top of page

'Twelve Days To Save Christmas' by Elizabeth Neep

Updated: Oct 25, 2021



Book Description:


On the first day of Christmas, my true love… dumped me. Poppy loves Christmas and always goes all out to make this magical time of the year extra special for her boyfriend George. But George is strangely not in the Yuletide spirit this year. As Poppy wrestles him into her Christmas jumper built for two for a holiday snapshot, she finds out why. He’s leaving her. With only twelve days to spend together until Christmas. Poppy is heartbroken. George is the love of her life, and what would Christmas be without kisses under the mistletoe, his mum’s delicious homemade gingerbread or their super-competitive games of Pictionary? She’s determined to win George back. So, anxious to prove to him she can be spontaneous, she signs up as a Christmas volunteer at the local community centre. What she doesn’t know is that there’s a festive surprise coming her way… As Poppy throws herself into her new role – mulling vats of hot cider and hanging fairy lights off everything within reach – she discovers an inner strength she never knew she had. And there’s also Theo. Her new boss. Grumpy and opinionated, he’s everything she doesn’t want. But as the snow starts to fall, she begins to notice other things about him – like his twinkling green eyes, how he makes her laugh, and how much he cares about the people he’s trying to help. As the twelfth day approaches, Poppy might be about to discover that the most perfect Christmas might be the one that she didn’t plan at all… Fans of One Day in December, Beth O’Leary and Mhairi McFarlane will be completely enchanted by this witty and warm festive story about friendship, love and finding yourself.




BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'Twelve Days To save Christmas' by Elizabeth Neep.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Elizabeth Neep, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 19th October 2021.


This is the third book I have read by this author. I have previously read 'The New Me' and 'Never Say No' which I highly recommend.



I was originally drawn to this book by its beautiful eye catching cover and its intriguing synopsis and title. The synopsis stated that 'Fans of One Day in December, Beth O’Leary and Mhairi McFarlane will be completely enchanted by this witty and warm festive story about friendship, love and finding yourself.' I am a huge fan of 'One Day In December' so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I am also a huge fan of Elizabeth and if this is half as good as 'Never Say No' and 'The New Me' it is sure to be a page turning read. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of 30 chapters. The chapters are short to medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in London , England 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿 , UK 🇬🇧. The bonus for me of books that are partly or fully based in the UK is that I live in the UK and have sometimes visited places mentioned in the book which makes it easier to picture. I have actually been on holiday to both on several occasions so am looking forward to seeing if I recognise anywhere that Elizabeth has based the book on.


This book is written in first person perspective and the main protagonist is Poppy. The benefits of books written in first person perspective are as long as they are well written it makes you feel that you are being spoken to by the protagonist and it can create more of a bond between yourselves and them.


🎶 It's begging to look a lot like Christmas 🎶 in this gorgeous festive heart warmer!!!


Well done Elizabeth!! Yet another amazingly successful page turner!!! I absolutely LOVED IT, considering I loved 'Never Say No' and 'The New Me' though I shouldn't be surprised, your a very talented author!!


This book is extremely well written and the writing flows beautifully. It felt like Poppy was telling me her story from across the table. The vivid descriptions brought the story to life along with the scents and sounds of the Christmas markets. The synopsis, title and cover work perfectly with the storyline.


I was absolutely hooked from page one until the fantastic ending. I completely absorbed this page turner in one sitting. I've read so many crime novels lately thay I really enjoyed reading something so light hearted that made me laugh out loud on several occasions. The storyline was unique and realistic and it just shows how easy it is for one thing to make you feel that your life is spiralling out of control. It also really shows the reader about what love is and what it should and shouldn't be about. I seriously could not put it down and every time a chapter ended and I thought I could go to sleep each one left me wanting more. An absolute breathe of fresh air!! The storyline is filled with friendship, envy, love, romance, hertbreak, tears and laughter. I thought the headings of some of the chapters were fantastic and a great little addition to the festivities. . The book ended perfectly although I would definitely love to read more about what they all get up to next.


The characters are all realistic, strong and well defined. I really enjoyed getting to know them all. However Poppy did make me want to scream and shout at her in several occasions. In fact I actually did a few times causing me to get a few odd looks off my partner and children!!! She is such a lovely person and her infatuation just drove me mad!!! However it does go to show how easy it is to forget everything and everyone when you think you need something else. I loved seeing Poppy grow on her own and it was a shame and heartbreaking really how she didn't see the difference she was making along with something else that happened. It is sooooo hard to say how I felt about her and George without giving too much away so sadly I think I will have to leave it there and let you see for yourselves. I wasn't a fan of Charlie, Linda, Becca, Andy, Frankie either although I did warm to Dee slightly by the end.I absolutely LOVED meeting Marie, Aran, Theo, Avery, Linda, Stanley, Ruth, Roger and everyone at the community centre. I really felt like I had become part of the family and was absolutely gutted to have to say goodbye. I would absolutely love to read more about Church Street. Although this book is light hearted and such a fun read it definitely leaves you thinking. It is a good reminder to be yourself for you and make sure you are happy while making others happy too!! It was lovely to see all the different relationships between the characters grow, develop and change. Hopefully, you never know, there may be a Church Street spin off.... Hint hint Elizabeth 😉!!


Another HUGE CONGRATULATIONS TO Elizabeth on this fantastic book. I'm looking forward to your next success!! I would also love to see this book turned into a movie, Bridget Jones watch out!



Overall a beautifully written, festive, light hearted breathe of fresh air that is perfect to read anywhere and everywhere.



Genres covered in this novel include Romance Novel, Humorous Fiction, Contemporary Romance and Holiday Fiction amongst others.


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Bridget Jones,'One Day In December' and anyone looking for a light hearted page turner.



382 pages.


This book is just 99p to purchase on kindle via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@ElizabethNeep @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86








Author Bio:


Elizabeth Neep was born in 1990 in Derbyshire and now lives in London Bridge. After studying Law at the University of Nottingham and the University of New South Wales, she worked in magazine journalism, most noticeably writing for Dazed and Confused and PETRIe. Elizabeth now works as a non-fiction Senior Commissioning Editor and writes and paints in her spare time. https://www.elizabethneep.com/ https://www.instagram.com/elizabeth_neep/?hl=en https://twitter.com/elizabeth_neep





Buy Links:






18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comentarios

Obtuvo 0 de 5 estrellas.
Aún no hay calificaciones

Agrega una calificación
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page