top of page

'What She Did' by Carla Kovach

Book: What She Did

Author: Carla Kovach

Pub Day: Sept 20th 2021

My Rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟


About the Book:

Marissa lives alone in her tiny one-bed apartment. It’s quiet and safe; all she’s ever wanted. But when the police knock on her door with the news that her last remaining family member has died, she comes face to face with the family secret she has spent a lifetime running from. A witness saw her car outside his house that day, but Marissa knows she’s innocent. She hasn’t seen her uncle in years and remembers going to bed in her own home that night. But she’s had blackouts before and can’t always trust her memory. Days later, Marissa’s neighbour is found dead in his home, exactly like her uncle. It was no secret that Marissa didn’t get on with her neighbour, but she’d never want to see him hurt. As you read, you’ll think you know where to draw the line between innocence and guilt. But blame is a dangerous thing, and nothing is ever what it seems… Perfect for fans of C.L. Taylor, Teresa Driscoll and Lisa Jewell, What She Did is a dark and twisty crime thriller that will keep you up all night!





BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'What She Did' by Carla Kovach.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Carla Kovach, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 20th September 2021.


This is the fourth book I have read by this author. I have previously read 'Their Silent Graves' , 'The Broken Ones' and 'One Left Behind' which I highly recommend.



I was originally drawn to this book by its eye catching cover and its intriguing synopsis and title. The synopsis stated that this book is 'Perfect for fans of C.L. Taylor, Teresa Driscoll and Lisa Jewell, What She Did is a dark and twisty crime thriller that will keep you up all night! .' I am a huge fan of Lisa Jewell and C.L Taylor so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I am also a huge fan of Carla and if this is half as good as 'One Left Brhind', 'The Broken Ones' and 'Their Silent Graves' it is sure to be a page turning read. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists 54 chapters. The chapters are short to medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in England 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿, UK 🇬🇧. The bonus for me of books that are partly or fully based in the UK is that I live in the UK and have sometimes visited places mentioned in the book which makes it easier to picture. The fact that this book is based in England is even better as I have been on holiday in England many times so may even recognise some places Carla has set the book around.


This book is written in first person perspective with the main protagonist is Marissa. The benefits of books written in first person perspective are as long as they are well written it makes you feel that you are being spoken to by the protagonist and it can create more of a bond between yourselves and them. If there are several protagonists you also get to see more of what is going on.


'What She Did' discusses some topics that may trigger some readers or may not be suitable for others. I like to point this out ahead of time in my reviews so you can judge if this book is for you or not. In this book Carla discusses/includes mental health, stalking and domestic abuse.


WOW!! Where to even start?!? Firstly I must say yet again I was NOT disappointed by the very talented Carla Kovach !!! I started reading this book this morning and finished it in a day.


It is extremely well written as is every book I have read by Carla with vivid descriptions that really put you in the storyline. The blurb and cover work perfectly with the storyline. Every single time I told myself I'd finish the chapter and then put it down and every single time I was left with a sort of cliff hanger refusing to allow me to put it down. If your planning on reading this I would recommend clearing your schedule!!! I was a bit dubious to start as this is the first standalone I have read by Carla but it was just as fabulous as her series'.


Absolutely gripping storyline which I got completely sucked into. A great unputdownable page turner filled with suspense, friendship, murder, family, deceit, mystery, love and lies. I loved the storyline, especially the shocking plots that I would never have seen coming! Not just one either!! There's nothing worse than when you have worked everything out and your not even half way through a book so a massive well done for that!! I definitely did not even have the person involved in my suspect list AT ALL, wasn't even close to working out what was going on, soooo many red herrings. I haven't been that shocked in a book in a while so WELL DONE Carla! I really had my head set on a certain person, I can't say as I don't want to spoil it but I'm sure many other readers will feel the same. I really could not compliment this book any more it is an absolutely gripping, addictive and shocking page turner.



It is set over multiple time lines. When books show what has happened in the past and what is happening in the present I find it really helps the reader (if it is well done) understand why things are happening and what has lead to the present activities and decisions. It also shows the bigger picture.


The characters were all well rounded and realistic with their own personality traits, strengths and weaknesses. It was very interesting watching how the bonds strengthened and weakened between characters throughout the storyline. I really felt for Marissa as her world came crumbling down around her. I really connected with and became invested in her and my heart felt torn every time something was going wrong with her life. She had done absolutely nothing wrong and just wanted to be a kind neighbour and make friends. It must be absolutely awful to suffer with sleepwalking not knowing where you had been and if anything had happened to you or even if you had been the one to do something and I'm glad Carla brought this topic up as it isn't mentioned much in books and I do believe the problems associated with sleepwalking need to be highlighted more so another huge well done Carla for doing this. I also loved Reggie and was absolutely brilliant heartbroken by what happened, such a full of life happy character that really changed Marissa's for the better and for no reason without anything to gain just out of the kindness of her heart. I Loved the last chapter, something I love with Carla is that she always seems to leave the last chapter in a way that really makes you want to see what happens next and several times I've been left hoping and wondering if that storyline will be carried on.


A HUGE CONGRATULATIONS to Carla Kovach for another absolutely fantastic success!! I cannot wait to read more of your amazing work!! I really would love to see your books on the big screen one day, I can guarantee they will be a success if they are even half as good as the books you write!!!


Overall a page turning, epic psychological thriller that will keep you thinking about it long after you have finished. I would love to see this turned into a film.



Genres covered in this novel include Mystery, Thriller, Suspense, Psychological Thriller, Crime Fiction, Noir Fiction and Psychological Fiction amongst others.


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of The Girl on the Train, Gone Girl and The Wife Between Us, CL Taylor, Lisa Jewell and of course Carla Kovach and just anyone looking for an epic read with a twist. What are you waiting for?? Go grab your copy now!!!



256 pages.


This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5/5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@CarlaKovach @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86









Author Bio


Carla started writing more seriously ten years ago after having flirted with musical theatre and occasional writing in her youth. Since then she has written & produced several stage plays, has four self-published books, has acted in several independent films and is currently in the final stages of production of her feature horror film, Penny for the Guy. She now writes full time as well as co-owning a film, photography & video production company located in the heart of Redditch town centre.


Social Media









Buy Links:





15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page