top of page

'The Widows Husband' by Lesley Sanderson


Book: The Widow’s Husband

Author: Lesley Sanderson

Pub Day: April 21st 2022


About the Book:


For seven years I believed my husband was dead – until the note arrived this morning… The day her husband Tom disappeared, Rachel’s life fell apart. Childhood sweethearts with two young children, they’d done everything together. And then, suddenly, Tom was gone. Without a word, without a note, without a single sign of where he might be, leaving Rachel to survive alone. Now, nearly seven years later, Rachel has come to terms with life as a single mother, caring for their children who still secretly long for their father’s miraculous return. But in his absence, Tom’s hidden life started to emerge, and Rachel has discovered things a wife should never have to. A secret life that betrayed everything Rachel thought she knew. Not knowing where he’d gone was no longer the main worry keeping her awake at night – it seemed much more likely he’d been silenced. Forever. Until today, when – with just one month until Tom is to be declared legally dead – Rachel receives a note in handwriting she recognises with dread: My darling, I’ve missed you so much. Give me a chance to explain. I’m coming home. The husband she’d lost is alive. And so are all his secrets… A totally addictive and suspenseful thriller that will have you reading late into the night, perfect for fans of Shari Lapena, T.M. Logan and Lisa Jewell.




BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'The Widow's Husband' by Lesley Sanderson.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Lesley Sanderson, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 21st April 2022.


This is the second book I have read by this author. I have previously read 'Every Little Lie' which I would highly recommend.


I was originally drawn to this book by its eye catching cover and intriguing sounding synopsis and title. I am a huge fan of Lesley and if this is half as good as 'Every Little Lie' it is guaranteed to be a page turner. The synopsis stated that this book is 'A totally addictive and suspenseful thriller that will have you reading late into the night, perfect for fans of Shari Lapena, T.M. Logan and Lisa Jewell.' I am a huge fan of all three of those authors so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of a prologue and 44 chapters. The chapters are short to medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in the UK 🇬🇧. I always enjoy when books are set in the UK as I'm from Wales and have sometimes visited areas mentioned in the book.


This book is written in third person perspective and the main protagonists are Rachel, Tom and Heidi. The benefits of third person perspective with multiple protagonists are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything.


Well done Lesley on yet another fantastic page turner!!! What an absolutely gripping heart racing story!!!


This book is extremely well written with vivid descriptions leaving your heart racing and hands sweating while your standing by Rachel, Tom and Heidi throughout!!! The cover, synopsis and title suit the book perfectly.


The storyline is absolutely captivating and evocative!! It is filled with lies, love, secrets, family, tension and suspense from the first page until the last. Once I started this I just could not put it down and couldn't go to sleep until I had finished it!! It all starts with a note through the door and the events explode from there. I had my suspicions about what may be going on but I certainly didn't expect what had actually happened!!! I won't say too much as I don't want to spoil it for future readers. It is truly captivating and page turning so if you are about to start this book make sure you clear your schedule as once you've start you won't be able to stop. Every chapter makes you want to start the next one and then the next as each ends on the perfect spot to make you want to carry on. This book would make an absolutely amazing movie!!!



It is set over/includes multiple time lines. When books show what has happened in the past and what is happening in the present I find it really helps the reader (if it is well done) understand why things are happening and what has lead to the present activities and decisions. It also shows the bigger picture.


The characters are all vivid, strong and realistic and I became invested in each of them as each move every one made left you on edge. I really felt for Rachel as she struggled with everything that was going on in the present and what had happened in the past, as a mother of three myself it must have been so hard for her especially with a tween to look after too. I couldn't stand Heidi from the moment I met her and found her to be truly selfish and despicable. My heart truly went out to Laura and Josh who were just innocent children caught up in an adults world. Tom doesn't get any sympathy from me as he was absolutely dispicable although I will admit that he did look after his family when many wouldn't but then again why should a father get praise for something he should do anyway? However I don't think he deserved what happened to him. The other main character is Freddie but I won't say anything about him or anymore on the others as I don't want to give too much away so you'll just have to pick up a copy and let me know your thoughts. Regardless of whether you love or hate the characters they all come together perfectly to make this storyline as addictive as it is.


Congratulations Leslie on yet another absolutely amazing book which I can guarantee will be a HUGE success. This is why your in my favourite author list. I am looking forward to reading more of your previous and have added them all onto my wish list!!! Here's to more future successes 🥂!!


Overall a very fast pace, gripping, unputdownable psychological thriller that will leave you on the edge of your seat with a pounding heart!!!



Genres covered in this book include Thriller, Psychological Thriller, Suspense, Psychological Fiction and Domestic Fiction amongst others.



I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of K.L. Slater, T.M. Logan, Shari Lapena and Lisa Jewell.



277 pages.


This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@LesleySanderson @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86











Author Bio


Lesley attended the Curtis Brown Creative 6 month novel writing course in 2015/6, and in 2017 The Orchid Girls (then On The Edge) was shortlisted for the Lucy Cavendish fiction prize.

Lesley is the author pf three psychological thrillers: The Orchid Girls, The Woman at 46 Heath Street and The Leaving Party.

Lesley spends her days writing in coffee shops in Kings Cross where she lives and works as a librarian. She loves the atmosphere and eclectic mix of people in the area. Lesley discovered Patricia Highsmith as a teenager and has been hooked on psychological thrillers ever since.

Social Media








Buy Links:








15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page