top of page

'The Woman In My Home' by Kerry Fisher


Book Description

The Woman in My Home: An absolutely gripping page-turner with a twist

I was starting to believe it might be my turn for the fairy tale. A man who adored me, someone to return to at the end of the day and to share my life with. And Rebecca. Capable, reliable Rebecca who could help me to manage my busy home… Finally, Cath has met someone: a man she loves, Robin, and who adores her in return. And after years of managing fine on her own, running a successful business, raising her son, and caring for her elderly mother, she feels she deserves some happiness. And who better to provide it than charming, fun-loving Robin? She expected everyone to be delighted for her. But her friends and family are suspicious of Robin. And Rebecca, a desperate single mother who Cath has hired as a live-in housekeeper, doesn’t trust him either. He’s too slick, he’s too perfect and it all happened too fast… how well does Cath really know him? Cath is used to taking care of herself; she’s nobody’s fool. But when things start to go wrong in the house that’s been her haven for all these years, she’s forced to ask herself whether the man she loves is really what he seems… And having let Rebecca in to every part of her life, is Cath ready to face the secrets she might find there? From the Amazon charts bestselling author of The Silent Wife and The Woman I Was Before, The Woman in My Home is a gripping read about family secrets and lies. Perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty and Diane Chamberlain.



BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'The Woman In My Home' by Kerry Fisher.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Kerry Fisher, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 20th May 2022.


This is the third book I have read by this author. I have previously read 'Another Woman's Child' and 'Other People's Marriages' which I would also recommend.


I was originally drawn to this book by its beautiful eye catching cover and its intriguing synopsis and title. The synopsis stated that this book is 'Perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty and Diane Chamberlain.' I am a huge fan of Diane Chamberlain so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I am also a huge fan of Kerry Fisher and if this is half as good as 'Another Woman's Child' and 'Other People's Marriages' it is sure to be an epic read. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of a prologue and 39 chapters. The chapters are short to medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in England 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿 , UK 🇬🇧 . I always enjoy when books are set in the UK as I'm from Wales and have sometimes visited areas mentioned in the book. This makes it easier to picture where the scenes are set at times. I have in fact visited England on many occasions including going there on holiday last and this year so am looking forward to possibly recognising name places.


This books is written in first person perspective and the main protagonists are Cath and Rebecca. The benefits of books written in first person perspective are as long as they are well written it makes you feel that you are being spoken to by the protagonist and it can create more of a bond between yourselves and them. If there are several protagonists you also get to see more of what is going on.


This book is beautifully written with descriptions that set the scene and really make you feel what the characters are going through. The cover and synopsis suit the book perfectly.


I became completely invested in this storyline and found it to be unique which is definitely a bonus. I started it this morning and finished this afternoon, I just could not put it down. It was filled with secrets, friendship, deceit, romance, lies and a few shocking twists. I absolutely loved the part that where Rebecca states that "A reality TV programme where a psychologist analyses what cleaners discover about their clients would knock the spots off I’m a Celebrity and Love Island." I would LOVE to see this happen!! This book was filled with so many different emotions from love to shock to sadness. It was also realistic which I enjoy in a book as it helps me to connect with it more. The only downside that I had was that I was a bit disappointed with the ending and was hoping a certain someone would get their comeuppance. However, being that I enjoyed the fact the storyline was realistic I also appreciate the fact that life doesnt always go the way we hoped for.


A fantastic and addictive plot which I enjoyed sinking my teeth into and that kept me turning the pages.


The characters were all strong and realistic and I was invested in both Cath and Rebecca. I really liked both of the main characters and felt sorry for them both at certain times and yet at others I could have shouted at them. My heart really went out to Rebecca as a mother myself for the position she was in and I hope to God every day that I'm never in the position to worry about where my children will sleep the next day. However, the fact that she originally chose to do one thing over another did annoy me as although I could understand she wanted one thing it shouldn't be at another person's demise. I won't say more than that as I don't want to spoil anything. I had mixed feelings about Robin from the start and questioned some of the things he was telling Cath. It's hard to say too much of how I feel about any of the characters without giving too much away. I really liked Sandy from the start and I would have loved to see what happened with him and someone in the end. Regardless of how I felt about each character they all worked perfectly together to make this book a page turner.


Overall a unique storyline filled with secrets and twists that will keep you turning the pages.


Genres covered in this novel include Literary Fiction, Psychological Fiction, Contemporary Fiction, Crime Fiction, Domestic Fiction, Women's Saga, Women's Psychological Fiction and Women's Crime Fiction amongst others.


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as anyone looking for a unique read full of secrets and twists.


319 pages.


This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle via Amazon or free on kindle unlimited (at time of review) which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 4/5 (I enjoyed it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@KerryFisher @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86











About the author:

Kerry Fisher is an internationally bestselling author of women's contemporary fiction, including The Woman I Was Before, The Silent Wife (USA Today bestseller) and Other People's Marriages, as well as a non-fiction memoir, Take My Hand. She was born in Peterborough, studied French and Italian at the University of Bath and spent many years living in Spain, Italy and France. After returning to England to work as a journalist, she eventually abandoned real life stories for the secrets of fictional families. She now lives in Surrey with her husband, with an intermittent empty nest as her two young adult children come and go.

You can see Kerry Fisher interviewed here: https://bit.ly/2Ycw4Z9

Best advice ever received: 'This is fiction, we can skip the boring bits.' Lynn Hightower, UCLA Writers' Program.

Mantra in life: Good times will come again.

Author social media:

Twitter: @KerryFSwayne



Instagram: @kerryfisherwrites





Buy link:






19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page