top of page

'The Wife Next Door' by Rona Halsall

Updated: Oct 19, 2022

Author: Rona Halsall


Book: The Wife Next Door


Publication Day: Oct 12th 2022


Description:


It was meant to be the perfect break-up…


Just because it’s over between us, doesn’t mean we can’t be friends. My ex-husband and I still care for each other a lot, and we are determined to put our sweet little boy, Toby first.


Now we’ve moved into houses right next door to each other, with each of our new partners and their children. We’ve even knocked down the garden fence, so Toby can easily run between our homes.


But it seems not everyone is happy about this big, blended stepfamily. I try to ignore the viciously-worded note in the ‘new home’ card, the red pen scrawled through my divorce paperwork, and the day I find myself locked into my house, all the keys suddenly missing…


But I can’t pretend it’s all in my head when a false accusation is made against me that could destroy my life – and Toby’s – forever.


Someone doesn’t like what’s happening under these two neighbouring roofs.


What they don’t know is that they’re messing with the wrong person. And that hell hath no fury like the wife next door…


A completely unputdownable, jaw-on-the-floor psychological thriller for fans of Girl on the Train, Gone Girl and The Couple at No.9.





BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'The Wife Next Door' by Rona Halsall.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Rona Halsall, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 12th October 2022.


This is the fifth book I have read by this author. I have previously read 'Her Mother's Lies', The Ex Boyfriend', 'The Guest Room' and 'The Liar's Daughter' and highly recommend them all.


I was originally drawn to this book by its eye catching cover and its intriguing synopsis. I am also a huge fan of Rona's previous books and if this is half as good as her previous books it is sure to be great. It also stated in the synopsis that this book is 'A completely unputdownable, jaw-on-the-floor psychological thriller for fans of Girl on the Train, Gone Girl and The Couple at No.9'. I am a huge fan of 'Gone Girl' so am looking forward to see if it lives up to this. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of a prologue and 49 chapters. The chapters are short to medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based Peel on the Isle Of Man 🇮🇲


This book is written in third person perspective with the main protagonists being Jess. The benefits of third person perspective especially with multiple protagonists are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything.


It is set over multiple time lines. When books show what has happened in the past and what is happening in the present I find it really helps the reader (if it is well done) understand why things are happening and what has lead to the present activities and decisions. It also shows the bigger picture.


Wow!!!! Well done Rona on another amazing success!!! An absolutely fantastic unputdownable psychological thriller. Extremely well written as are all Rona's books I have previously read with vivid descriptions that absorb you into the storyline.


The storyline is chillingly realistic and it kept me on the edge of my seat and then in the edge of my bed until late at night as I just could not out it down!!! I loved that at the end of the book we get to read from the culprit's perspective ensuring that everything was explained and the reader missed absolutely nothing. I really enjoyed trying to work out who was trying to destroy Jess's life along with Jess and it got to the point that I suspected everyone which even included Jess herself!! I was wondering whether she may have mental health issues and was doing it herself. Was she? Was it someone else? To find out you'll have to pick up a copy yourself but I'm telling you one thing, I got it completely wrong!! Why I was surprised that I couldn't guess right considering this is Rona's book I have no idea considering she blows my mind every single time!! Well done Rona yet again as I am getting harder and harder to shock but you definitely managed it (as always) !! I was captivated throughout and the storyline was absolutely rammed with secrets, loss, love, desceiot, suspense, tension and red herrings all the way up until the very perfect ending.


The characters were also very realistic and I enjoyed getting to know each of them and loved finding out about their true stories. I did feel sorry for Jess as nobody seemed to believe what she was going through. However, unfortunately I really can't go into any more detail as I don't want to spoil it for future reader. I am glad that the storyline had the culprit's point of view at the end and that the reasons the characters did what they did was all explained later on.


Congratulations Rona on what promises to be another HUGE success and for, yet again, manage to shock me when many fail. This would make an epic movie and I look forward to your next novel.



Overall an addictive, page turning psychological thriller that will shock you!!


Genres covered in this book include Women's Psychological Fiction, Mystery, Thriller, Psychological Fiction, Domestic Fiction, Suspense and Psychological Thriller amongst others.



I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of 'The Girl on The Train', Lisa Jewell, 'The Family Upstairs', Mark Edwards, 'Gone Girl', 'Gone Girl', 'The Couple at No.9' and any fans of Rona Halsall and those who enjoy a surprise twist.



290 pages.


This book is just 99p to purchase on kindle, free on kindle unlimited and £7.99 in paperback via Amazon, at time of review, which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@RonaHalsall @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86









Author Bio:



Rona is the author of Best Selling psychological thrillers published by Bookouture. She loves a puzzle to solve, so now she writes them... her challenge is to find domestic storylines with twists that keep her readers guessing right to the end.


She has been a bit of a nomad during her adult life, moving around the north of England. Then she settled in Snowdonia, North Wales where she brought up her family while working as a business mentor. She now lives on the Isle of Man with her husband and two dogs.


She is an outdoorsy person and loves stomping up a mountain, walking the coastal paths and exploring the wonderful glens and beaches on the Island while she's plotting her next book. She has three children and two step-children who are all grown up and leading varied and interesting lives, which provides plenty of ideas for new stories.



Social Media Links:


Website: www.facebook.com/RonaHalsallAuthor


Twitter: @RonaHalsallAuth




Bookouture Email Sign Up: https://www.bookouture.com/rona-halsall





Purchase Link









6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page