top of page

'Wildflower Graves' by Rita Herron

Title: Wildflower Graves


Author: Rita Herron


Description:


The darkness closed around her. She tried to clear her vision, but there was no light, no noise, nothing. Only the emptiness, the echoing sound of being alone. Fear pulsed through her. The man had come out of nowhere. Who was he? Blinking away tears of frustration, in the pitch black she felt the floor and walls surrounding her. Cold. Steel. Bars.


Detective Ellie Reeves heads into the wilds of the Appalachian Mountains when she wants to get lost––to forget the whispers chasing her and the past that keeps her up at night. She’s sick of having to prove herself to her small town.


But hiking in the endless miles of woods isn’t the escape she was hoping for. One night, as dusk falls, a gust of wind blows some petals on to Ellie’s path. Following the trail, she finds a golden-haired young woman dead on a bed of daffodils, with a note: Monday’s child is fair of face.


When Ellie emerges from the forest, there is a message on her phone. Someone has sent her a picture of her colleague, Officer Shondra Eastwood, with the words: Can you find her, Detective Reeves? Ellie is racked with guilt––while she was busy hiding from life a killer was on the loose, and he has taken her beloved friend.


The wilderness, and its shadows, are the perfect hunting ground for a criminal––but what does the sinister nursery rhyme mean? It soon becomes clear when another dead woman, Tuesday’s Child, is found.


Ellie is up against a serial killer who will claim a victim for every day of the week, and in the next twenty-four hours there will be another body. As this ruthless murderer closes in on her, can she save more innocent women––and Shondra––from his clutches? Or will he get to Ellie first?


An utterly gripping and completely breathless crime thriller for fans of Lisa Regan, Kendra Elliot and Melinda Leigh. You’ll have trouble falling asleep after this heart-pounding page-turner!




BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'Wildflower Graves' by Rita Herron.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 3rd December 2020


This is the first book that I have read by this author. It is also the second book in the 'Detective Ellie Reeves' series. However, each book in the series can be read as a standalone.


I was originally drawn to this book by its beautiful eye catching cover its intriguing synopsis. It also states that this books is for fans of Melinda Leigh in the blurb. I am a MASSIVE fan of Melinda Leigh so am looking forward to see if it lives up to this statement. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of a prologue and 150 chapters. The chapters are short in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in North America, USA 🇺🇸.


This book is written in third person perspective and the main protagonists are Detective Ellie Reeves, Special Agent Derrick Fox, victims and unsubs. The benefits of third person perspective are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out on anything.


OMG!!!!! What did I just read!!?!?!? Right, OK, hold on a minute let's start at the beginning!! First impressions after what attracted me to the book. 150 chapters!!! 441 pages!!! OK yep this is going to take me ages!! Ummmmm.... Nope!!! I need more!!! Absolutely flew by!!! The chapters range from one page to about four pages so please don't let the amount if chapters put you off, you will miss out on one of the best books I've read in a while. I could not out this book down. I would read one chapter, tell myself one more, just to find the next one ended in a cliff hanger and there was no chance I was leaving it there!! Several chapters and hours later its 1am and I have finished the book without even noticing the time!!


The book is extremely smooth and well written so you just glide through the pages turning one after another and getting completely lost in them. The descriptions are vivid so I really did become lost in the woods with our characters. The storyline itself was realistic which made it even easier to imagine everything going on. The cover and the synopsis all work perfectly well with the plot.


The storyline itself was extremely compelling and gripping. Get ready for one heck of a roller-coaster ride. Absolutely rammed full of suspense, secrets, shocks, plots, murder, tension and everything else that you love in a psychological thriller. This is not just one storyline, you are getting so many plots in this book that it will keep you guessing all the way. I have read sooo many crime novels now it is very hard for me to be surprised and shocked but that I was and very wrong on many occasions. Just as I thought I was a smart Alec and worked it all out thwack... Here comes another explosion. Honestly, just Wow!! I would have never guessed who was doing what and then it wasn't just one shocker there were several twists thrown in. You will take this book wherever you go because once your hooked that's it!! I don't think I've actually read a larger book so quickly in months!!


I absolutely loved the range of different characters, their personalities and all the different relationships they had... The hate, the secrets, friendships and most definitely a spark of hidden love. Ellie Reeves you are a hero!!! Absolute wonderwoman!! I LOVE books that have such strong female leads and you cannot get much stronger than Ellie, that girl is a fighter!!! She goes through so many emotions and traumas yet isn't wrapped up in an institution but kicking butt!!! It wasn't just Ellie that whooped butt though but definitely Shondra, even better than one female lead is definitely two!!! Shondra also went through hell and looked the devil in the eye!! Derrick and Cord played their parts perfectly and I cannot wait to look back at the first book and more ahead to see the history and future of what certainly seems to be some sort of love triangle. Who is this mysterious Eula?? Am I right in what came from the seed that was planted towards the end?? I cannot wait to find out.


I have raved about this book long enough but I will tell you a few things to end. You WILL miss out of what is definitely one of the best psychological thrillers if you do not pick up this book. This book NEEDS to be turned into a movie. I CANNOT wait to read more books by this extremely talented woman. To end Rita Herron I'd like to welcome you to my best authors club!!!


Overall a mind blowing, page turning, explosive psychological thriller that will keep you up at night.


Genres covered in this novel include Psychological Thriller, Suspense, Mystery, Thriller, Hardboiled, Noir Fiction, Police Procedural and Crime Fiction amongst others.


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Melinda Leigh, Angela Marsons, Carol Wyer, Tess Gerritsen, everyone and YOU!!! WHAT ARE YOU WAITING FOR?!?!


441 pages.


This book is £1.99 to purchase on kindle via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5/5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@RitaHerron @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86










Author Bio:



USA Today Bestselling and award-winning author Rita Herron fell in love with books at the ripe age of eight when she read her first Trixie Belden mystery. But she didn't think real people grew up to be writers, so she became a teacher instead. Now she writes so she doesn't have to get a real job.


With over ninety books to her credit, she's penned romantic suspense, romantic comedy, and YA novels, but she especially likes writing dark romantic suspense and crime fiction set in small southern towns.



Author Social Media Links:










Buy Links:









18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page