top of page

'When Sparks Fly' by Kristen Zimmer

Title: When Sparks Fly

Author: Kristen Zimmer

Publication Date: 28th April 2021


Book Description:


The room is dark, except for the streetlights coming through the blinds. I can barely see her, but I feel her. She pushes me up against the wall and we kiss harder than we ever have before. I’ve been waiting so long for it to happen, and finally, it’s going to. Then the bedroom door flies open, and someone screams her name… Britton Walsh has never had a home. After a lifetime in the care system, she doesn't expect she’ll ever find one. But beginning her senior year with new foster parents in a new city, means starting over yet again. Tom and Cate Cahill seem okay. The hitch? Their daughter, Avery. Beautiful, popular and cool, Avery is everything Britton is not. She’s all Britton could ever ask for in a sister, or even a friend––but having survived without either for so long, Britton knows the way her heart races whenever Avery enters the room can only mean one thing… But Avery has a secret. Something that is eating away at her and stopping her letting anyone in, least of all Britton. Will Avery’s insistence on punishing herself for a mistake in her past make Britton's last year of high school, and finding a place to call home, impossible? Can two such different people ever find common ground, friendship, or maybe even something more? An unforgettable new adult lesbian romance for fans of Keeping You a Secret by Julie Anne Peters, Her Name in the Sky by Kelly Quindlen, or Nancy Garden’s classic young adult coming out novel, Annie on My Mind. New Adult novel: recommended for 17+ due to mature themes and sexual content.




BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'When Sparks Fly' by Kristen Zimmer.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Kristen Zimmer, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 28th April 2021.


This is the first book I have read by this author.


I was originally drawn to this book by its beautiful eye catching cover and its intriguing synopsis. It is also not the type of genre I usually read which is crime so I was looking for a change and this book stood out. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of a prologue, 46 chapters and an epilogue. The chapters are short to medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in the USA 🇺🇸.


This book is written in first person perspective with the protagonist being Briton Walsh. The benefits of books written in first person perspective are as long as they are well written it makes you feel that you are being spoken to by the protagonist and it can create more of a bond between yourselves and them. If there are several protagonists you also get to see more of what is going on.



'When Sparks Fly' discusses some topics that may trigger some readers or may not be suitable for others. I like to point this out ahead of time in my reviews so you can judge if this book is for you or not. In this book Kristen discusses mature themes and sexual content so would recommend for ages 16 years and above.


Omg absolutely love love loved this book!!! It was beautifully written and perfect for the age group of not only the protagonist but also of the age groups who are likely to be reading this book. I love that we get to see Britons thoughts throughout the book as it really gives an in depth view of how she's feeling. It was so easy to read and the descriptions vivid putting you in the storyline. The cover suited the storyline perfectly and loved the twist with the blurb.


This book really took me straight back to my school days with all the cliques, the atmosphere, the friendship, just everything, Kristen had the settings down to a T. I absolutely loved when they are in Salem and it really made me want to visit it myself in person, this was definitely the closest I felt to being there or in the settings a book is describing for a while. The storyline is filled with love, friendship, loss, romance and with some mystery and a bit of a twist thrown in. Although it took me a while to work out some of the language used in parts by some of the characters I feel that definitely helped with the realism of the storyline is that is how teens talk. The storyline itself is also realistic and although I don't generally hunt down LGBT books or any form of romance to be honest I have already added Kirstens first novel 'The Gravity Between Us' to my wishlist. Speaking of which I really liked how she slipped a character from that book in as an actress in this one. Although, I havent read her other book but was googling the film and 'actress' mentioned to see if they were real and found that out.


The characters in this book are all down to Earth and I love how they all have such unique and realistic personalities, some bigger than others. Britton, Avery and Spence are the main focus characters but others also stood out for me. I think Tom and Cate are amazing parents, so modern and fun and the world would be a better place with more parents like that. The 2 friendship gangs 'The Brigade' and 'The Squad' were both the types of gangs you would typically see in schools and yet the members of each all had their own minds and personalities rather than being sheep.


I would absolutely love to see this book made into a movie and I am looking forward to reading not only 'The Gravity Between Us' but any further books from a very talented author. Welcome to my fave authour list Kristen, keep up the amazing work. I really could not recommend this book enough. Its such an easy, light hearted, addictive page turner that really captivated my heart and is filled with electricity and sparks.


Overall an absolutely addictive, sexy, stunning romance that is filled with love and friendship and full of electrical sparks.


Genres covered in this book include Romance Novel, Lesbian Literature, Contemporary Romance, New Adult Fiction, Gay Fiction and LGBT Fiction amongst others.



I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of anyone looking for a gorgeous romance.



290 pages.


This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5/5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@KristenZimmer @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86








Author Bio:


Kristen Zimmer is a New Jersey-based freelance writer and editor. A member of the International Women’s Writing Guild, she holds a B.A. in English with a Concentration in Creative Writing from Montclair State University. When not busy writing or burying her nose in books of the YA/New Adult fiction persuasion, Kristen enjoys spending time with her family, which includes two adorable black Lab mixes and a very patient Better Half. https://www.facebook.com/authorkristenzimmer/ https://twitter.com/kristen_zimmer





Buy Links:



143 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page