top of page

'To Be A Mother' by Emma Robinson

Updated: Oct 15, 2022

Book Description:


What if your only chance to be a mother was to give birth to his first wife’s child?


All I’ve ever wanted is to be a mother. And since I married David, it’s gone from being a dream of mine, to a dream of ours. And I want it for him too – it’s the happy-ever-after he deserves after the tragic loss of his first wife, Katherine.


We have tried and we’ve hoped. But today I’ve just found out it’s impossible. That I’m unable to become a mother. My heart breaking into thousands of pieces, I beg the doctor to tell me there’s another way.


But it’s David who speaks. Telling me that just before Katherine died, she had gone through fertility treatment. Now her eggs legally belong to David. To us.


It could be my only chance to be the mother I’ve always longed to be… But can I really carry his first wife’s baby?


With dizzying plot twists and emotional, heart-breaking family drama, this powerfully uplifting story is certain to leave readers sobbing. Perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult, Diane Chamberlain and Colleen Hoover.





BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'To Be A Mother' by Emma Robinson.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Emma Robinson, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 11th October 2022


This is the fifth book I have read by this author. I have previously read 'My Husband's Daughter', 'Only For My Daughter', 'To Save My Child' and 'His First Wife's Secret' which I highly recommend.


I was originally drawn to this book by its beautiful eye catching cover and its intriguing synopsis and title. The synopsis stated 'With dizzying plot twists and emotional, heart-breaking family drama, this powerfully uplifting story is certain to leave readers sobbing. Perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult, Diane Chamberlain and Colleen Hoover ' I am a huge fan of all three authors so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I am also a huge fan of Emma and if this is half as good as 'My Husband's Daughter', 'To Save My Child', 'Only For My Daughter' and 'His First Wife's Secret' it is sure to be a page turning read. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of a prologue, 39 chapters and an epilogue. The chapters are short to medium in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in England 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿, UK 🇬🇧 . I always enjoy when books are set in the UK as I'm from Wales and have sometimes visited areas mentioned in the book. This makes it easier to picture where the scenes are set at times. I have in fact visited England on many occasions including this year so am looking forward to possibly recognising name places.


This book is written in third person perspective with the main protagonists being Hannah Maguire and Katherine Maguire. The benefits of third person perspective with multiple protagonists are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything.



Wow!!! Where to even begin?? Mind you it's hard enough to write this with blurry eyes through tears!! Oh yes, that emotional even I shed tears!!!


I start by saying that Emma Robinson is a very talented author and I cannot wait to dig into more of her books. She is definitely on par with several of my favourite authors including Jodi Picoult, Jojo Moyes and Nicholas Sparks which is why she is also one of my favourite authors!!!


The book itself is written so well that it reads so smoothly from chapter to chapter with brilliant descriptions and settings perfect for the scene. It really dragged me deep into the story and I became completely invested until I came out the other end with tears streaming down my face. The title and synopsis fitted the storyline perfectly.


The storyline is absolutely heartbreaking and a real tear jerker. It is also an absolutely beautiful story of love, loss, friendship, secrets and family!! It is filled with love, family, friendship, regrets, selflessness, heartbreak and much much more. It was an absolute roller-coaster ride of emotions. Emma is an extremely talented author and I love how her books are based on life dilemmas and so much more. She always does so much research into her topics and it always shines through. There's nothing worse than a book being littered with mistakes because the author hasn't done enough research into their subject. The main subject of this book is being unable to have children. In this case because Hannah's ovaries are unable to produce healthy eggs. Emma doesn't just stop there though and throws the spanner in the works of Hannah's husbands deceased first wife's embryo's sitting there waiting to be used. I love how Emma manages to take what could be such controversial subjects and manages to weave them into absolutely addictive and gorgeous stories. I also love that we see what Katherine (The first wife) was going through and what was happening in her relationship with David. Again, Emma manages to mix the past and present chapters in at the Perfect times. There is so much going on this book including what happens with Hannah's mum that I just coild not put it down for one moment!! You will definitely not only need to clear your schedules when you start this as you will not be able to put it down but you need to make sure you have tissues at the ready!!! I cried, screamed, smiled, my heart broke, my heart warmed and soooo much more!! Such a rollercoaster ride of emotions!! I can't say too much as I don't want to give too much a way. Needless to say it is a beautiful book and an absolute page turner!!! I WAS completely invested in this book and read it in one sitting as I do with all of Emma's books. It is a complete rollercoaster ride of emotions and Emma has weaved so many "hard" subjects perfectly into a gorgeous yet heartbreaking storyline. This is yet another stunner by Emma that I would love to see made into a movie!!


Do not start this until you have cleared your schedules as you won't be able to put it down!!


It is set over multiple time lines. When books show what has happened in the past and what is happening in the present I find it really helps the reader (if it is well done) understand why things are happening and what has lead to the present activities and decisions. It also shows the bigger picture.


The characters are all realistic and described so well I really felt that I got to know them all. I became completely invested in not only Hannah and David but also Gwen and Tony too. My heart completely went out to Hannah "seeing" her break her heart over her inability to have her own children. I couldn't even begin to imagine how that must be feel as I'm lucky enough to have my three boys but Emma has done an absolutely amazing job, as always, with her vivid descriptions making the characters jump out of the pages and showing their emotions and feelings out loud for you. My heart also went out to David after what is discovered, not once but twice. I wasn't a fan of Katharine at the start and found her to be very stuck up and b|tc#y. I really can't say anything else about how I feel about them as I think if I did say anything else I will spoil things but just trust me you need to read this book and you will know what I mean and feel!!! I loved that all the characters were a mix of personalities and I enjoyed watching the relationships between each grow and develop.


Make sure you read to the very end of the book to read an excerpt of Emma's absolutely stunning 'My Husband's Daughter' which is another emotional page turner and one I have read myself and would highly recommend!!


Congratulations Emma on yet another page turner!! This is why you are one of my favourite authors and here is to your next success 🥂!!!


Overall an absolute page turning, tear jerking and emotional roller coaster, beautiful story of love, secrets, family, heartbreak and so much more!!


Genres covered in this novel include Literary Fiction, Literary Saga, Mystery, Thriller, Suspense, Domestic Fiction, Family Saga. Women's Literary Fiction, Contemporary Fiction, Women's saga, Emotional Drama and Fiction amongst others.


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Nicholas Sparks, Kate Hewitt, Diane Chamberlain Jojo Moyes, Jodi Picoult, Colleen Hoover and just anyone looking for a beautiful read.



308 pages.


This book is just 99p to purchase on kindle or free on kindle and £7.99 in paperback via Amazon, at time of review, which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@EmmaRobinson @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86









Author Bio:


Emma Robinson is the author of several women’s fiction novels. She also blogs about the funny side of parenting and has contributed to podcasts such as Funny Women. Whilst her early novels are humorous, her recent work focuses on emotional themes and these novels are both heart-breaking and life affirming. Emma enjoys writing stories which explore the power of family and friendship in the most challenging circumstances.




Emma currently lives in Essex with a husband, two children and a small black dog.










Sign up to be the first to hear about new releases from Emma Robinson here: https://www.bookouture.com/emma-robinson





Buy Link:



You can sign up for all the best Bookouture deals you'll love at: http://ow.ly/Fkiz30lnzdo









31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comentários

Avaliado com 0 de 5 estrelas.
Ainda sem avaliações

Adicione uma avaliação
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page