top of page

The Woman At Number 6 by Matthew Farrell. Review


Book Description


The Women at Number 6: A gripping psychological thriller with a killer twist by Matthew Farrell

A loyal wife. A handsome husband. Which one of them will kill to keep their secret? When I first met Malcolm, I knew that he was everything I had ever wanted. When we had our beautiful, blue-eyed son Finn I felt like my life was finally complete. The past eight years have been the happiest of my life. Until now. Because Malcolm’s been lying to me. I’ve been following him. I finally saw him with her. How could he betray me and my darling boy? Of course, we all have our secrets. But everything I’ve done, I did for my son. So I have a plan. When the police knock on our door tomorrow morning, Malcolm will have no clue what’s in store. All I need to do is pick up Finn and we can start our new life together. But I don’t notice the car tailing me. The sudden crushing impact takes my breath away. As my heart pounds and my car is forced towards the rushing river below, my only thought is for my precious Finn. Because I know with certainty that if this is happening to me, then he’s in grave danger too… Did Malcolm know what I was planning after all? Is this his revenge? Or worse, have my own secrets and lies finally caught up with me—and has my time finally run out? The Woman at Number 6 is a totally twisty and gripping psychological thriller that will have you wondering who to trust and turning the pages well into the night! Fans of Gone Girl, The Couple Next Door and T.M. Logan will be totally hooked.


BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'The Woman At Number 6' by Matthew Farrell.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Matthew Farrell, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 26th April 2023.


This is the first book I have read by this author.

I was originally drawn to this book by its eye catching cover and its intriguing synopsis and title. The synopsis stated that 'The Woman at Number 6 is a totally twisty and gripping psychological thriller that will have you wondering who to trust and turning the pages well into the night! Fans of Gone Girl, The Couple Next Door and T.M. Logan will be totally hooked. ' I am a MASSIVE fan of Gone Girl so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of a prologue 72 and is set over 20 days. The chapters are short to medium in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in Manhattan, USA.



This book is written in third person perspective and the main protagonist is Tracy Colan, Malcolm Colan, Missy Rollins Detective Dennis Taft, Detective Kelly Evans and Kat. The benefits of third person perspective are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything.


This book is fantastically written with vivid descriptions that absolutely grip the readers attention and puts them right in the middle of it all feeling the hair raise on your arms and feeling the sweat run down your back.


This book is an intriguing psychological thriller that will keep you turning the pages from the start. I ended up reading it in one sitting of several hours. Matthew does a fantastic job of weaving the chapters from the different characters perspectives perfectly so we start slowly getting a picture of what is going on and what happened but he doesn't give too much away to spoil it for readers. This is one of those books that will continuously keep you guessing throughout while suspecting each and every character. I didn't work out who was doing what so a HUGE well done to Matthew as after reading hundreds of crime books it is getting harder and harder to surprise me but you managed to do it especially when it came to the mega twist at the end!! You absolutely blew my mind with that one!! This book is definitely a rollercoaster ride of suspense, shock, twists, turns, family, secrets, mystery , crime and so, so much more that it will keep you on the edge of your seat throughout! It is very fast paced and every time I said I would just read one more chapter that chapter ended in a way that there was no chance I could put it down so I read one more and then another and another until before I knew it I had come to the explosive ending!! It really is an intriguing, chilling, suspenseful and action packed psychological thriller that will keep you guessing throughout!!



It is set over multiple time lines. When books show what has happened in the past and what is happening in the present I find it really helps the reader (if it is well done) understand why things are happening and what has lead to the present activities and decisions. It also shows the bigger picture.



Make sure you read to the very end of the book to read the first two chapters of Matthews's 'The Perfect Mother' which promises to be just as good as this book and I look forward to reading it!



Overall an intriguing chilling and complex psychological thriller that will keep you hooked and guessing throughout.



Genres covered in this novel include Crime Thriller. Domestic Fiction, Serial Killers, Women Writers & Fiction, Suspense Thriller, ,Mystery, Thriller, Suspense, Domestic Thriller, Contemporary Fiction, Psychological Thriller, Domestic Suspense, Kidnapping Crime Fiction, and Psychological Fiction amongst others.



I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Gone Girl, The Couple Next Door, T.M. Logan', The Girl on the Train', Lisa Jewell, K.L. Slater, Jackie Kabler Shari Lapena, Catherine Cooper, Lucy Foxley, Ruth Ware, Clare Mackintosh and Alice Feeney.


384 pages


This book is just 99p to purchase on kindle, free with kindle unlimited and £9.99 in paperback (at time of review) via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 4 /5 (I enjoyed it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews



@TheWomanAtNumber6 @MatthewFarrell @Bookouture @BookoutureAnonymous @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Netgalley @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger @KindleUnlimited











Author Bio


Matthew Farrell is the Washington Post and Amazon Charts bestselling author of the Adler & Dwyer thriller series. He lives just outside of New York City in the Hudson Valley with his wife and two daughters and is currently at work on his next novel



Social media Links


Twitter: @mfarrellwriter


Facebook: Matthew Farrell Books


Instagram: mfarrellwriter


Tik Tok: @mfarrellwriter





Buy link




2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page