top of page

'Watch Her Disappear' by Lisa Regan


Book: Watch Her Disappear

Author: Lisa Regan

Pub Day: April 12th 2022


About the Book:

The girl’s prom dress, the color of champagne, shimmers in the dying light. A corsage of wilting pink sweetheart roses decorates her wrist. She is perfectly still, lying on the ground like a delicate china doll, trapped forever in a sleep from which she will never wake… When a call comes in about a young girl found dead at a high school prom—her life drained away from a fatal stab wound—Detective Josie Quinn drops everything to attend the scene. Taking in the girl’s neatly braided hair, Josie feels a flicker of recognition. But no one comes forward to identify this innocent child, murdered on what should have been the happiest night of her life. Trawling missing persons files, Josie realizes where she has seen the girl before. Gemma Farmer disappeared a few months ago, shattering her family. But why would her body appear now, on her sixteenth birthday? Josie’s only clue is the five neat little cuts on Gemma’s pale arm. Days later, another missing girl shows up, tucked neatly into her bed on the morning of her birthday, her favourite teddy beside her, her skin as cold as ice—and the autopsy reveals scars on her arm matching Gemma’s. Her head spinning, Josie fears the marks are a serial killer’s twisted way of counting his victims. But where are the other girls he’s killed, and how many more could follow? The case takes a terrifying turn when a local teen goes missing just days before she turns sixteen. Clock ticking, Josie turns the town upside down in search of answers. But when her own chief comes forward with a missing piece in this devastating puzzle spanning decades, will it be enough to get inside the mind of the most unexpected and elusive killer she has ever encountered, or will another precious life be taken? An absolutely heart-stopping and totally unputdownable crime thriller from an Amazon, USA Today and Wall Street Journal bestselling author. You will be up all night biting your nails and turning pages! Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Robert Dugoni and Rachel Caine.


BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'Watch Her Disappear' by Lisa Regan.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Lisa Regan, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 12th April 2022.


This is the third book I have read by this author. It is the fourteenth book in the 'Detective Josie Quinn' series. It can be read as a standalone. I have previously read 'Her Deadly Touch' which is the twelfth book in the series and 'The Drowning Girls' which is the thirteenth book in this series and I would highly recommend them both.


I was originally drawn to this book by its beautiful cover and intriguing sounding synopsis and title. I am a huge fan of Lisa and if this is half as good as 'Her Deadly Touch' and 'The Drowning Girls' it is guaranteed to be a page turner. The synopsis stated that this book is 'Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Robert Dugoni and Rachel Caine'.  I am a huge fan of Angela Marsons so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of a prologue and 58 chapters. The chapters are short to medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in Pensylvannia, USA 🇺🇸


This book is written in third person perspective and the main protagonist is Detective Josie Quinn and Prima. The benefits of third person perspective with multiple protagonists are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything.


Well, Well, Well Lisa you have done it again!!! Another absolute mind blowing page turner!!!


This book is extremely well written with vivid descriptions that captivates the readers attention and places them right in the centre of the action. The cover and synopsis suited the storyline perfectly. Lisa writes in such engrossing and engaging way that I become completely absorbed in the storyline.


As soon as I started reading this book I fell straight back into the storyline from 'the end of 'The Drowning Girls' as of I had just finished it. I have read well over 100 books since then which just goes to show how much of an affect on me and how memorable Lisa's books are.


The storyline was absolutely nerveracking and heart racing and kept me consistently on the edge of my seat, biting my nails and turning the pages until I finished it in one sitting. The plot is unique and I really I must say this has got to be the most emotionally charged book that I have read in this absolutely fantastic series. I could feel my eyes filling in several occasions which isn't an easy feat especially when it comes to psychological thrillers so a HUGE CONGRATULATIONS Lisa for making me well up 😂. This book is absolutely filled with drama, murder, tension, red herrings, suspense, tears, secrets and I could go on. This book has everything and more that you want in a crime thriller. It is unique and realistic as well as being fast paced. There was constantly something happening and it left me questioning myself throughout the book. I never did guess who was involved so a huge congratulations Lisa!!! It is getting harder and harder to surprise me but you had me hook, line and sinker!!! I absolutely adored the ending which, again filled me with emotions (I mean seriously Lisa what are you doing to me!!! >. It was just amazing and yet again leaves me in suspense until the next book in this addictive series as I cannot wait to see what is going to happen now!!! I cannot wait to get my hands on all previous and future books of yours!!!


It is set over multiple time lines. When books show what has happened in the past and what is happening in the present I find it really helps the reader (if it is well done) understand why things are happening and what has lead to the present activities and decisions. It also shows the bigger picture.


Although this is the fourteenth book in the series I had absolutely no problems reading it without the others. Any details or events that have previously happened are mentioned in just the right amount of detail to let a new reader know what has happened and yet not too much to bore a previous reader.


Clear your schedules before picking this up as you will not be able to put it down!!!


I absolutely loved meeting all the characters again and it really felt like I was meeting up with old friends I got to know them so well in the last book! I absolutely love Josie's down to earth personality. Josie has suffered a horrific loss and instead of being the type or person to let it either overwhelm her or the type who completely gets on with life and forgets she is in the middle. I am looking forward to reading previous books and finding more out about Josie and Lisette's relationship and bond although I'm sure it will lead to tears. Not only is Josie a strong female lead but Gretchen is also a fantastic female model and I love the bond between the two women. They make an absolutely fantastic team and the dynamic between not only Josie and Gretchen is spot on but also with them and Noah, Mettner, Amber and Chief Chitwood. I was pleased that we seen a completely different side to Chief Chitwood in this book and, although I liked him anyway, it has definitely made me feel "closer" to him and I'm looking forward to seeing what he is going to do now!!! Every single character in this book "played their parts" perfectly to make an absolutely fantastic and memorable team who I love meeting every time I pick up one of Lisa's books.


Congratulations Lisa Regan on an yet another absolutely fantastic novel and this is why your in my top 10 crime author list and why this series is in my top 5 list!! Looking forward to the next episode in this amazing series 🥂


Overall a heart racing, page turning, addictive and unputdownable fast paced crime thriller that will keep you on the edge of your seat.



Genres covered in this book include Crime Fiction, Police Procedural, Mystery and Crime Thriller amongst others.



I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Angela Marsons, Carol Wyer, P.J Tracy, Robert Dugoni and Rachel Caine and any fans of page turning crime series.



389 pages.


This book is just £2.99 to purchase on kindle via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@LisaRegan @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86











Author Bio and Social Media


Lisa Regan is the USA Today and Wall Street Journal bestselling author of the Detective Josie Quinn series. Lisa is a member of Sisters In Crime, International Thriller Writers, and Mystery Writers of America. She has a Bachelor’s Degree in English and Master of Education Degree from Bloomsburg University. She lives near Philadelphia, Pennsylvania in the U.S. with her husband, daughter, and Boston Terrier named Mr. Phillip. Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Lisa-Regan-189735444395923/






Buy Links:







14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page