top of page

'Watch Her Sleep' by L.T Vargus and Tim. McBain

Title: Watch Her Sleep

Authors : L. T. Vargus and Tim McBain


Book Description:


Nestled in the autumn leaves, her hair tangled in thick brambles, the girl looks like she could be sleeping amongst the wild roses. But the trail of red across her delicate throat means this is a slumber she will never wake from… When a search party trawling Salem Island find a girl’s body curled on the damp earth, the hunt for missing waitress Emma Jacobis grinds to a devastating halt. The day before, Emma had come to Detective Charlie Winters convinced someone was watching her. In her trembling hand she held a sketch of herself sleeping peacefully with the stuffed rabbit she’d had since she was a child. On the back, scrawled in black ink: You will be mine… A box containing handwritten letters found under Emma’s bed is Charlie’s first lead. But the handwriting isn’t a match to the note left for Emma. With the help of her new assistant, a troubled girl eager to learn the ropes, Charlie’s only hope is to canvas the bar where Emma worked. There, she finds a woman with fear in her eyes and a terrifying story to tell about an encounter with a dangerous stranger. Is someone in this small town targeting vulnerable girls as prey? Certain she’s found a twisted killer’s hunting ground, and with time running out before he strikes again, Charlie has no choice but to use her new assistant as bait to lure him out into the open. But when a scream pierces through the night, will Charlie survive the consequences? She has to, or there’s no knowing how many more innocent girls will die … An absolutely nail-biting and completely jaw-dropping crime thriller. Fans of Kendra Elliot, Robert Dugoni and Lisa Regan will be left reeling after reading in one sitting!




BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'Watch Her Sleep' by LT Vargus and Tim McBain.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 18th March 2021.


This is the second book I have read by these authors and is the third book in their 'Detective Charlie Winters' series. I have previously read 'First Girl Gone' which I would also highly recommend and is also the first book in the 'Detective Charlie Winters' series. Although this book is third in a series it can also be read as a standalone.


I was originally drawn to this book by its beautiful eye catching cover and its intriguing synopsis. I have also previously read 'First Girl Gone' ' written by L. T Vargus and Tim Mcbain and LOVED it so I'm hoping this will be just as good. The synopsis stated that fans of Kendra Elliot and others will be left reeling after reading in one sitting. I am a fan of Kendra's books so am interested to see if it will live up to this statement. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of a prologue, 88 chapters and an epilogue. The chapters are short to medium to long in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in the USA 🇺🇸.


This book is written in third person perspective with the protagonist being Detective Charlie Winters. The benefits of third person perspective with multiple protagonists are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything.


This book is very well written and I think the writing style had improved since the first book in this series, although I enjoyed that I feel you can see the improvement made in this one. The descriptions are vivid and the environment perfect for the storyline. The cover and synopsis worked well with the plot.


The storyline is filled with suspense and tension from the very first page and is fast paced throughout. I love that this series is based on a private investigator as it gives a different outlook to typical police procedural. I was completely absorbed throughout and there was plenty of action and mystery to keep me addicted. An absolutely gripping and unputdownable crime thriller. I enjoyed the surprising twists and although I worked out the killer at about 75% I didn't have a clue who it was before that.


Although his book is part of a series it can easily be read as a standalone with no difficulty at all and any references to previous cases are explained in jist the right amount of detail.


I really enjoyed meeting all the characters again especially Charlie. It is always a bonus when there is a strong female lead with a great personality. I also enjoyed meeting Frank, Paige and Zoe as well as the lovely Will again and I look forward to meeting them again in the next novel. I was intrigued by the chapters from the Killers perspective as it shows why he is doing what he is and you get to see "behind the scenes" so to say. I love the unique fact that we also get the additional script from Charlie's sister, although she is dead, via Charlie and I think the authors have done a great job on this as it can't have been easy. Allie has her own unique personality and I love her sense of humour.


Another success from LT Vargus and Tim McBain and I look forward to reading the next book in this gripping and addictive series.


Overall another gripping and addictive book in this suspense filled addictive series.


Genres covered in this novel include Crime, Thriller, Murder and Mystery amongst others.


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Kendra Elliot, books with a private investigator lead, fans of previous books by LT Vargus and Tim McBain and anyone looking for a gripping new series.


375 pages.


This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5/5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@LTVargus @TimMcBain @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86








Authors Bios:


L.T. Vargus and Tim McBain are the authors of the Violet Darger series and The Scattered and the Dead series among others, which have collectively tallied over a million downloads. Their book, Dead End Girl, peaked at #3 in the US Kindle charts and has remained in the top 10 in multiple sub-categories since it was published in 2017.





Buy Links:


12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page