top of page

'What We Leave Behind' by Anna Mansell


Book Description:


Imagine you get home one day… and waiting for you on your doorstep is a gift.


It is wrapped beautifully, and inside is a notebook, its pages empty. There is no message.


But its sender has a story to tell.


About a secret. About the little girl you once were. About everything you know about your family.


The gifts keep arriving. But when tragedy strikes – leaving your beloved only daughter fighting for her life – the person who has been sending the gifts will have no choice but to come forward. And to finally tell the truth…


A heartbreakingly beautiful novel about motherhood, loss and family secrets, for fans of Kerry Fisher, Susan Lewis and Jodi Picoult.





BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'What We Leave Behind' by Anna Mansell.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 29th September 2020


This is the first book that I have read by this author.


I was originally drawn to this book by its intriguing and beautiful cover and interesting sounding blurb. I also wanted a change from my typical genre of crime fiction and this looked perfect. I was also drawn to the fact that the blurb stated for fans of Jodi Picoult and Kerry Fisher. I am a huge fan of both so it will be very interesting to see if it lives up to this. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of a prologue, 83 chapters and an epilogue. The chapters are medium in length so ideal to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is written in first person perspective with the protagonist being Lisa. I enjoy books written in first person perspective as as long as they are well written it makes you feel that you are being spoken to by the protagonist and it can create more of a bond between yourselves and them.


This book is based in the UK. I always enjoy when books are set in the UK as I'm from Wales and have sometimes visited areas mentioned in the book. This makes it easier to picture where the scenes are set at times.


Wow!!! Where to even begin??? What an absolutely fantastic and gripping book!!! Very well written and such an easy read. It was written in such a way that I was completely drawn in and felt like I was in the middle of everything.


Absolute roller-coaster ride of emotions!!! The whole book was just rammed with so much going on that my heart really went out to Lisa!! As a mother myself my heart was racing on so many occasions throughout and I went from devastation to happiness, shocked to anger at some of the comments from some of the character. It was an absolutely fantastic read that had me flying through the pages and filled with suspense.


I absolutely loved the main characters who were all so down to earth, realistic and strong. I loved reading how the relationships grew between some of them and the family bonds. I loved the fact that Anna Mansell brought mental health into it as I believe this is such an important subject for people to be made aware of and it was done in just the right way as well as being researched.


I must say that I have definitely found another favourite author to add to my list and have just added all her books to my wish list!!!


Overall a heart wrenching and emotional page turner that will keep you glued to the pages.


Genres covered include Literary Fiction,


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Jodi Picoult, Nicholas Sparks, Kerry Fisher and anyone looking for a fantastic read!!!


402 pages.


This book is 99p to purchase on kindle via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5/5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@AnnaMansell @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86


https://kcmw86.wixsite.com/bookworm86


https://m.facebook.com/Bookworm1986/?ref=bookmarks


https://m.facebook.com/Bookwork86/?__tn__=%2As-R





Author Bio:


Anna spent almost twenty years trying to shoehorn writing in to her career as a marketing manager for dance and theatre companies. Eventually, she did what you are not remotely supposed to do and walked away from an excellent job in order to try and become a published author. Three years, lots of tears and some slightly hairy bank balances later, she met Kirsty Greenwood and the rest, as they say, is history. Anna lives in Cornwall with her husband and two kids. She feels very fortunate!







Buy Links:


Amazon: https://bit.ly/2FVgb0n

Apple: https://apple.co/2DcnKhR

Kobo: https://bit.ly/3f779Jy

Google: https://bit.ly/2CXn3sR

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Commenti

Valutazione 0 stelle su 5.
Non ci sono ancora valutazioni

Aggiungi una valutazione
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page