top of page

The Wife In The Photo by Emily Shiner. Review

Updated: Sep 9, 2023


Book Description:


I pick up the photograph from their mantlepiece and carefully wipe away the dust. The beautiful wife. Supposedly happily married and enjoying a family vacation. I know her husband killed her. And I’m going to make him pay…


This is my first job as a housekeeper, but Evan Warner doesn’t need to know that. It’s the first of many lies I’ll tell him. He just lost his wife, Lola, and now he and his young daughter Jessica are adrift. But no amount of cleaning will rid this house of the secrets that have seeped into the cracks. I never forgave Lola for what she did to me. But I can’t let Evan get away with her murder.


In their impressive home, I busy myself preparing meals and peeking at carelessly discarded mail, looking for proof of his crimes. Evan hovers and I’m sure he is watching me… even as I bond with Jessica. But whenever he catches us alone together, his face darkens. I realize I have to get her out of this house before it’s too late for her, too.


Then I find Lola’s diary, tucked away in a closet out of sight. Her words, hastily scrawled on these pages, change everything I thought I knew about this family. As I hear footsteps on the stairs, I know I’m trapped. And I’m in more danger now than ever before…


The Wife in the Photo is a totally twisty psychological thriller guaranteed to keep you up all night. Fans of Freida McFadden, Gone Girl and The Couple Next Door will find it impossible to put down.




BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'The Wife In The Photo' by Emily Shiner.


Read and reviewed for Bookouture, Bookouture Anonymous NetGalley, Emily Shiner and Bookouture Audiobooks.


Publication date 7th September 2023.


This is the fourth book I have read by this author. I have also read 'The Caretaker', 'You Can't Hide', 'Her Husband's Secret's and 'I'm Following You' which I would highly recommend.



This novel consists of a prologue and 56 chapters.. The chapters are short to medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!




Emily does it yet again!! I genuinely dont think she can make a book that I don't love!! Love, love, loved this book!!!! Absolutely gripping edge of your seat page turner!!!



This book is extremely well written with vivid descriptions that really set the scene and put you in the storyline. The cover and synopsis suit the book perfectly.


The storyline was captivating and addictive from the first page until the last and I was completely invested in it. It was absolutely rammed full of lies, secrets, tension, twists, suspense and everything you could ask for in a page turning psychological thriller. I just could not stop listening to this absolutely addictive audiobook from the first word to the last. Emily's extremely talented and evocative skills along with Kate and Todd's incredible narratives really brought the book to life and I was completely absorbed throughout. I lost count of the amount of times I promised myself one more chapter but that one finished in a way I just HAD to know what would happen next so I said just more and this went on and on until I ended up finishing it in one sitting!!! It was absolutely ram packed with mystery, revenge, secrets, deceit, turns, mind blowing explosive twists, consequences, tension, suspense, and absolutely everything you could ask for in a psychological thriller. I absolutely love Emily's books and am guaranteed to be shocked every time I pick one up which is not an easy feat considering how many books I read a year so a HUGE CONGRATULATIONS Emily!!! One of the things I love about her books is that they can also be quite thought provoking and always end with MASSIVE BOMBSHELLS that I absolutely love and never do see coming. Emily's evocative writing drags you deep into the storyline from the first sentence to the very last and will keep you up until the very last word! THAT ladies and gentleman is a true sign of an absolute must read. I absolutely loved the ending which was definitely an unexpected twist which is just one of the reasons I love Emily's books, she manages to get me every single time!! I've said it before about Emily's books and I shall say it again!! I would absolutely LOVE to see this turned into a movie and would wait up all night to get tickets to watch it!!


I hope your busy writing your next book Emily as I just cannot wait to see what bombshell twist and explosive storyline you have up your sleeve for us next!!!!


This is one of the few books that I have listened to 100% on Audiobook. If I listen to a book on audiobook I usually also read the physical book between but for the second time I listened to the whole book and I was impressed! I must say a HUGE congratulations to the narrators Kate Handford and Todd Kramer who both did an amazing job bringing this story and the characters to life. I have previously listened to 'Best Friend's Forever' by Shannon Hollinger and 'Local Girl Missing' by Lisa Regan that were all also narrated by Kate Handford and I would highly recommend listening to or reading them all as it they re other fantastic page turners from other great authors!! I would listen to it in the car and while walking at any opportunity. I'm not only looking forward to reading more books by Emily but also to listening to more books narrated by both Kate and Todd!



Do not start this book until you have cleared your schedules as you will not be able to put it down!!


The characters were all realistic and strong and I was completely invested in them throughout. I love the fact that we got to see what was happening from the points of view from all of the three main characters Evan, Ariel and Jessica and to know why they were doing what they were and how they were feeling throughout. There are also chapters from Lola and Jessica's diaries which give an even larger picture of what is going on. Emily weaves all of the chapters and diary entries together with perfect timing until it all comes together with an explosive BANG!! It also explains absolutely everything which leaves no question unanswered at the end which is a pet hate of mine!! This also really helps the reader understand them more making them more realistic to the reader. My heart went out to Ariel who was just trying to work out what had really happened to Lola and what is going on behind the closed doors. All of the characters were multi layered with complex personalities which definitely made them all the more interesting to read about!!! Unfortunately, I really can not say anymore as I don't want to spoil it for future readers. I had no idea who to trust, what was really going on or where it was all leading which just goes to show what a talented author Emily is and I cannot wait to get hooked into her next psychological thriller 'The Hotel' You will just have to pick up your copy to find out who is right, who was wrong and what happens to them all and trust me you will not regret it!!! Regardless of what I thought about who, each character worked perfectly to make this page turning psychological thriller!!!




Congratulations Emily on yet ANOTHER huge success. This is why you are in my favourite 5 authors list!! Here's to your next success 🥂!!


Make sure you read to the very end of the book to read the prologue of Emily's ' The Hotel' which promises to be just as addictive as this book and is one I'm definitely looking forward to reading myself. Keep your eyes peeled for my review of it coming soon!!



Overall an absolutely unputdownable, action packed, intriguing psychological thriller that will keep you up at night on the edge of your seat with a pounding heart!!



296 pages/ 8 hours 23 minutes.


This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle, free with kindle unlimited, £39.37 for the audiobook, £7.99 for the audiobook with Audible and 8.99 in paperback via Amazon at time of review which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5/5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews




@TheWifeInThePhoto @EmilyShiner @Bookouture @BookoutureAnonymous @BookoutureBooks @Audible @Audiobook @BookoutureAudio @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger @Netgalley @KindleUnlimited











Author Bio:


Emily Shiner always dreamed of becoming an author. After spending years devouring stacks of thrillers, she decided to try her hand at writing them herself. Now she gets to live out her dream of writing novels and sharing her stories with people around the world. She lives in the Appalachian Mountains and loves hiking with her husband, daughter, and their two dogs.






Social Media Links






Sign up to be the first to hear about new releases from Emily Shiner here: https://bookouture.com/subscribe/emily-shiner/




Purchase Link:



Audio:





You can sign up for all the best Bookouture deals you'll love at: http://ow.ly/Fkiz30lnzdo





0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page