top of page

'The Woman Who Knew Faces' by Jane Badrock

Book Description


One tenacious cop. One amazing artist. There's a big operation underway and DS Karen Thorpe is feeling left out. Then she meets Emma, with the talent of memorising faces, and Karen's reenergised with her potential crime-solving contribution. But she's not the only one. A body turns up. Karen's finally called up to work with the Met on the operation. But Emma's gone missing. Is it connected? Where is she? Who can she trust? It's a race against time as the new team try to catch a major crime ring before they can carry out their horrific activities.




BLOG TOUR REVIEW  Review for 'The Girl Who Knew Faces' by Jane Badrock.  Read and reviewed for Jane Badrock and Question Mark Press.  Publication date 30th March 2022. This is the first book I have read by this author. It is also the third book in the 'Karen Thorpe' series.  I was originally drawn to this book by its stunning eye catching cover and intriguing sounding synopsis and title. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Question Mark Press. I have yet to read a book published by Question Mark Press that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book). This novel consists of 90 chapters. The chapters are short in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case! This book is based in Hertfordshire, England 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿, UK 🇬🇧 . The bonus for me of books that are partly or fully based in the UK is that I live in the UK and have sometimes visited places mentioned in the book which makes it easier to picture. I have actually visited and holidayed in England on many occasions so am intrigued to see if I recognise anywhere I have visited or stayed at.  This book is written in third person perspective and the main protagonists are Emma Cadrose, DS Karen Thorpe and DCI Dean Collins. The benefits of third person perspective with multiple protagonists are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything. 'The Girl Who Knew Faces' discusses some topics that may trigger some readers or may not be suitable for others. I like to point this out ahead of time in my reviews so you can judge if this book is for you or not. In this book Jane discusses/includes paedophilia.  Wow!!! What an absolutely unique storyline that I just could not put down!!! Clear your schedules before you pick this up!!  The descriptions are extremely vivid whcih completely set the scene for me and really made me feel like I was in the storyline. The cover, title and synopsis suit the plot perfectly.  The storyline is most definitely one I have never read before which was a HUGE bonus as there is so many times you can read very similar crime books before you get fed up. There was plenty going on to keep the reader on their toes!! The main storyline is based around a paedophile ring and the lovely Emma. Emma has autism and has a fantastic ability to remember and draw faces that are extremely lifelike. Emma is originally works for the courtroom but is brought in to help Karen and her team after they discovered her while looking for witnesses to a hit and run and suspicious suicide. I will discuss Emma more later when I talk about the characters but I wanted to bring up the fact that Jane has done an absolutely fantastic job in portraying a character with autism which isn't an easy feat. I also want to thank Jane for having a maim character with autism as it is definitely something that needs to be brought up more in fiction books along with non fiction to make more people aware of autism and some of the traits. I'm unsure whether Jane has experience of autism or did her research well but wither way congratulations!!! Moving on, the storyline is very fast paced and will keep you flipping the pages until you've finished. It is filled with tension, horror, suspense and a few absolute shockers which I did not suspect at all!!! It is getting harder and harder to surprise me with the amount of books I have read but you definitely managed it so well done Jane. I was absolutely stunned by, mainly, 3 things that happened and was absolutely devastated, especially, by one. This plot does involve a paedophile ring but Jane doesn't go into any unnecessary detail. It is, again, something that sadly goes on in this world and is more common that most people think. I was kept on the edge of my seat, and then later my bed, while reading this and I just could not put it down!!! I think this would make an absolutely fantastic movie and I'm looking forward to reading Jane's previous and future books!!  Although this is the third book in the series I had would have had absolutely no problems reading it without the others. Any details or events that have previously happened are mentioned in just the right amount of detail to let a new reader know what has happened and yet not too much to bore a previous reader. It is always worrying when starting a new series as you have no idea who the characters are. It is very important for me to bond with not only the lead protagonists but I find it important that I like the rest of the team too. I am pleased to say that I fell in love with them all!!  There are so many important characters in this book I wasn't sure who to begin with but I think I'll start with Emma. Emma was not originally part of the team but later joined in once her talents and her abilities were recognised. Emma is a very strong woman and definitely some one who I will remember for a long time. Emma has autism and although it does affect her daily it was lovely to see her trying to push herself. She is quite a nervous character but also friendly when she gets to know someone. I adored watching her relationships with each member of the team grow and develop throughout the book. Karen is the main protagonist and being another strong female she definitely gets my vote. I love seeing more and more strong females coming into crime novels and Karen is definitely in the lead with some of the best. I absolutely adore her kick butt attitude and felt she was a fantastic role model and lead for her team. Although she is extremely good at her job she still seems to underestimate herself and I'm looking forward to seeing if she will go ahead and take her exams. I know I will be behind her and so will the rest of her team. I enjoyed watching how her relationship with Emma went from her calling Emma "the strange one" to really developing a bond with her where you can see she genuinely cares. I am looking forward to watching how their friendship grows in the next book in this promising series. I love Karen's sense of humour and sarcasm and I think that she has a perfect partner in John who is just as sarcastic, fun, loving and has a heart of gold. However, judging by what happened at the end I think Karen does need to be a bit more attentive to him. DCI Winter made a fantastic boss and you can see that his team respect him as he is the perfect mix of friend and boss. Bradley and Macy were also essential parts of the team. I enjoyed getting to know them both and look forward to meeting them both again. I really liked both Bill and Dean and was devastated by what happened with both but won't go into further detail as I don't want to spoil it for future readers. Overall an absolutely fantastic team who were each strong individuals with very different personalities but they all worked perfectly together. I'm going to miss them all and can't wait to meet them all again!!!  A HUGE CONGRATULATIONS TO JANE ON AN ABSOLUTELY PAGE TURNING AND EXPLOSIVE EPISODE IN AN EXTREMELY PROMISING SERIES!! WELCOME TO MY FAVOURITE AUTHOR LIST!!!  I cannot wait to dig into previous and future books in this series and get to know Karen's past and her and the teams future. Here's to your next success 🥂  Overall an absolutely EXPLOSIVE page turning book filled with surprises and twists in what promises to be an extremely successful series!!  Genres covered in this book include Thriller, Psychological Thriller, Police Procedural, Suspense, Crime Fiction and Psychological Fiction amongst others.  I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Angela Marsons, Carol Wyer, Noelle Holten, Mark Edwards and anyone looking for an explosive crime series!!!  320 pages. This book is just to purchase on kindle via Amazon or free on kindle unlimited which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!  Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.  Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews  #TheWomanWhoKnewFaces #QuestionMarkPress #JaneBadrock #BookReview #BlogTour #BooksOnTour @JaneBadrock @QuestionMarkPress @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86  https://kcmw86.wixsite.com/bookworm86

https://m.facebook.com/Bookworm1986/?ref=bookmarks

https://m.facebook.com/Bookwork86/?__tn__=%2As-R



About The Author


Jane writes novels, short stories and poems, usually with a good dose of humour in them. She probably owes it all to her late grandmother who, she's just found out, also wrote short stories and poems. She tends to get an idea and then run with it whether it be a 100 word short story or an 80 thousand word novel. It all depends on the voices in her head at the time…

Social Media Links

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/janebadrock/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/janebadrock Amazon : https://www.amazon.co.uk/Jane-Badrock/e/B07HZ2HD3Q Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/18510015.Jane_Badrock




Purchase Links Amazon UK - https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B09T7BRSYQ Amazon US - https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B09T7BRSYQ



23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page