutely wanted to deck for what he did!! I cannot stand boys like him!! I absolutely adored Matt and his amazing family, especially his mum Bronwyn who took Fleur under her wing. I loved watching each of the characters personalities grow along with their relationships changing and developing. Pick up this book and get lost in this absolutely gorgeous page turner!



Congratulations Maxine on an absolutely stunning read that I just could not put down!!! I am looking forward to reading more of your previous and future books. I would absolutely love to see this book turned into a movie!!! Welcome to my favourite author list and here's to your next success 🥂




Overall an unputdownable, gorgeous book filled with family, romance, fun, friendship and so much more!!


Make sure you read to the very end of the book to read the first chapter of Maxine's 'Just Say Yes' which promises to be just as addictive as this book and is one I'm definitely looking forward to reading myself!!


Genres covered in this book include Humour & Entertainment, Military Romance, Women's Romance Fiction, Rural Life Humour, Women's Contemporary Fiction, Holiday Romance,Romance Fiction, General Humour, Contemporary Fiction, Women Writers And Fiction, Holiday Fiction and Contemporary Romance amongst others.



I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Sophie Kinsella, Sariah Wilson, Lindsey Kelk, Abby Jiminez Emily Henry, Bridget Jones, Mhairi McFarlane and Sophie Kinsella and just anyone looking for a great read!!



328 pages.


This book is just £1.89 to purchase on kindle, free with kindle unlimited and £9.99 in paperback via Amazon, at time of review which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5/5 (I enjoyed it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews





@YouveGotThis @MaxineMorrey @BoldwoodBooks @BoldwoodBloggers @BookAndTonic@Netgalley @RachelsRandomResources @rararesources @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger @KindleUnlimited













Author Bio


Maxine Morrey is a bestselling romantic comedy author with twelve books to her name including #NoFilter and Things Are Looking Up. She lives in Dorset.



Social Media Links


Facebook https://www.facebook.com/MaxineMorreyAuthor

Instagram https://www.instagram.com/Scribbler_Maxi/


Newsletter Sign Up: https://bit.ly/MaxineMorreyNews


Bookbub profile: https://www.bookbub.com/authors/maxine-morrey






Purchase Link


Amazon: https://mybook.to/YouveGotThissocial










4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page