top of page

Wedding Bells At The Dog And Duck by Jill Steeples. Review


Book Description


Ellie Browne, landlady of the Dog & Duck, is looking forward to a relaxing Christmas Day before the

arrival of her and Max’s baby in the new year.


But with a snowstorm brewing outside, it seems that things might not go quite to plan. After the

dramatic events of the holiday season, Ellie settles into her new life at Max's huge country mansion,

Braithwaite Manor, juggling work and family as best she can.


When she's asked to help organise a summer wedding for one of her best friends it's only natural

that her mind turns to her own non-existent wedding plans! But with Max decidedly lukewarm on

the subject and other family complications threatening to disrupt life further, Ellie fears there'll never

be wedding bells at the Dog & Duck after all.


The perfect feel-good love story for fans of Cathy Bramley, Heidi Swain and Julie Houston



BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'Wedding Bells At The Dog & Duck' by Jill Steeples.



Read and reviewed for Jill Steeples, Boldwood Books, Book And Tonic and Rachel's Random Resources Tours.



Publication date 20th November 2023



This is the second book I have read by this author and the third book in Jill's 'The Dog And Duck' series but can be read as a standalone!!! I have previously read 'Starry Skies Over Primrose Hall' which is the fourth book in 'Primrose Woods' series but can also be read as a standalone. T


This novel consists of 27 chapters. The chapters are short to medium in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!



What another absolutely stunning read by the extremely talented Jill Steeples!!! A perfectly gorgeous book!!! The vivid descriptions left me feeling the snow, smelling the fresh country air and feeling warmth in my heart. The title, synopsis and cover suited the storyline perfectly.


This book is absolutely rammed full of love, friendship, weddings, spring, babies, laughter, happiness, relationships, community, scenery, snow, dogs, stress and warmth!!! Its one of the most heart-warming and beautiful books I've read in a long time. It made me laugh, cry, smile and fall in love with Leyton and the Dog And Duck!!! I really cannot wait to return in previous and future books in this series. I absolutely loved the gorgeous atmosphere and surroundings, it felt like a gorgeous escape, even with wedding (and more) stress flying around!! Jill's evocative writing talents ensures the reader is whisked away to the gorgeous countryside and will leave you tingling with warmth, smiling with happiness and light hearted!! It is one of those stunning books that it is impossible to say just one more chapter to. I gave up even trying to lie to myself saying just one more in the end as every time I came to the end of one chapter I just HAD to know what was going to happen next and this ended up happening so many times I ended up devouring the whole book in a several hour sitting!! I just could not put my kindle down and I was absolutely gutted when I came to the end of the book! It genuinely felt like I had escaped rainy Wales for a few hours and was enjoying everything going on at The Dog And Duck (amazing name by the way!!!)!! The storyline was sweet, romantic, uplifting and everything you want in a heart warming romance and I completely fell head over heels in love!!! This book is an uplifting breathe of fresh air!!! It ended absolutely perfectly!!!


Clear your schedules and have your tissues at the ready before picking up this stunning page turner as you won't be able to put it down and will get lost on this gorgeous rollercoaster ride of emotions!!!


Although this is the third book in the series I had would have had absolutely no problems reading it without the others. Any details or events that have previously happened are mentioned in just the right amount of detail to let a new reader know what has happened and yet not too much to bore a previous reader.


The characters were all strong, well defined and realistic. I fell in love with the majority of them, even if some took longer than others!! I was gutted when I came to the end. This book is a gorgeous start (for me) to what promises to be a stunning series and I cannot wait to meet most of the characters again. There wasn't a single character that I actually didn't like which actually surprised me if I'm honest as there's normally at least one lol!! I absolutely loved Ellie and Max who were just absolutely amazing characters that I wont be forgetting anytime soon!!! Ellie has a heart of gold and Max is a very sexy sweet guy and I was rooting for them from the second I met them until I sadly had to say goodbye!! I really enjoyed learning about all the characters of and there were so many other characters that I really enjoyed meeting and who I cannot wait to meet again!! I could go on and on but I best stop there as I don't want to give anything away and potentially spoil it for future readers!. Needless to I'm looking forward to meeting them again!!



Get wrapped up warm, put the fire on, make your self a hot chocolate or get your towel and book ready and relax on the beach and clear your schedule ready to get lost in this unputdownable heart warming, gorgeous romantic!


Well done Jill on an absolutely gorgeous book. This is exactly the reason that you are one of my favourite authors!!! I am thoroughly looking forward to reading more of your books past and future including the first two in this series. Congratulations on a stunning success and here's to more 🥂!!


Overall an absolutely charming and stunning page turning escapism that will make you smile, laugh and keep you up all night absorbing the pages.



396 pages.


This book is just £1.39 to purchase on kindle, free with kindle unlimited and £9.99 in paperback via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5/5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews.




@WeddingBellsAtTheDogAndDuck @TheDogAndDuck @JillSteeples @BoldwoodBooks @Boldwood @RachelsRandomResources @rararesources @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger @KindleUnlimited
























Author Bio


Jill Steeples is the author of many successful women’s fiction titles – most recently

the Primrose Woods series - all set in the close communities of picturesque English

villages. She lives in Bedfordshire.





Social Media Links











Purchase Link








3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page