top of page

'The Wife' by Shalini Boland

Book Description:


Zoe fainted on her wedding day, and she never knew why. She’s always felt sure something bad happened. Ten years later, she’s going to find out what…


It was supposed to be the happiest day of her life. Zoe was sitting in her hotel room, in her perfect white dress, looking forward to the moment when she would make kind, handsome Toby her husband.


Then, there was a blank.


They said she must have fainted, overcome with emotion. But nothing felt quite right afterwards. Did something happen in that missing time?


Now, Toby and Zoe have two beautiful children and a perfect life. They’re planning their ten-year anniversary party for their family and friends. The invitations have been sent, the food ordered. They’re going back to the grand hotel where they got married.


But as the anniversary gets closer, it becomes clear not everyone is looking forward to celebrating. Zoe catches Toby lying about where he’s been. One of her best friends seems to be ignoring her. And someone is spreading stories that might stop the party from happening at all.


Zoe is increasingly sure that she doesn’t have the full story. But does she want to know the truth, if it will destroy everything?


From the million-copy bestselling author, this totally gripping psychological thriller will have you hooked from the first page to the last jaw-dropping twist. Perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train, Gone Girl and The Wife Between Us.





BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'The Wife' by Shalini Boland


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 9th September 2020


This is the third book that I have read by this author. I absolutely loved the other two I read which were 'The Other Daughter' and 'One Of Us Is Lying'. I gave both 5 stars and hoping this will be the same (written before I started this book).


I was originally drawn to this book by its colourful cover and intriguing blurb plus the fact that I have yet to read a bad book by this author and she is on my top author list which definitely helps!! I must admit I was also biased due to the author being Shalini Boland publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture or written by Shalini that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! If I needed another reason there is also the fact that it states it is perfect for fans of 'Gone Girl' which I also enjoyed so fingers crossed it lives up to my high expectations!!! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of a prologue, 35 chapters and an epilogue which are short to medium in length so ideal to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is written in first person perspective with the protagonist being Zoe. I enjoy books written in first person perspective as as long as they are well written it makes you feel that you are being spoken to by the protagonist and it can create more of a bond between yourselves and them.


This book is based in in Dorset, England, UK. I love books set in the UK as I live in Wales, UK and sometimes I have been to the places mentioned so I 'see' it more clearly when reading. Considering I've been to Dorset many times and am actually going again in less than 2 weeks reading this book now is perfect timing! I have actually visited Shaftesbury, where the book is based, several times already.


Wow!! Where to even start?!? Firstly I must say yet again I was NOT disappointed by the very talented Shalini Boland!!! I started reading this book this morning and finished it in a day.


Absolutely gripping storyline which I got completely sucked into. A great unputdownable page turner filled with suspense, deceit, mystery, love and lies. I loved the storyline, especially the shocking plots that I would never have seen coming! Not just one either!! There's nothing worse than when you have worked everything out and your not even half way through a book so a massive well done for that!!


The book contains 3 different timelines which run smoothly with the storyline and the book itself is very well written and filled with great descriptions. I enjoyed the fact that it went back and forth in time as it gives a bigger picture and what led up to what leaving all questions answered. Again, I really get put off a book when they include plots but leave things unravelled. I really enjoyed that several chapters ended on cliffhangers even though it kept me up most of the night!!!


The characters were all well rounded and realistic and I really felt like I bonded with Zoe, going through the many different emotions she must have felt, like a roller coaster ride.


A HUGE CONGRATULATIONS to Shalini Boland for another absolutely fantastic success!! I cannot wait to read more of your amazing work!!


Overall a page turning, epic psychological thriller that will keep you thinking about it long after you have finished. I would love to see this turned into a film.


Genres covered include Thriller, Mystery, Psychological thriller,


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as ANYONE looking for a page turning and gripping novel.


292 pages.


This book is 99p to purchase on kindle via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5/5 (I LOVED IT!!!! ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@ShaliniBoland @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86


https://kcmw86.wixsite.com/bookworm86


https://m.facebook.com/Bookworm1986/?ref=bookmarks


https://m.facebook.com/Bookwork86/?__tn__=%2As-R





Author Bio:


Shalini lives by the sea in Dorset, England with her husband, two children and their cheeky terrier cross. Before kids, she was signed to Universal Music Publishing as a singer/songwriter, but now she spends her days writing psychological thrillers (in between school runs and sorting endless baskets of laundry).


http://www.facebook.com/ShaliniBolandAuthor

http://www.shaliniboland.co.uk

https://twitter.com/ShaliniBoland





Buy Links:


Amazon: https://bit.ly/2QOWjOB

Apple: https://apple.co/336FRR1

Kobo: https://bit.ly/2X3KbfW

Google: https://bit.ly/310OERO


12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page