top of page

'To Save My Child' by Emma Robinson

Updated: Oct 29, 2021


Book Description:


‘I would do anything for you to get well again, baby girl.’ It’s a promise. Even though it means asking her father for help, going back there, risking everything. Whatever the cost, there’s no hesitation in my mind. Because that’s what you do when you’re a mother. Single mother Anna’s six-year-old daughter Libby is her whole world. Having escaped a marriage that was threatening to destroy her, Anna has managed to get their lives back on track. Looking at Libby’s sweet, heart-shaped face, Anna is filled with hope for the future. They have each other and nothing else matters. But then Libby gets ill, with a rare disorder that means she needs a transplant from a relative if she’s going to survive. And when Anna discovers she herself isn’t a match, there’s only one person she can turn to. So she picks up the phone, and dials a number she hoped she’d never have to call again. The man she once ran from. Her daughter’s father. She’s scared he’ll want them to come back home, scared he’ll be able to break her all over again. But Anna knows what she has to do, what any mother would. Because if there’s a chance to save your daughter’s life, wouldn’t you do whatever it takes? An unforgettable, heartbreaking and ultimately uplifting story from the bestselling author of My Husband’s Daughter, this novel is perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult, Diane Chamberlain and Jojo Moyes.






BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'To Save My Child' by Emma Robinson.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Emma Robinson, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 26th October 2021.


This is the third book I have read by this author. I have previously read 'My Husband's Daughter' and 'His First Wife's Secret' which I highly recommend.



I was originally drawn to this book by its beautiful eye catching cover and its intriguing synopsis and title. The synopsis stated that this book is 'An unforgettable, heartbreaking and ultimately uplifting story from the bestselling author of My Husband’s Daughter, this novel is perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult, Diane Chamberlain and Jojo Moyes.' I am a huge fan of all three authors so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I am also a huge fan of Emma and if this is half as good as 'My Husband's Daughter' and 'His First Wife's Secret' it is sure to be a page turning read. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of 42 chapters and an epilogue. The chapters are short to medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in Essex 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿, UK 🇬🇧 . I always enjoy when books are set in the UK as I'm from Wales and have sometimes visited areas mentioned in the book. This makes it easier to picture where the scenes are set at times. I have in fact visited Essex on many occasions including this year so am looking forward to possibly recognising name places.


This book is written in third person perspective with the main protagonist being Anna Ferguson. The benefits of third person perspective with multiple protagonists are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything.


'To Save My Child' discusses some topics that may trigger some readers or may not be suitable for others. I like to point this out ahead of time in my reviews so you can judge if this book is for you or not. In this book Emma discusses/includes child illness.


Wow!!! Where to even begin?? Mind you it's hard enough to write this with blurry eyes through tears!! Oh yes, that emotional even I shed tears!!!


I start by saying that Emma Robinson is a very talented author and I cannot wait to get dug into more of her books. She is definitely on par with several of my favourite authors including Jodi Picoult, Jojo Moyes and Nicholas Sparks and has been added to this list so well done there!!!


The book itself is written so well that it reads so smoothly from chapter to chapter with brilliant descriptions and settings perfect for the scene. Itreally dragged me deep into the story and I became completely invested until I came out the other end with tears streaming down my face.


The storyline is absolutely heartbreaking and a real tear jerker. It is also an absolutely beautiful story of love, loss and family!! It is filled with love, family, selfishness, abuse, regrets, selflessness, heartbreak and much much more. It was an absolute roller-coaster ride of emotions. This story is definitely a mother's worst nightmare and you will definitely not only need to clear your schedules when you start this as you will not be able to put it down but you need to make sure you have tissues at the ready!!! I cried, screamed, smiled, my heart broke, I seen evil and then a hero. I can't say too much as I don't want to give too much a way. Needless to say it is a beautiful book and an absolute page turner!!!


The characters are all realistic and described so well I really felt that I got to know them all. I became completely invested in not only Anna but Libby too. It tore me apart watching Ryan destroy Anna's life and much more but I can't say anymore as I really don't want to spoil it for others. Needless to say I couldn't stand the man!!! I also had a major problem with someone else but they did redeem themselves in my eyes. I also became invested in Tim, Julie and Max's story and well..... Eurgh!!! I think if I say anything else I will spoil things but just trust me you need to read this book and you will know what u mean and feel!!! I loved that they were a mix of personalities and I enjoyed watching the relationships between each grow and develop. I admired Libby's strength and Anna's dedication and loyalty as a Mum and honestly just everything about them and the storyline was perfect. Another character that stood out for me was Tina who was such a lovely and caring friend, anyone would be lucky to have a friend like Tina!!


Congratulations Emma on yet another stunner!!! I would LOVE to see this turned into a movie!!!! Looking forward to your next success 🥂


Overall an absolute page turning, tear jerking beautiful story of love, loss and family.


Genres covered in this novel include Literary Fiction, Contemporary Fiction, Emotional Drama and Fiction amongst others.


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Nicholas Sparks, Jojo Moyes, Jodi Picoult, 'My Sisters Keeper' and just anyone looking for a beautiful read.



304 pages.


This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@EmmaRobinson @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86








Author Bio:


Emma Robinson is the author of several women’s fiction novels. She also blogs about the funny side of parenting and has contributed to podcasts such as Funny Women. Whilst her early novels are humorous, her recent work focuses on emotional themes and these novels are both heart-breaking and life affirming. Emma enjoys writing stories which explore the power of family and friendship in the most challenging circumstances. Emma currently lives in Essex with a husband, two children and a small black dog. https://motherhoodforslackers.com/ https://www.instagram.com/emmarobinsonuk/ https://twitter.com/emmarobinsonuk



Buy Links:







28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page