top of page

'Their Silent Graves' by Carla Kovach

Title: THEIR SILENT GRAVES

Publication day: Sept 17th 2020

Author: CARLA KOVACH


Description:


Dressed in garish Halloween costumes, two teenage girls run through a patch of dense woodland towards the outskirts of town. But before they can reach the safety of the streets beyond, they make a shocking discovery.


Following a piece of old rope, the girls find a large mound of freshly laid earth, undisturbed in the darkness of the trees. Clawing at the ground beneath them, they make contact with something solid. When they realise what they’ve discovered, the silence is broken by their piercing screams as they stare down at the shallow grave.


Without looking back, they run as fast as they can, failing to spot the person nearby watching their every move…


And when another grave is found just days later, it’s clear a serial killer is praying on the small town. But who is the killer watching now? And when will another grave be filled?


If you like Angela Marsons, Cara Hunter and Clare Mackintosh, you’ll love this heart-racing thriller from bestselling author, Carla Kovach. With gripping suspense and a twist you won’t see coming, Their Silent Graves will have you hooked from page one.




BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'Their Silent Graves' by Carla Kovach


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 17th September 2020


This is the first book that I have read by this author. It is also the seventh book in the 'Detective Gina Harte' series. This book can be read as a standalone as any previous information needed is given in just the right amounts. However, I'm looking forward to reading the others in the series.


I was originally drawn to this book by its intriguing cover and interesting sounding blurb. The write up also stated that if you like Angela Marsons (along with others) you will love this. I'm a huge fan of Angela Marsons so I wanted to see if it lived up to this statement. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of a prologue and 74 chapters which are short to medium in length so ideal to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is written in third person perspective and the main protagonist is Detective Gina Harte. I enjoy books written in third person as it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters.


This book is based in the UK. I always enjoy when books are set in the UK as I'm from Wales and have sometimes visited areas mentioned in the book. This makes it easier to picture where the scenes are set at times.


This book is very well written with the majority of it based in the present and several chapters based in the past. I enjoyed that I got to read about what previously happened as it gave a bigger picture and showed that there was a reason the killer was doing what they were. It also gave the history of a few of the characters. The author put the past chapters on just the right places to give just enough but not too much information. The descriptions were excellent and I really felt as if I was in the storyline.


The storyline was quite unique, very fast paced and filled with suspense, tension, secrets, action and a few red herrings to throw you off the scent. I was completely shocked by who the killer turned out to be and never expected them in the slightest. I always love it when I'm shocked as there's nothing worse than working out the killer and your not even half way through the book yet.


I loved Gina and the fact that she is a strong female role model who has got a history herself makes it even better. I was very pleasantly surprised that she actually felt for the killer towards the end and it made her seem more genuine for me. I enjoyed reading about the other characters who all had their own personalities and were strong characters. I am looking forward to meeting them all again when I read more of the fabulous Carla's books. She has definitely found a new fan in me.


Overall a page turning, psychological thriller that will leave you shocked and wanting to read more of this very promising looking series.


Genres covered include Crime Thriller, Murder, police procedural and Mystery,


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Angela Marsons, C.L TAYLOR, Karin Slaughter, Carol Wyer and anyone looking for a fantastic new crime series!


380 pages.


This book is £1.99 to purchase on kindle via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5 /5 (I loved it!!! ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@CarlaKovach @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86


https://kcmw86.wixsite.com/bookworm86


https://m.facebook.com/Bookworm1986/?ref=bookmarks







Author Bio:


Carla Kovach was born in Birmingham, UK and now resides in Redditch, Worcestershire. Author of supernatural drama 'Flame,' psychological thriller 'To Let,' crime thriller 'Whispers Beneath the Pines,' and holiday comedy, 'Meet Me at Marmaris Castle.' Carla also writes stage and screenplays, some of which have been produced in the Worcestershire area. Her feature film 'Penny for the Guy' is being made and is set for release in 2019.


Her latest book, Her Last Mistake is the sixth book in the DI Gina Harte crime series.


Author Social Media Links:


Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/CarlaKovachAuthor/


Twitter: https://twitter.com/CKovachAuthor


Website: https://griffbuck.wordpress.com/





Buy Links:


Amazon: https://geni.us/B08B1LJ5YSSocial


Apple: http://ow.ly/YMmO50A5OCV


Kobo: http://ow.ly/gd7350A5Ozx


Google: http://ow.ly/Xe5850A5OFC

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comentarios

Obtuvo 0 de 5 estrellas.
Aún no hay calificaciones

Agrega una calificación
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page