top of page

The Weekend Trip by Joanna Bolouri. Review


The Weekend Trip: A totally uplifting and heart-warming romantic comedy by Joanna Bolouri




Book Description


Five old friends. Two new partners. One big problem…


In Erin’s beachfront home in Ireland, I blink at my former best friends and laugh. Is it awkward we haven’t seen each other in ten years and nobody really knows why? Yes. So I pull out the champagne with a flourish and start blasting our old playlist. It’s a reunion weekend, after all…


But it’s not long before my determination to have fun starts to fizzle. Perhaps inviting new partners was a mistake. I’m already exhausted by Becky’s new girlfriend, and Beth’s husband is trying too hard with the compliments. No, I’m not trying out a “cool silver highlights” look. It’s a grey hair.


Still, at least the others have partners. The most exciting romantic development I can report is a quick flirt with a handsome stranger on the plane over.Even flighty, non-committal Tara is bringing someone. But if that wasn’t surprising enough, I could never have anticipated Tara’s ‘someone’ would be the man from my flight.


If things weren’t already awkward, they certainly are now…


The weekend was meant to finally bring us all back together. But will this reunion only push us further apart?


A hilarious and uplifting page-turner about the power (and pitfalls) of friendship and romance. Fans of rom-coms by Sophie Kinsella, Marian Keyes and Mhairi McFarlane will devour this laugh-out-loud tale.


 



BLOG TOUR REVIEW



Review for 'The Weekend Trip' by Joanna Bolouri.



Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Joanna Bolouri, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous



Publication date 7th August 2023



This is the first book I have read by this author but it most definitely won't be my last!!!



This novel consists of a prologue and 45 chapters. The chapters are short to medium in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!



Wow!! Check out this absolutely laugh out loud perfect summer read!!!


This book is beautifully written with vivid descriptions and stunning surroundings I was absolutely captivated throughout. The cover and the synopsis work perfectly with the storyline.


I absolutely loved this absolutely fantastic and hilarious feel good book! Joanna's evocative writing skills ensures the reader disappears into the storyline with the are and characters coming ito life all around you. She leaves you smelling the sea air, feeling the sun on your skin and leaves you with a smile on your face and feeling much lighter and happier than before you started. It is one of those books that are rammed with feel good moments, laughter fun, friendship and absolutely everything that you could ever want in an addictive must read! The storyline is realistic and down to earth and the setting is picturesque. I was absolutely sucked in from the first to the last page of this laugh out loud feel good page turner. On several occasions I had to remind myself I was actually in the house and not on a holiday in Ireland as I was that lost in the storyline!! It is one of those books that I just could not put down and I ended up walking around with my kindle glued to my hands. Every time I thought I will just read one more chapter and then get on with some chores it ended in a way that there was no way I could leave it there so I had to read another and then the same happened until I very sadly came to the last page and its absolutely fantastic ending. I genuinely felt like I was on holidays and I was devastated when I came to the end and realised I'd have to pack my suitcase to leave gorgeous Ireland and return to rainy Wales after a stunning getaway. I am hoping she is busy writing her next book and I'm looking forward to escaping into more of her past and future successes!!! Each and every one of the characters are strong and realistic and thanks to Joanna's evocative writing skills they all came to life, jumping of the pages and sucking me deep into their lives. Whether I loved them or hated them they all came together to make a perfect story.


A stunning story of friendship, romance,laughter and so much more!! I absolutely love, love, LOVED it!! Grab the tissues ready for the tears of laughter and emotions and get stuck into this beautiful story of 5 friends meeting up after 10 years apart 💜


The characters are all realistic, a mix of strong personalities, memorable and larger than life. I loved watching the different interactions between Alex, Erin, Beth, Tara and Becky. They had completely different personalities but they compliment each other perfectly. There were so many characters that I also loved and are going to stay in my mind for a long time. Each of the characters had completely different personalities and I absolutely LOVED IT!! All of these characters and more make this an unforgettable, stunning book that will have you laughing, swooning, smiling and so much more!! They all came to life before my eyes and I am really hoping we get to meet them all again!!!




Joanna congratulations on an absolutely fantastic novel and welcome to my top author list. Your book is a page turning laugh out loud and soul lifting success and I cannot wait to get stuck into more of your books!


Make sure you read to the very end of the book to read the first chapter of Joanna's 'Bootcamp For Broken Hearts' which promises to be just as brilliant as this book and is one I'm definitely looking forward to reading myself!!


Overall an absolutely gorgeous book that will lift your heart and spirit. A page turning, addictive compelling novel that will leave you wanting more



300 pages.


This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle, free with kindle unlimited and £8.99 in paperback via Amazon,at time of review, which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews





@TheWeekendTrip @JoannaBolouri @Bookouture @BookoutureAnonymous @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Netgalley @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger @KindleUnlimited


























Author Bio

 

Joanna Bolouri worked in sales before she began writing professionally at the age of thirty. Winning a BBC comedy script competition allowed her to work and write with stand-up comedians, comedy scriptwriters and actors from across the UK. She's had articles and reviews published in The Scotsman, The Skinny, The Scottish Sun, Huffington Post and HecklerSpray.

She lives in Glasgow with her daughter.

 




Social Media Links

 

Twitter: @scribbles78


 

 


Purchase link:



 







1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page