top of page

'What They Saw' by M. M Chouinard

Title: What They Saw


Publication Day: Nov 16th 2022


Author: M.M. Chouinard


Description:


Next to the lake’s dappled water, a woman lies on her yoga mat, her limbs twisted as if she is trying to crawl away. Her mug of tea steams into the cool air and her lips, still warm, are parted mid-sentence. But she will never speak or see again...



When Sandra Ashville is found murdered in a sleepy town near Oakhurst, Detective Jo Fournier is first at the scene. Jo is shaken by the similarities between herself and the dead assistant District Attorney, a dedicated woman with a heart for justice. And as she examines Sandra’s body, Jo discovers something that chills her to the bone: the bullet hole is covered by an intact blindfold. Why was Sandra only blindfolded after her death?


The very next morning Jo receives a shocking call. A judge has been brutally killed, before she too was blindfolded. Soon it becomes clear that the twisted serial killer is working with a deadly countdown: every morning, another body will be found. Working around the clock, Jo makes an important break-through: all the victims are connected to the same murder trial. And Jo’s dear friend and partner Bob Arnett could be next…


With the next morning rapidly approaching, Jo and her team pull out all the stops to catch the killer. But when she uncovers a stain of corruption that includes Bob, Jo faces an impossible choice. Can she trust her partner, when the evidence suggests he turned a blind eye to a grave miscarriage of justice? And as the body count rises, can Jo catch the killer before it is too late for her oldest friend?


From USA Today bestseller M.M. Chouinard, What They Saw is an utterly addictive serial killer thriller that will keep you reading into the early hours! Perfect for fans of Lisa Regan, Melinda Leigh and Gregg Olsen.



BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'What They Saw' by M.M Chouinard.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for M. M Chouinard, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 16th November 2022.


This is the third book I have read by this author. I have previously read 'The Vacation' and 'Her Silent Prayer' (Book 5 in this series) which I highly recommend. It is also the sixth book in the 'Detective Jo Fournier' series but can be read as a standalone.


I was originally drawn to this book by its stunning eye catching cover and its intriguing synopsis and title. The synopsis stated that this book is 'Perfect for fans of Lisa Regan, Melinda Leigh and Gregg Olsen.' I am a huge fan of all three of these amazing authors so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I am also a huge fan of M.M Chouinard and if this is half as good as 'The Vacation' and 'Her Silent Prayer' it is guaranteed to be a page turning read. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of 68 chapters. The chapters are short to medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in California, USA 🇺🇸


This book is written in third person perspective with the main protagonists being Detective Josette Fournier and Diana Montauk and an unsub. The benefits of third person perspective with are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything.


'What They Saw' discusses some topics that may upset some readers or may not be suitable for others. I like to point this out ahead of time in my reviews so you can judge if this book is for you or not. In this book M.M Chouinard discusses/includes SA


WHAT did I just read!!!! WOW!!! I mean seriously WOW!!! Yet another absolutely explosive page turner in this addictive series!! This has GOT to start with a MASSIVE WELL DONE MM Chouinard!!!!


Firstly let's start off with the writing style, etc!! This is an extremely well written book which had me hook line and sinker!!! It is so smoothly and beautifully written with vivid descriptions I completely forgot I was even reading a book a few times. The blurb, title and cover really fit the storyline.


As you can tell I LOVED the storyline. I found it to be realistic, very fast paced and I read it in a day. I loved the setting and atmosphere and just well... Everything!!! ThE plot throughout is rammed with suspense, mystery, lies, surprises, tension and absolutely every tick box for a successful psychological thriller!!! I absolutely loved every single word written and I flew through the pages, I just could not put it down and ended up carrying it everywhere I went swapping from phone to kindle to read through the day. I loved reading about the crimes, the methods used, the reasons for them, the ending, just everything. There was so much action going on and it has the reader completely absorbed while also being thought provoking at times. I adore how Michelle writes about topics that others may shy away from but one's that need to be written about to highlight awareness on subjects such as SA as spoken about in this book. This book puts you on an emotional roller coaster of emotions so get ready for the ride, clear your schedules and even have the tissues ready as Michelle does it YET AGAIN!!



Although this is the sixth book in the series I would have had absolutely no problems reading it without the others. Any details or events that have previously happened are mentioned in just the right amount of detail to let a new reader know what has happened and yet not too much to bore a previous reader.



I loved remeeting and getting to know more about every single one of the characters alnd thought they were portrayed perfectly with great character development. They were all realistic with their own little quirks and I liked each one for different reasons. I was completely invested in them and am looking forward to meeting them all again. Well maybe not so much Lieutenant Hayes who I thought was a female dog 😂 but we can't love all characters or it would be a pretty boring read! I love how Jo isn't just a strong kick butt female lead but she also has a vulnerable side too. I enjoyed getting to know more about both her personal and professional sides in this book and I really enjoyed meeting her and the team again. I also love how much compassion Jo has and its nice to see this is a Detective especially with her team. I absolutely loved Christine Lopez and her energy drink addiction 😂. Arnett also has a strong personality and I loved the sarcasm between himself, Christine and Jo. They make an absolutely perfect team and I cannot wait to meet them all again. I cannot wait to meet this team again as they are becoming like fictional family to me and I'm looking forward to seeing what their next case brings along.



Congratulations Michelle on yet another explosive success!!! I cannot wait to read more of this addictive and explosive series. Here's to many more successes 🥂!!!


Clear your schedules before picking this up as you will not be able to put it down!!! "


Overall an absolutely page turning, thought provoking must read that will leave you wanting more!!!


Genres covered in this novel include Thriller, Suspense, Crime Thriller, Psychological Thriller, Psychological Fiction, Crime Fiction, Police Procedural and Mystery amongst others.


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Sheryl Browne, Shalini Boland, Lisa Jewell, Ruth Ware, Gillian Flynn, Lisa Regan, Melinda Leigh and Gregg Olsen and anyone looking for an explosive page turner!!!



366 pages.


This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle and £9.99 in paperback via Amazon (at time of review) which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5/5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@MMChouinard @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @bookwormwhitlock86









Author Bio:


M.M. Chouinard is the author of the Detective Jo Fournier mystery thrillers, and the standalone mystery thriller The Vacation. Her first fiction story was published in her local paper when she was eight, and she fell in love with Agatha Christie novels not long after. While pursuing a Ph.D in psychology and helping to found the first U.S. research university of the new millenium, the stories kept rattling around inside her skull, demanding to come out. For sanity's sake, she released them.


Author Social Media Links:








Purchase Link





2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page