top of page

'The Woman In The Water' by Kelly Heard


Book: The Woman in the Water

Author: Kelly Heard

Pub Day: July 22nd 2021

My Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐

About the Book:

I know my sister didn’t die by accident. Does someone know our secret? I swore I’d never go home to Brightwater. It would be safer for everyone if I stayed away. But now my sister is dead, and I am driving down the familiar highway, watching the sunlight glimmer off the lake, with the memory of her green eyes like a knife in my heart. I know Holly didn’t slip and drown out by the old boardwalk, surrounded by trees and dark water. She would never have gone there, if she had a choice. Her little girls need me now. I couldn’t save Holly, but I must protect them. Because if whoever killed Holly knows what we did all those years ago, out on the water, then I need to find them before they come after me. But how can I, when there are still so many things I don’t know about what really happened that night? An absolutely gripping, twisty psychological thriller about secrets between sisters that will keep you turning the pages late into the night. Perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train, The Woman in the Window and The Silent Patient.







BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'The Woman In The Water' by Kelly Heard.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Kelly Heard, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 22nd July 2021.


This is the second book I have read by this author. I have previously read 'The Silent Girl' which I would recommend.



I was originally drawn to this book by its intriguing and eye catching cover and its intriguing synopsis and title. The synopsis stated that this book is 'Perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train, The Woman in the Window and The Silent Patient.' I am a huge fan of 'The Girl On The Train' so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I am also a fan of Kelly Heard and if this is as good as 'The Silent Girl' it is sure to be a good read. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of 52 chapters. The chapters are short to medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in the USA 🇺🇸.


This book is written in first person perspective and the main protagonist is Felicity Wheeler. The benefits of books written in first person perspective are as long as they are well written it makes you feel that you are being spoken to by the protagonist and it can create more of a bond between yourselves and them. If there are several protagonists you also get to see more of what is going on.


This book is quite well written with very vivid descriptions that places you right next to Felicity while everything is going on. The synopsis describes the book well and the cover and title suit the storyline perfectly.


The storyline pulls you straight in with the first few chapters but then I did find it became quite a slow burner and you didn't see much 'action' for at least 50% of the book. However, although it was a slow started I found when it started picking up it became a rollercoaster ride of suspense, mystery and tension. I was intrigued by what had really happened with both Felicity and Holly and was kept on edge by what was going on with Felicity, I don't want to mention too much as I don't want to spoil it for future readers I was quite surprised when I discovered what had happened to her in the past and what was going on in the present so extra points to Kelly Heard for that as its getting harder and harder to surprise me.

It is set over multiple time lines. When books show what has happened in the past and what is happening in the present I find it really helps the reader (if it is well done) understand why things are happening and what has lead to the present activities and decisions. It also shows the bigger picture. I absolutely loved the setting and atmosphere especially with the swamps and the Spooky abandoned fairground, that definitely gave it the fantastic creepy vibe throughout that I enjoyed.


The characters are all very unique, strong and also complex. Each of the main characters definitely had a history and it was intriguing to watch the character development and relationships bond and break. I believe the story is strongly based on how certain relationships can affect us and how we cling on to certain people and seem to become blind to the toxic nature of some and mistake the genuine relationships of others with something unkind. I really enjoyed watching Felicity's relationships between her mum, Frankie and Tess especially grow and develop throughout the storyline.


Overall a mystery packed rollercoaster ride of suspense and tension.



Genres covered in this novel include Psychological Fiction, Gothic Fiction, Noir Fiction and Psychological Thriller amongst others.


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of 'The Girl On The Train' and fans of Kelly Heard.



345 pages.


This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle via Amazon or free on kindle unlimited which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 4/5 (I enjoyed it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@KellyHeard @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86










Author Bio


Kelly Heard is a novelist from Afton, Virginia. She published poetry in literary magazines before signing her debut novel, Before You Go, with Bookouture. Kelly prefers writing to most other pastimes, but you'll occasionally find her in the garden, hiking, or exploring antique shops. For more updates, follow Kelly on Twitter: @kheardbooks Website: www.kellyheardbooks.com


Social Media









Buy Links



12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page