top of page

Welcome to The Cornish Country Hospital by Jo Bartlett. Review.


Book Description


A new start…


When Danni Carter moves to Cornwall from London, she hopes it will be the fresh start she so

desperately needs. She’s nervous, but hopefully the change of scene will help her to finally forget her

feelings for Lucas Newman, a man she can never be with, because he’s already engaged to Danni’s

best friend, Esther.


An Impossible Dilemma…


But when Lucas and Esther decide to follow Danni to Cornwall, and both announce they will be

working with her at the new St Piran’s hospital, Danni is thrown into turmoil again. She can’t lose

Esther, but being near Lucas is getting harder to deal with. Will she have to give up her new life

before it’s even started?


A chance to start again?


Throwing herself into work, Danni finds herself drawn to new patient, Connie Berrycloth, a woman

Danni knows has dark secrets of her own. Secrets that are about to be revealed….


As the two women form a friendship, Danni begins to realise that letting go of her dreams might be

the only way of holding on to the people she loves.




BLOG TOUR REVIEW



Review for 'Welcome To The Cornish Country Hospital' by Jo Bartlett.



Read and reviewed for Jo Bartlett, Boldwood Books, Book And Tonic and Rachel's Random Resources Tours.



Publication date 22nd November 2023.



This is the first book I have read by this author but it most definitely won't be my last!! It is also the first book in Jo's new series.



This novel consists of 31 chapters. The chapters are short to medium in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!



What an absolute stunner from the extremely talented Jo!! Well done Jo on an absolutely beautiful and perfect read!! This is the ideal escapism where you could sit there and turn around and just imagine everything coming to life around you.


This book is extremely well written with beautiful descriptions that completely drew me in. The synopsis and the cover match the storyline perfectly!!


The storyline itself completely swept me away. I absolutely adored the storyline and getting to know the lives of so many different people, seeing their relationships and friendships change and see how they react to secrets, heartache, changes, romance and everything else that goes on in this absolutely fantastic read!! I adored the fact that it was mainly based around a hospital as I have yet to read a book set in a hospital environment and I was just fascinated by the different situations going on. Along with the hospital staff and patients lives the main storyline revolves around Danni who is an A&E doctor and Connie who is in hospital after surviving a bus accident. Danni is in love with her best friends fiancé and moved to Port Kara and started her job in the hospital there to get away from having to suffer with this heartbreaking secret. Connie gives Danni a letter to pass on to Richard if she doesn't survive. What does the letter reveal and can Danni keep her love for her best friends fiancé hidden? To get the answers to these questions and more then you'll have to grab your copy of this gorgeous book today! I've not long got home from Cornwall and missed it before I read this book but OMG Jo has made me want to jump in the car and go straight back now!!! Jo's evocative writing skills ensures the readers are absolutely sucked into the stunning storyline with the atmosphere and characters coming to life all around them.. I absolutely fell in love venturing back into Cornwall and Jo's vivid descriptions are absolutely perfect and evocative. I became so invested in this book that it actually felt like going on a holiday and I absolutely dreaded coming to the end where I had to unpack my suitcase and get back to reality. It was an absolutely compelling and addictive heart lifting read that kept me turning the pages until late at night. I loved discovering the pasts, secrets and histories of the characters and I was absolutely swept away in the story line. Everything and everyone came to life around me and I cannot wait to return in the next book in this absolutely stunning series. This book really was an emotional rollercoaster ride filled with friendship, family, drama, medicine, love, secrets, affairs, romance, heartache, emotions and everything you could ask for!!! The fact that Jo has done her research when it comes to the hospital environment completely shines through so a HUGE well done to Jo. It is a massive shame when authors don't do enough research into their chosen topics and/or environments and their books are then littered with unnecessary mistakes as it really can spoil a book that would otherwise be fantastic. This book is escapism at its best and is a perfect way to disappear into an amazing world for a while. It is one of those books that I just could not put down and drive everyone mad by walking around reading it every chance I got and ended up devouring it in one sitting!! This book would make an absolutely gorgeous movie which I would absolutely love to see!!


An absolutely gorgeous, page turning and addictive start to what is guaranteed to be a stunning series!! Don't even peek into this book until you've cleared your schedules as you won't be able to put it down!!


It is always worrying when starting a new series as you have no idea who the characters are. It is very important for me to bond with not only the lead protagonists but also any characters that may make repeat appearances during the series too.


I was completely invested in the characters, along with the storyline, who were all, well almost all, absolutely fantastic with their own individual personalities and quirks. Every one of the characters had a part to play and they were all completely unforgettable. My heart completely went out to Danni who loves her best friend Esther but has also fallen in love with Esther's fiancé Lucas. Sadly we can't chose who we fall in love with and Danni's heart made the worse possible choice. She does everything she can to stay away and even moves home and job, but after all that Esther and Lucas end up working in the same hospital as her again!! Danni is such a lovable and caring character that I just was rooting for her happiness from the moment I met her!!! My heart also went out to Connie who I also liked and whose happiness I was also rooting for. I must say that I really liked hospital volunteer and previous midwife Gwen who offers her advise along the way. I was really disgusted by a certain person and also by another's attitude but I'm not going to go into any details as I'm sure you'll work it out yourself when you read this fantastic book yourself!!! I really enjoyed getting to know most of the characters and when I came to the end I felt like I was leaving amazing people and new friends behind and felt quite sad about that but am happy in the knowledge that this book is just the first book in a new series and I just can't wait to get stuck into more of these gorgeous books. I loved watching how so many characters, relationships and personalities develop and change from the first page to the last. They all made me laugh, swoon, angry, cry, joyous and much more!!! Regardless of whether you love them or hate them all of these characters work perfectly together to make this a stunning page turner and I cannot wait to return to Cornwall to meet them all again!!



Congratulations Jo on an absolutely gorgeous success!!! I'm definitely looking forward to my next holiday to Cornwall and cannot wait for the next book in this series!!! This is the exact reason I would love to welcome you to my favourite author club and here is to your next success 🥂 !!!


Make sure you read to the very end of the book to read the first chapter of Jo's 'Meet Me In Central Park' which sounds just as fabulous as this book was and I cannot wait to get stuck into it myself!!!


Overall this is a gorgeous start to what promises to be a stunning new series with an amazing gang of characters that will sweep you away to the gorgeous coast of Port Kara, Cornwall from the very first page to the end!



342 pages.


This book is just £2.99 to purchase on kindle, free with kindle unlimited and £9.99 in paperback (at time of review) via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews



@WelcomeToTheCornishCountryHospital @CornishCountryHospital @JoBartlett @BoldwoodBooks @Boldwood @RachelsRandomResources @rararesources @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger @KindleUnlimited














Author Bio


Jo Bartlett is the bestselling author of over nineteen women’s fiction titles. She fits her writing in

between her two day jobs as an educational consultant and university lecturer and lives with her

family and three dogs on the Kent coast. Her first title for Boldwood is The Cornish Midwife – part of

a twelve-book deal.



Social Media Links





Newsletter Sign Up: https://bit.ly/JoBartlettNews




Purchase Link








1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page