top of page

'When We Were Innocent' by Kate Hewitt

Updated: Sep 25, 2022


Book Description:


You love your father with all your heart. But what if he’s not who you think he is? What if he’s kept an unforgiveable secret from you his whole life?


Libby Trent believes she knows the difference between right and wrong.


But everything changes when she finds out about a man named Hans Brenner, a Nazi who escaped Germany after the Second World War. A war criminal who has lived his whole life in hiding.


Because the man suspected of being Hans Brenner is Libby’s own beloved father.


The sweetest, gentlest man she knows. Who raised her alone, who lives in her family home. Who cares for and watches over Libby’s own children.


When Libby finds a secret box in her father’s bedroom, she knows it might contain evidence. But does she dare open it, if it could prove her father guilty of the most heinous crimes in history?


Because if she finds evidence, she won’t just have to choose between right and wrong, she’ll have to choose whether to betray her own father…


A totally heartbreaking and powerful story about a daughter’s impossible dilemma and the darkest of family secrets, perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult, Amanda Prowse, and Diane Chamberlain.



BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'When We Were Innocent' by Kate Hewitt.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Kate Hewitt, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 20th September 2022.


This is the third book I have read by this author. I have also read 'My Daughter's Mistake' and 'The Child I Never Had' which I would highly recommend.


I was originally drawn to this book by its beautiful cover and intriguing sounding synopsis and title. The synopsis stated that this book is 'A totally heartbreaking and powerful story about a daughter’s impossible dilemma and the darkest of family secrets, perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult, Amanda Prowse, and Diane Chamberlain.' I am a fan of all three of these authors so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I am also a HUGE fan of Kate Hewitt and if this is half as good as 'My Daughter's Mistake' and 'The Child I Never Had' it is bound to be an addictive read. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of 28 chapters and an epilogue. The chapters are short to medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in Virginia, USA 🇺🇸, Stuttgart, Germany 🇩🇪 and Sobibor, Poland 🇵🇱. .


This book is written in a mix of third and first person perspective and the protagonists are Libby Trent and Hans Brenner. The benefits of books written in first person perspective are as long as they are well written it makes you feel that you are being spoken to by the protagonist and it can create more of a bond between yourselves and them. If there are several protagonists you also get to see more of what is going on. The benefits of third person perspective with multiple protagonists are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything. To have the benefit of both first and third person perspective ensures you don't miss out on anything.



'When We Were Innocent' discusses some topics that may upset some readers or may not be suitable for others. I like to point this out ahead of time in my reviews so you can judge if this book is for you or not. In this book Kate discusses the persecution of the Jews.


WOW!!!! What can I say?!?! One thing I have got to say before getting into my review is clear your schedules and grab the tissues as you will need them!!!


This book is beautifully written with vivid descriptions setting the picture perfectly in the readers mind. The title, description and cover works perfectly with the storyline.


This book is devastatingly heartbreaking and beautiful. It is an absolute rollercoaster ride of emotions filled with heartbreak, family, love, loss, secrets, friendship, forgiveness and so much more. It is one of the most thought provoking books I have ever read and I was questioning myself throughout this heartbreaking storyline. I didn't just question myself once about what I would do at the beginning of this book if I was in Libby's position but also what I would have done in both Libby and Han's positions throughout. Kate's writing and descriptions are so evocative I really felt I was write next to both Libby and Han's during the present and past. Reading this book really does make you feel that you are standing with them and going through their pain and suffering. While you are reading this you are going through a journey of love and loss, heartbreak, secrets and forgiveness and so, so much more. It really is a rollercoaster ride of emotions. I was utterly glued to the pages and I could not bring myself to put it down. I was carrying my phone to read it in kindle every chance that I got and I had tears absolutely streaming down my face by the time the Beautiful yet absolutely shocking ending came. I was completely mind blown at the end and just when I thought I had run out of tears they started pouring out again. Kate has clearly done her research on the victims and survivors of the holocaust. Well done Kate as there's nothing much worse that reading a novel filled with silly errors as the author hasn't done any research. I must also say a huge congratulations for bringing Stanislaw Szmajzner's story to life. You have definitely done an amazing job. I had never heard of him before and the fact that you are bringing his name into awareness is absolutely amazing. I will be looking into him as soon as I have finished this review and THAT his because of you!! I have read several fiction books based on the holocaust but this is definitely one of the best I have read and unique in the fact that it is told from both perspectives, from past and present and with the twists at the end!! It definitely gives you something to think about and shows you how much emotion and strength is involved from both the survivors and family of those who are being taken to court for what they have done. I was completely shocked by the twists which I was not expecting at all. It is getting harder and harder to surprise me so congratulations again Kate!!! You need to clear your schedules and get the tissues at the ready because you will not be able to put this book down and it had me in tears by the end and I do not cry easily!!!


It is set over multiple time lines. When books show what has happened in the past and what is happening in the present I find it really helps the reader (if it is well done) understand why things are happening and what has lead to the present activities and decisions. It also shows the bigger picture.


The characters are strong, realistic and I became completely invested in both Libby and Hans. I felt each of their pain, betrayal, guilt , anger, sorrow and so much more My heart broke for each of them who went through so much. Although it was mainly through Libby and Hans's eyes that the story unfolds there are several many other characters that were affected and my heart went out to including Leo, Daniel, Annie, Tim, Lucas, Em and of course each and everyone of the victims. There were several moments I felt physically sick including one that involved a baby but I am glad that Kate included it in the story as events like that did happen and they should be talked about. In the words of George Santayana and quoted in this book because “those who do not remember the past are condemned to repeat it". An extremely sad but true quote. My heart went out to Em who was clearly struggling with everything that was going on and the shocking secrets that were discovered which she was struggling with along with being at the tender age of eleven. Although I did feel for her I also felt like screaming at her on many occasions and wish she would just understand what her mum was going through. I felt for Tim as it can't be easy being a Dad or husband in this situation. I also felt for Lucas who had so much going on at such a young age and was also caught in the middle. I won't say anymore about the characters as I don't want to go into too much detail at the risk of spoiling it for other readers but yet again Kate has done another amazing job at bringing each of the characters to life. Well done Kate!!!


Congratulations Kate on an absolutely gorgeous, heartbreaking beautiful book!!! I am looking forward to reading more of your previous and future books. I would absolutely love to see this turned into a movie!!! This is why you are on my favourite author list and here's to your next success 🥂



Overall an absolutely unputdownable, addictive and compelling devastatingly beautiful heartbreaking book!!!



Genres covered in this book include Historical Fiction, Sagas, Literary Fiction, Women's Fiction, Contemporary Fiction, Historical German Fiction, Women's Historical Fiction, Women's Sagas and Domestic Fiction amongst others.



I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Jodi Picoult, Jojo Moyes, Debbie Macomber, Amanda Prowse, Nicholas Sparks, Diane Chamberlain and anyone who loves a tear jerker.



362 pages.


This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle or free on kindle unlimited (at time of review) and £9.99 in paperback via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@KateHewitt @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86







Author Bio:


Kate Hewitt is the author of many romance and women’s fiction novels. A former New Yorker and now an American ex-pat, she lives in a small town on the Welsh border with her husband, five children, and their overly affectionate Golden Retriever. Whatever the genre, she enjoys telling stories that tackle real issues and touch people’s lives.





Sign up to be the first to hear about new releases from Kate Hewitt here: https://www.bookouture.com/kate-hewitt



Buy Link:



Audio Links:


Listen to a sample here:


You can sign up for all the best Bookouture deals you'll love at: http://ow.ly/Fkiz30lnzdo






16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page