top of page

'When Lives Collide' by Sarah Bourne


Book Description


A hit-and-run puts two women on a collision course with fate, in this mind-blowing psychological thriller from the author of Exile.

It only takes one second to change a life. Loretta Davidson learns this the hard way when, on a rainy afternoon, her car crashes into another vehicle at an intersection. Loretta survives with only a few stitches. Her four-year-old son is not so lucky. Falling into a coma, he soon succumbs to his injuries, leaving Loretta and her husband devastated.

Emma Elliot’s four-wheel drive glanced off the car she hit, and she left the scene of the accident convinced no one was hurt. She could not be late running errands for her partner—or there would be hell to pay. He had hit her before, and he would do it again.

In the months following the accident, Loretta struggles to survive her grief as her marriage crumbles. Emma gets engaged—and then pregnant. But the twists and turns life throws at the two women have a way of balancing things out, sending them straight into one another’s paths one more time.

“The novel does what fiction does best: exploring the small moments that can change lives for good.” —The Bookbag






 



BLOG TOUR REVIEW 




Review for 'When Lives Collide' by Sarah Bourne. 


Read and reviewed for Sarah Bourne, Open Road Media and DLM Book Tours. 



Publication Date 27th September 2022.


This is the first book I have read by this author. 




I was originally drawn to this book by its  eye catching beautiful cover and intriguing as well as intriguing sounding synopsis and title. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Open Road Media. I have yet to read a book published by Open Road Media that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).




This novel consists of 44 chapters. The chapters are medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!



This book is based in Surrey, England 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿, UK 🇬🇧. The bonus for me of books that are partly or fully based in the UK is that I live in the UK and have sometimes visited places mentioned in the book which makes it easier to picture.




This book is written in third person perspective with the main protagonist being Emma Elliot and Loretta Davidson. The benefits of third person perspective with multiple protagonists are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything. 




'When Lives Collide' discusses some topics that may trigger or upset some readers or may not be suitable for others. I like to point this out ahead of time in my reviews so you can judge if this book is for you or not. In this book Sarah discusses/includes death of a child and domestic violence. 





Well, well, well Wow!!! What an absolute cracker of a book!!! This book sucked me straight in from beginning to the shocking ending. It was very well written with excellent descriptions which put me straight into the storyline. The blog, title and the cover suited the book perfectly. 





The storyline was very fast paced and filled with Drama, friendship, loss, abuse, love, tears, tension, suspense and an unexpected twist!! The first chapter had me hook,line and sinker and gives readers something to sink their teeth and imaginations into immediately! A very believable storyline which kept me on edge throughout.  My heart was pounding at times and the hairs on my arms were raised while I was on the edge of my seat biting my nails reading this!! Sarah weaves the lives of Emma and Loretta together perfectly. The first time their lives collided changed each of their stories. My heart went out to both women for different reasons. What Loretta went through was absolutely heartbreaking and as a mum to three boys myself I couldn't even begin to imagine the pain and the heartbreak involved in such a tragedy. My twins are actually four at the moment so my heart was in my throat reading what she was going through and I had tears streaming down my face at times. My heart also went out to Emma who was stuck in an abusive relationship, something I have also had previous experience in and I can tell you now that Sarah has done an absolutely amazing job of portraying the realities of being in a relationship where violence is involved and being unable to leave or if you have escaped then ending up going back. A HUGE CONGRATULATIONS to Sarah. Domestic violence isn't an easy subject to talk or write about but the huge bonus of it being mentioned in fictional books is that women and men in these situations can read about it, pick up on the signs and hopefully get help before it is too late. The bonus of domestic violence being made the subject of a fictional book is that the abusive partner is unlikely to be aware of the subject they are reading. I would say that Sarah is either a survivor of domestic abuse or has done an absolutely amazing job of researching the subject either way WELL DONE, either for escaping the situation or for your excellent amount of research. There's not much worse than reading a book filled with errors as the author hasn't done any research on their topic. 



If you pick this up make sure you clear your diaries as you will NOT be able to put it down until the explosive ending!!! I loved the storyline and just loved everything about it. It was all done perfectly!! This would make an absolutely amazing movie!!! 





THE characters were fantastic, solid and completely believable, Sadly I can't say much more than this as I don't want to give anything away. I will say that there were several points where Emma did annoy me as she did seem to be quite self centered. If any of her friends had any problems she seemed to find it easier to accept the typical 'I'm OK' rather than make the effort to spend time with them. Needless to say I thought Derek was an absolute piece of cr@p and Emma's dad had the right idea wanting to kill him!! All of the characters were realistic and had such different and strong personalities and all suited the storyline perfectly. 



I could not put this book down and read it in one sitting!! 




Well done Sarah on an absolutely page turning success!! This may be the first of your books I have read but it certainly won't be my last!! Here is to your next addictive thriller 🥂 




Overall a compelling, page turning psychological thriller that will keep you glued to the pages! 




Genres covered in this book include Thriller, Mystery, Suspense , Psychological Literary Fiction, Women's Psychological Fiction Crime Thriller,  Mystery, Thriller & Suspense Fiction and Psychological Fiction amongst others. 



I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans 




284 pages



This book is £10.44 to purchase on kindle via Amazon.



Rated 5/5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook. 




Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews 






@WhenLivesCollide @OpenRoadMedia @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @SarahBourne














Author Bio


Born and raised in London, Sarah has travelled extensively and finally settled in Sydney, Australia. She is married and has three children. She is a counsellor, yoga teacher and writer, and loves skiing, swimming, long dinners with friends and walking her two dogs.





Purchase Link








16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Yorumlar

5 üzerinden 0 yıldız
Henüz hiç puanlama yok

Puanlama ekleyin
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page