top of page

'The Wraith' by Rowan St. George

Book Description


Ava's life changes when her beloved grandmother dies and she's forced to get to know a father she just met. Her new life takes her to the mountains where she meets Blaze, a captivating guy who draws her into his world. Nothing is as it seems and Ava is forced to make a choice.



Will that choice be satisfying? Or will she be condemned to a life unfulfilled?



Please note:


The Wraith is a gothic short story that first appeared in the Wicked Intentions Anthology (Nov 2021). The story has not changed. The Wraith does have a sexual trigger and violence, and may not be suitable for all audiences






BLOG TOUR REVIEW 



Review for 'The Wraith' by Rowan St. George. 


Read and reviewed for Rowan St. George and BookSprout. 


Publication date 31st October 2022


This is the first book I have read by this author. 


I was originally drawn to this book by its absolutely fantastic, eye-catching and unique cover and its intriguing synopsis. I'm also a major horror fan and have heard some fantastic things about this book!!


This novel consists of 11 chapters and an epilogue. The chapters are short in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!



This book is based in West Virginia, USA 🇺🇸 



This book is written in third person perspective with the main protagonist being Ava. The benefits of third person perspective are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything.


'The Wraith' discusses some topics that may upset some readers or may not be suitable for others. I like to point this out ahead of time in my reviews so you can judge if this book is for you or not. In this book Rowan discusses/includes sexual violence and animal abuse. 



This book is extremely well written with vivid descriptions that really set the scene and kept me on the edge of my seat. The cover and synopsis suited the storyline perfectly. 


OMG!!! ABSOLUTELY LOVED THIS SPINE TINGLING, UNIQUE, CREEPY, PAGE TURNER!!!! A PERFECT HALLOWEEN READ!! 


This book is a very quick and very fast paced read. It begins with Ava and her Dad moving from Atlanta to West Virginia. Ava starts hanging around with Blaze and Beth and starts a relationship with Blaze that Beth absolutely hates. All is not as it seems and so begins a rollercoaster ride of horror, sex and death. The only thing I will say is that I hated the part that included the cat and as a huge animal lover (and one that runs a cat rescue) it was difficult to read BUT this is a gothic horror and it did link on with the storyline... Plus, obviously no cats were actually harmed in the making of this book so all is well. Well Done Rowan on an absolutely fantastic, chilling gothic story. You absolutely rocked it fair play!! Not only are you epic at organising tours but you are a Stephen King in the making!!! I am an absolutely HUGE horror fan and always get excited but also wary when reading horrors as I tend to expect the same old and nothing scary but always like to give it a go and I am extremely glad I did!!! AN absolutely gripping horror that left me with my heart still raising and the hair on my arms still standing. Thank god I hadn't waited until the night, well saying that even in the day its dark so just as bad!!! This book came out at a perfect time for Halloween but don't wait until next Halloween to pick up this chilling page turner or you'll be missing out on one of the best horrors I have read!! It has the perfect amount of pages to get everything in without dragging unnecessary descriptions out and it also means it is a quick read you can pick up and easily read in an hour or two. This is only the third book I have ever actually read that has creeped me out so much but you actually managed it so genuinely a MASSIVE CONGRATULATIONS!!! It may be the first book I have read by Rowan but I can promise you it won't be the last I read!!! I just need her to write more now and if this is anything to go by then her next book promises to be just as explosive!! I was absolutely addicted to this book from the attention grabbing and hair raising start to the creepy cliff hanger ending!! I have my fingers crossed and really hope the fact that this book did end in a cliff hanger way means we have a sequel to look forward too 🤞. If so I am definitely being the first in line to get my hands on a copy!! Rowan has managed to create such a unique storyline which is an absolute pleasure to see and read!!! This book will keep you awake at every bump in the night and THAT ladies and gentlemen is what you call a successful horror!! 



DO NOT PICK THIS BOOK UP IN THE DARK AND MAKE SURE YOU GIVE YOURSELF PLENTY OF TIME BEFORE BED TO FINISH IT!! 


The storyline is absolutely ram packed with ghosts, sex, romance, death, horror, tension, gore suspense and absolutely every single thing you could want in a truly unputdownable gothic horror!!! Rowan you absolutely SMASHED it in one!! Every single time I kept telling myself one more chapter the one I was in ended at a point where there was no way I could stop reading so I absolutely devoured it in one sitting!! 


DO NOT EVEN THINK ABOUT READING THIS UNTIL YOU HAVE CLEARED YOUR SCHEDULES AS YOU WILL NOT BE ABLE TO PUT IT DOWN!!!  



A HUGE CONGRATULATIONS to Rowan on what promises to be a massive best seller!!! I loved the twisted ending and the fact that you genuinely managed to scare me..... Just perfect 👌 Welcome to my favourite horror author list Rowan and here's to your next explosive success 🥂!!! 


Overall an absolutely addictive, psychological, mind blowing, spine tingling, page turning horror that will keep you up with a racing heart until you've finished!!! 



Genres covered in this book include Psychological Thriller, Thriller, Suspense, Psychological Fiction, Teen & Young Adult Occult Fiction, Occult Horror, Gothic Romance, Romance, Ghost Horror, Paranormal Romance, Dark Romance, and Horror Suspense amongst others. 


51 pages.


This book is just 85p to purchase on kindle and free on kindle unlimited via Amazon at time of review which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!! 


 

Rated 5 /5 (I loved it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook. 



Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews 




@TheWraith @RowanStGeorge @BookSprout @Bookworm86 @bookworm1986 











Author Bio


Rowan resides in North Carolina with her family, which includes an alien cat. She is an introvert, a dreamer, and a romantic. She writes Romance and what draws her to the genre is the alphas who have a bit of warmth in their hearts that can only be gotten to by chipping away at the icy tendrils that cover it and the snarky, independent heroines that tame them. Rowan has flirted with writing since she was a teenager, but it wasn't until 2020 when she got serious enough to finish something. A mad reader, she wants to explore as many subgenres as she can in her work, which is completely mood-driven. To catch up with all the things; subscribe to her newsletter: https://mailchi.mp/da68d424764b/newsletter



Purchase Link


9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page