top of page

There's Something About Greece by Sue Roberts. Review



Book Description:



One holiday could change her life forever.



When Tania is invited to spend the summer with her aunt Judith on the stunning Greek island of Crete, she’s torn. She hasn’t been able to bring herself to travel since her last vacation romance utterly broke her heart. But is it time to put the past behind her?



Taking in gorgeous views of the turquoise harbour and white beaches from the little village, Tania can’t imagine a better place to be. Until, at the villa, preparing a delicious moussaka together, Tania sees her aunt’s beaming smile falter. And it’s clear the normally sparkling and lively Judith is unwell.



Not wanting to show just how worried she is, Tania sets off for a refreshing dip in the crystal sea to clear her head – and when grumpy, handsome local Nicos bumps right into her,Tania brushes off his apologies. She has too much on her plate to jump at the first Greek god she sees.



So, when Nicos turns up at the door offering to help her aunt, it’s not just Tania’s racing pulse that catches her by surprise. And as he opens up about his own family, she sees the kind heart underneath the brooding demeanour and impressive muscles.



But, with her aunt thankfully on the mend, the sun is setting on Tania’s time in Greece. Until Nicos promises her the life of her dreams – if she would only stay in Crete. Now she must choose between the safety of her life back home or taking a chance on love. She can’t risk her heart on another holiday romance… can she?



You will be swept away to the golden sands of Greece in this gorgeous, feel-good summer romance, full of love, laughter and new beginnings! Perfect for fans of Kate Frost, Jenny Colgan and My Mamma Mia Summer.







BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'There's Something About Greece' by Sue Roberts.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Sue Roberts, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 15th June 2023.


This is the fourth book I have read by this author. I have previously read 'Going Greek', 'Greece Actually' and 'What Happens In Greece' which I also recommend. It is also the first book in the 'Greek Island Escape' series.



I was originally drawn to this book by its beautiful eye catching cover, its intriguing synopsis and title and its extremely talented author. The synopsis stated that 'You will be swept away to the golden sands of Greece in this gorgeous, feel-good summer romance, full of love, laughter and new beginnings! Perfect for fans of Kate Frost, Jenny Colgan and My Mamma Mia Summer.' I am a huge fan of Jenny Colgan so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I am also a huge fan of Sue Roberts and if this is half as good as 'Going Greek', 'Greece Actually' and 'What Happens In Greece' it is sure to be a page turning read. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of a prologue, 37 chapters and an epilogue. The chapters are short to medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in England, UK 🇬🇧 and Greece 🇬🇷 . The bonus for me of books that are partly or fully based in the UK is that I live in the UK and have sometimes visited places mentioned in the book which makes it easier to picture. I have actually visited England on several occasions so am looking forward to see if I recognise anywhere.


This book is written in first person perspective and the main protagonist is Tania. The benefits of books written in first person perspective are as long as they are well written it makes you feel that you are being spoken to by the protagonist and it can create more of a bond between yourselves and them.


Awww another absolutely fantastically gorgeous book Sue, Well done!!!!


This book is beautifully written and completely absorbs you in the stunning atmosphere of Greece and really sucks you in with the vivid descriptions leaving you feel the warmth of the the sun and smell of the sea. The synopsis and cover suits the storyline perfectly.


I have absolutely loved each and every one of the amazing Sue's books that I have read so far and this one is no exception!!! Honestly if you are ever in need of a break and fancy the gorgeous Greece then grab any one of Sue's stunners and prepare to be whisked away on a beautiful holiday!!! The storyline is authentic and realistic as well as easy to read and heartwarming. There was plenty of events going on throughout and it kept me hooked from start to end, I read it in one sitting while mainly sitting in the garden with the sun warming my legs at the same time Tania was being warmed by the sun in Greece making it feel like I was there even more than Sue's evocative storytelling did. The storyline was filled with a range of emotions and was heartwarming, devastating and had love, relationships, family, animals, friendship and history all going on in this beautiful atmosphere. It felt like a lovely break away from Wales!! I loved how the story ended and I would love to read more about the life in this gorgeous Greek village. I was absolutely devastated when I came to the end of this book as I was truly whisked away to Greece feeling the sand on my feet and looking at the stunning views. I absolutely loved the gorgeous atmosphere and the warm embrace of everyone in the rescue. I am a huge fan of books with animals in and especially rescue ones as I run my own Golden Oldies Cat Rescue and Hospice and this book has plenty to love PLUS they played a huge part which is definitely a bonus!!!! In this stunner we meet Tania who has decided that with her boyfriend of two years being a cheater, being fed up with her job and with her aunt Judith needing a hip operation but struggling with who will run the rescue while she is rehabilitating now is the perfect time to leave her life behind and go and help her aunt for the summer. Tania has spent many summers with Judith and the rescue so when she heads into Crete it feels like coming home again. The longer she is surrounded by her loving aunt, the gorgeous dogs ,and not forgetting, donkeys, a handsome neighbour and some great friends Tania starts questioning her life goals. Will Tania want to leave after having the summer of a Lifetime? Will she be able to leave Crete this time? Well, I could tell you the answers but that wouldn't be any fun when you pick up your copy of this stunner would it? The storyline was so heartwarming and it was such an easy and relaxing read with moments of laughter, some tension and sadness but overall happiness. It ended absolutely perfectly and I would love to see more of Tania, Nico, Judith and the rescue and the rest of the amazing characters soon!! Hint, hint Sue 😉!!!


