top of page

'Time To Die' by Jay Nadal

Updated: Nov 29, 2022

Book Description


They thought the past was dead and buried. But now it’s back to haunt them.


A local criminal is savagely killed, then another . . .


As the body count grows, Detective Inspector Scott Baker and his team are caught in a race against time as they hunt for a serial killer who is at once methodical and deeply disturbed.


The investigation soon reveals that all the victims have links to a terrible crime which occurred years before. Someone is looking for payback – and they won’t stop till everyone involved is dead, executed in the most brutal manner.


Scott knows he’s sitting on a time bomb - under relentless pressure from the mysterious assassin, Brighton’s criminal underworld threatens to explode, bringing chaos to the streets of the city.


As the killings become ever more savage, can Scott find the murderer before anyone else meets an horrific death?


Time to Die – the first in the gripping crime series featuring DI Scott Baker.


Previously published by the author as Greed




BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'Time To Die' by Jay Nadal.



Read and reviewed for ZooLoos Book Tours, NetGalley, Goodreads, Inkubator Books and Jay Nadal.



Publication date 20th November 2022.



This is the first book I have read by this author. It is also the first book in the 'DI Scott Baker' series. This book was previously independently published as 'Greed'.



I was originally drawn to this book by its absolutely fantastic, eye-catching and unique cover and its intriguing synopsis. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Inkubator. I have yet to read a book published by Inkubator Books that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).




This novel consists of a prologue and 43 chapters. The chapters are short to medium in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!



This book is based in Brighton and Hove, Sussex, England 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿, UK 🇬🇧. The bonus for me of books that are partly or fully based in the UK is that I live in the UK and have sometimes visited places mentioned in the book which makes it easier to picture.I have actually holidayed in Sussex so am intrigued to see if I recognise places based on anywhere I visited while there.



This book is written in third person perspective with the main protagonists being DI Scott Baker and the killer The benefits of third person perspective with multiple protagonists are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything.




This book is extremely well written with vivid descriptions that really set the scene and kept me on the edge of my seat. The cover and synopsis suited the storyline perfectly.



This is the first book in the 'DI Scott Baker' series and what an absolutely fantastic start to what promises to be a gripping series. It is a really fast paced page turner with a really gripping and gritty storyline that takes you on a rollercoaster ride of suspense, tension and crime and kept me on the edge of my seat. The storyline was unique and once I got stuck in I couldn't stop turning the pages. It is packed with murder, tension, crime, suspense and ticks every box you could ask for in a gripping crime thriller. I love the fact that it is set in Brighton and the author really sets the scene for the reader making it feel like you are with Scott and the team throughout. I love the fact that the ending is tied up perfectly so there are no loose ends left, one of my pet hates in books. I enjoyed seeing what was happening through the eyes of the killer and trying to work out why they were doing what they were. One of the most unique things in this book for me is that I actually felt sorry for the killer and could understand why he was doing what he was. It is very thought provoking as it makes the reader question (well it did with me anyway) the law and personally I wondered if anything should have been done at the end as they were actually doing the world a favour. This book would make a fantastic choice for book clubs and would bring up some great debates when talking about it. I have to be careful I don't say too much as I don't want to give anything away. Needless to say I am looking forward to reading the next book in this promising series which is called 'The Stolen Girls'.



It is always worrying when starting a new series as you have no idea who the characters are. It is very important for me to bond with not only the lead protagonists but also any characters that may make repeat appearances during the series too. Strangely it is important that I connect with the pathologist/s too as they tend to play large parts in police procedurals. Thankfully this wasn't a problem in this book.



It wasn't just the storyline I was completely invested in but also the characters. I really liked Scott and thought that he worked excellently with his team and made a great leader. My heart went out to him after losing his family and I really hope that he finds happiness. I loved the banter between Scott and his team and amongst his team members. It is always great to have some laughter in crime books as it lightens the story up a bit. All of the characters were strong and believable. Mike,

Abby and Raj all made a great team and worked well together with plenty of banter and sarcasm between them all which made me laugh several times. I also really liked the pathologist Cara Hall who was full of life (pardon the pun), sarcastic and great at her job. I loved watching the bond between Cara and Scott develop throughout and I hope that it goes somewhere. I am definitely looking forward to seeing what happened between them in 'The Stolen Girls'. I am looking forward to meeting them all again and I think they are going to become one of my favourites.



An absolutely fantastic start to what promises to be an addictive series and I'm looking forward to reading the next book which will hopefully be soon!! Congratulations Jay Nadal on a fantastic page turner and here's to your next success 🥂!!


Make sure you read to the very end of the book to read the prologue and first chapter of Jay's 'The Stolen Girls' which promises to be just as addictive as this book and I cannot wait to get stuck into it!!!



Overall an absolutely page turning and explosive start to what promises to be an addictive series.



Genres covered in this book include Psychological Thriller, Crime, English Crime, Serial Killers, Thriller, Suspense, Mystery, Police Thriller, Police Procedural, Hard-boiled Mysteries, Psychological Fiction and Noir Crime amongst others.



198 pages



This book is just 99p to purchase on kindle, free on kindle unlimited and £8.99 in paperback via Amazon at time of review which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!



Rated 5 /5 (I loved it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.



Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews





@TimeToDie @DIScottBaker @JayNadal @Bookworm86 @bookworm1986 @ZooLoosBT @inkubatorbooks @Inkubator @Netgalley @Goodreads @Amazon @AmazonKindle




















Author Bio


Crime Never Pays… Well yes and no depending on what side of the fence you’re on!


I’ve always had a strong passion for whodunnits, crime series, and books. The more I immersed myself in it, the stronger the fascination grew.


In my spare time, you’ll find me in the gym, reading, binge watching Netflix or taking walks in the forest.


Oh, and I’m an avid people watcher, I just love to watch people, their mannerisms, and their way of expressing their thoughts… weird I know, but I could spend hours doing that. It's funny, because watching people often gives me insights and inspiration for describing human interaction in my books.


Fun fact: My favourite, bestest place ever on earth? Any of the Florida theme parks and the mad coasters out there. Add the food, shopping and weather, and you've got the best place on earth... especially when I see the joy on the faces of my family when we're out there :)


Weird fact: Spending an afternoon in a mortuary to bring my books to life. Oops! poor choice of words there :)


I hope you enjoy the stories I craft for you.





Purchase Link










24 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page