top of page

'Wounds: New Openings Into Old Stories' by Heather Tisdale.


Description

What kind of husband chooses his wife by how easily she bruises? Why would a woman wear glass shoes that cut her feet to impress a man? Does sleeping imply consent?

I have always been a reader of fairy tales and my preference was for the darker ones—the ones with blood and pain and the villains getting what was coming to them. As an adult I began to see how these classic tales mirrored my experiences as a woman in a patriarchal society. I began to write my own versions of darker tales based on my life and the lives of women I knew.

Wounds: New Openings Into Old Stories is a collection of eighteen fairy tales, folk tales and nursery rhymes that retells these classic stories through a feminist lens. It is my story. It is our story.




REVIEW

Review for 'Wounds: New Openings Into Old Stories' by Heather Tisdale.

Publication date 8th October 2019


This is the first book that I have read by this author.



I was originally drawn to this book by its beautiful eye catching and beautifully designed cover it's eye catching blurb . It also tells tales from a feminists perspective and being female myself I am extremely intrigued by this.

This book consists of 18 fairy tales, folk tales and nursery rhymes that retell classic stories through a feminist lens The tales are short to medium in length so possible to read 'just one more tale/poem ' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!



Wow!! What an eye opening collection of stories and poems that really do make you take another look at some of the fairy tales that we were read as children or read ourselves as adults. They really do make you think. They also opened my eyes that even in today's times some things haven't changed and also to how much women do go through in a general way. I loved the authors notes that were included after some of them and I was absolutely shocked by the virgin cleansing myth!!! I would like to congratulation Heather Tisdale on her research which makes a big difference in books. There's nothing worse than reading some books and coming across errors. For example about an era they are writing about or police procedure.


This book is definitely not for the light hearted or for those who do not like reading anything which includes sex. However if you enjoy dark, deep thinking and fairy tales with a twist then what are you waiting for!!! You will love this!!

Overall a thought provoking collection of tales, short stories and poems that really opens your eyes!!!

This book is classified as poetry.

I would recommend this book to the fans of poetry, fairy tales and all women!!!


142 pages.


This book is £7.99 to purchase in paperback via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!

Rated 5/5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews








About the Author


Heather Tisdale was born and raised in Louisiana. She has always had a flair for the dramatic and has been spinning tales from the moment she could speak. She graduated twice from Louisiana College, once with a degree that made her an interesting and well-rounded person and then went back to get her teaching qualification because being an interesting and well-rounded person does not get you a job. While in college she and her sidekick (who later became her husband) were exchange students for three months in London and became devoted Anglophiles. In 2004 they decided to live adventurously by leaving the American South and immigrating to the UK. She lived for a decade in England and now resides in a crooked pink house in rainy Wales with her husband Thomas and their rescued tarantulas and Giant African Land Snails. She is an author, an artist and an activist.


Heather has her own blog and 2 other books available as pdf's only which you can purchase. For more information this is her blog....







17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page