Yet another absolutely gorgeous book!! I cannot wait to go on my next Greek adventure with the very talented Sue Roberts. I absolutely adored being in Greece but I also enjoyed learning and reading about Tania, Julie's rescue and meeting new friends who I absolutely adored!!! Another unforgettable holiday!!!


It is always worrying when starting a new series as you have no idea who the characters are. It is very important for me to bond with not only the lead protagonists but also any characters that may make repeat appearances during the series too.


The characters were all unique with their own realistic traits, strengths and weaknesses. It was intriguing to watch Tania and Nico's friendship grow, develop and change throughout the the storyline. It was also intriguing to see how not only Tania and Nico's relationship change throughout the book but also Tania's friendships and relationship with Julie, the rescue animals, the rest of the volunteers and just everyone involved!!! I absolutely adored both Tania and Julie and, well everyone 😂 and was completely invested in each and everyone. Running a rescue myself I know how time consuming, heart breaking, rewarding and hard it can be so I connected with Julie straight away as she owns her own but I also connected with the rest of the characters too. Speaking of the main character Tania, she is such a likeable person that she is definitely one of those characters that I am gutted she is fictional. My fingers and toes were crossed throughout for her to get her much deserved happily ever after. Nico's is another sexy Greek man that Sue has managed to whip up perfectly. He was charming, hot and everything I love to see in these stunning books and again it was a shame he isn't real!!! However, Sue's amazing evocative writing skills brought them to life as much as possible and they all leapt out of the pages as well as the stunning atmosphere, the rescue and the rest of the characters!!! Anyway, I best not say anymore as don't want to give anything else away for future readers!! It's just so easy talking about this fantastic book and so much I want to tell you all about but i really need to control myself!!! Needless to say I absolutely adored each and every character each for a different reason. All characters worked perfectly with the storyline and I would love to meet them again and cannot wait to get stuck into the second book in this series which is called 'All You Need Is Greece' and can be pre-ordered now ready for the release date of 14th August!!!




Well done Sue on another absolutely gorgeous book!!! I will definitely be looking for your books any time I need to be swept off to another country!!! This is exactly why when I am looking for a romance your books are what I look for and your one of my favourite authors.


Make sure you read to the very end of the book to read the first two chapters of Sue's ''My Big Greek Summer' which promises to be just as addictive as this book and is one I'm definitely looking forward to reading myself!!


Overall an absolutely perfect light hearted, stunning unputdownable romance that will sweep you off your feet and land you in Greece.


Genres covered in this novel include Contemporary Women's Fiction, Women's Romance Fiction, Greek Travel, Women's Humourous Fiction, Holiday Fiction, Love, Sex & Marriage Humour, Romantic Comedy, Humorous Fiction, Contemporary Women Fiction, Women's Romance Fiction, Fiction Mashups, Family Life Fiction, Women's Contemporary Fiction, Holiday Romance, Literary Fiction, Romance Fiction, General Humour, Women's Friendship Fiction, Contemporary Fiction, Women Writers And Fiction, Holiday Fiction and Contemporary Romance amongst others.


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Debbie Macomber, Kristen Bailey, Marian Keyes, Mhari McFarlane, Christina Lauren Sophie Kinsella, Sariah Wilson, Lindsey Kelk, Abby Jiminez, Kate Frost, Jenny Colgan, My Mamma Mia Summer, Emily Henry and anyone looking for a festive romance to snuggle in front of the fire with!!



299 pages.


This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle, free with kindle unlimited and £7.99 in paperback via Amazon or free on kindle unlimited which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5/5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews



@TheresSomethingAboutGreece @GreekIslandEscape @SueRoberts @Bookouture @BookoutureAnonymous @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Netgalley @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger @KindleUnlimited




















Author Bio:


Sue Roberts lives in Lancashire with her long term partner Derek and has had a lifelong love of writing, encouraged by winning a school writing competition at the age of 11.



She always assumed that ‘one day’ she would write a book, always having a busy household and a job, the idea remained firmly on the back burner but never forgotten.



The inspiration for her first novel came to her on a holiday to a Greek village. Her daughters had left home and suddenly the time had come to write that book!




Sign up to be the first to hear about new releases from Sue Roberts here: https://www.bookouture.com/sue-roberts



Buy Link:



You can sign up for all the best Bookouture deals you'll love at: http://ow.ly/Fkiz30lnzdo








0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page