top of page

The Woman Who Ran For The Hills by Carmen Reid. Review.


Book Description


Jennifer McAndrew thinks she’s living her best life in London – wonderful man, great job, happily

child-free. Except the ‘wonderful man’ turns out to have a secret that ruins everything...


Shocked and devastated, Jen doesn’t know what to do. So, she packs her bags and runs for the hills –

away from her problems, all the way to her childhood home in Scotland and the safety of her dad.


But her dad is a changed man. Busy with his girlfriend, golf and G&Ts, he doesn’t have time for Jen’s

worries. And she can’t see her sister, Isla, who she fell out with years ago.


So, Jen rekindles friendships with her old school pals, Alison and Rory. They’re juggling work and

young families, but still find time to take her out and set her up with some terrible dates.


The more time she spends with Rory and his daughters, the more Jen thinks there could be

something big missing from her life. But could she ever go back to small town life? And can she

forgive what happened in the past? Should a good friend become something more?


The biggest question for Jen is – will she try to solve her problems, or will she cut and run for the hills

again?


Another brilliant laugh out loud emotional read, perfect for fans of Fiona Gibson, Tracy Bloom and

Sophie Ranald!





BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'The Woman Who Ran For The Hills' by Carmen Reid.


Read and reviewed for Carmen Reid, Boldwood Books, Book And Tonic and Rachel's Random Resources Tours.


Publication date 18th July 2023.



This is the first book I have read by this author but it definitely won't be my last!!



This novel consists of 35 chapters. The chapters are short to medium in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!



What an absolutely fantastic laugh a minute, heart warming, stunning must read!!! Absolutely loved it fairplay!!! This book has fantastic descriptions that set you straight in the scenes. The cover, title and synopsis suit the storyline perfectly.


The storyline itself was absolutely unputdownable so make sure you clear your schedules before starting to read it!!


OMG!!! I absolutely love, LOVE, LOVED this absolutely gorgeous and hilarious book!!! I must say it has got to be one of the best and funniest books I have ever read!! This is an absolute stunner by Carmen with multiple layers and many unique and unforgettable characters as well as so much going on!!! Pick up your copy of this stunner and get ready to jump on a rollercoaster ride of emotions from love, angst, anger, happiness where you will laugh out loud and cry with happiness!! I absolutely adored the storyline of returning to the place where you grew up and reminiscing with old friends!!! The atmosphere was also absolutely gorgeous and Carmen's evocative writing skills really made me feel like I had gone on holiday myself and I was gutted when I came to the end and had to return to rainy Wales and unpack my "suitcase". It is filled with friendship, family, banter, humour, new beginnings and everything you could ask for in a laugh out loud summer read!!! I was absolutely absorbed in this book and just could not put it down!!! There was no chance of just one more chapter and I ended up devouring it in a day!!! It really is one of those feel good books that is perfect to read curled up in front of a fire or lying on the beach. I could go on and on but seriously just get your copy and get sucked in. Your really won't regret it!!


Grab the tissues as you will need them after laughing so much!!! Oh, and word of warning don't risk drinking anything while reading this as you'll end up making the same mistake as me and end up with tea coming out of your nose after laughing so much!!!


The characters were all an eclectic mix and each one of them were realistic and strong. I was completely invested in them all. I absolutely loved Jennifer who had me in absolute stitches and in tears of laughter even when she was angry!!! It wasn't just Jennifer I loved though and other characters that will stay with me for a long time include Rory and Alison. I would absolutely love to meet so many of these characters again!!! Hint, Hint Carmen 😉!! Carmen brings these characters to life with her evocative writing skills, making them jump out of the pages at the reader and leaves them wanting more of them!!


A MASSIVE WELL DONE to Carmen on a HUGE success!!! I loved every page of your book and I cannot wait to read more past and future. This is exactly why I would like to welcome you to my top 3 favourite romcom authors list!! Here's to your next success 🥂!!


Make sure you read to the very end of the book to read the first chapter of Carmen's 'Personal Shopper' which promises to be just as hilarious and addictive as this!!!


Overall an unputdownable, gorgeous book filled with friendship, romance, new beginnings, laughter and so much more!!!




296 pages.


This book is just £1.39 to purchase on kindle, free with Kindle Unlimited and £12.99 in paperback via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews.




@TheWomanWhoRanForTheHills @CarmenReid @RachelsRandomResources @rararesources @BoldwoodBooks @BoldwoodBloggers @BookAndTonic @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger @KindleUnimited






















Author Bio


Carmen Reid is the bestselling author of numerous woman’s fiction titles including the Personal

Shopper series starring Annie Valentine. After taking a break from writing she is back, introducing her

hallmark feisty women characters to a new generation of readers. She lives in Glasgow with her

husband and children.





Social Media Links





Newsletter Sign Up: https://bit.ly/CarmenReidNews





Purchase Link









6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page