top of page

The Weekend Away by Miranda Smith. Review.



Book Description:


My sister died. Her friends lied. And now I’m going to learn the truth…


A year ago, my twin sister Samantha left me a message: I need you.


A day later, she was dead. I always knew it was suspicious, but no one would listen.


But I’ve just found her journal, tucked into a hidden space in the window seat of our childhood bedroom. It shows who her best friends really are: the fraud. The liar. The cheat. The crush.


Now, they’re all together on a weekend away, in a beautiful wood-panelled cabin in the mountain. And I’m going too. One of them killed her, and I’m going to prove it.


But am I ready for the answers I’m seeking? Because I soon realize that my sister had dark secrets too…


And when fire breaks out on the mountain, leaving us trapped, I must decide: what will I risk to get justice for Samantha? Because finding the truth might cost me my life…


An absolutely compulsive thriller that will have your pulse racing as you flip through the pages at speed. If you like The Hunting Party, Ruth Ware and The Summer House, you’ll love The Weekend Away!





BLOG TOUR REVIEW



Review for 'The Weekend Away' by Miranda Smith.



Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Miranda Smith, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous



Publication date 4th October 2023




This is the seventh book I have read by this author. I have previously read 'The One Before', 'The Killer's Family', 'His Loving Wife', 'The Family Home', 'Not My Mother' and 'The School Trip'. All of which I highly recommend.



This novel consists of a prologue and 58 chapters. The chapters are short to medium in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


'The Weekend Away' discusses some topics that may upset some readers or may not be suitable for others. I like to point this out ahead of time in my reviews so you can judge if this book is for you or not. In this book Miranda discusses death of a twin sister and $3*ua! @$$@u!t.


WHAT did I just read!!!! WOW!!! I mean seriously Wow!! I was NOT expecting that lot fairplay!!! This has GOT to start with a MASSIVE WELL DONE MIRANDA SMITH!!!! Ooops sorry, yes, needed a minute to get over that but I've just left you hanging there... Sorry.... Let me tell you more...



Firstly let's start off with the writing style, etc!! Yet another extremely well written book by this amazing author which had me hook line and sinker!!! It is so smoothly and beautifully written with vivid evocative descriptions I completely forgot I was even reading a book a few times. The blurb, title and cover really fit the storyline.



As you can tell I LOVED this unique storyline. I found it to be realistic, very fast paced and I read it in a day. I loved the setting and atmosphere and just well... Everything!!! Twists after shocks after turns!!! Arggghhh... Its so hard to NOT say anything about them as it will give too much away and spoilt it for future readers but it definitely left me speechless over and over!!! I have read hundreds of psychological books and I really do think this one is definitely in the top 10 when it comes to dropping bombshells. I am, in fact still shell shocked!! Just brilliant fairplay and all links in and wraps up perfectly!!! I cannot remember the last time I flew through a book so quickly. Each and every time I went to put it down to do something my fingers were itching to pick it back up as I just HAD to know what happened next!! Miranda's evocative writing skills ensures you are dragged deep into the storyline seeing everything that is happening and feeling the tension and suspense that Sienne and Troy are going through along with Samantha although Samantha was in the form of a diary. It is ram packed with twists, heartbreak, secrets, lies, loss, tension, stress, suspense and everything you could ask for in a psychological thriller. I have yet to come across a book by this amazing author that is yet to shock me and have me turning the pages until I devour her books in one sitting!! I can't say more than that as I don't want to spoil it for future readers so if you want to know you'll have to grab yourself a copy!! You won't regret it!!


This is one of the few books that I have listened 100% on Audiobook. If I listen to a book on audiobook I usually also read the physical book between but I listened to the whole book and I was impressed! I must say a HUGE congratulations to the narrator Madeline Pell who did a great job bringing this story to life. I would listen to it in the car and while walking at any opportunity!!! I'm not only looking forward to reading more books by Miranda but also to listening to more books narrated by Madeline! The only criticism I had with Madeline's narration was that there wasn't any attempt to make Troy's characters voice male which is a shame but it may be as she isn't confident in doing male voices yet so I am intrigued to see if she does any in the future.


THE plot throughout is rammed with suspense, romance, family, mystery, lies, surprises, tension and did I say surprises!!! Well done Miranda this is exactly the reason you are on my favourite author list!! I am looking forward to reading more of your books and when oh when is this going to be turned into the movie of the year!!! Gone Girl and many others have NOTHING on this one!!!



It is set over multiple time lines. When books show what has happened in the past and what is happening in the present I find it really helps the reader (if it is well done) understand why things are happening and what has lead to the present activities and decisions. It also shows the bigger picture.



Just like with the storyline the characters come to life with Miranda's evocative writing skills along with Madeline's fantastic narrative skills. They are well rounded, realistic and strong making them all the more believable. All the characters may have been realistic but they were not all likeable and this is one of those addictive books where you have no idea which characters are telling the truth or who you can and cannot trust. I was completely invested in Sienna and Troy who are the two main protagonists and they were the only two really who I actually liked. I normally struggle with books if I don't like alot of the characters but Miranda's fantastic storytelling skills means that I had no such problem reading this thriller! I won't go into more details about the characters as I don't want to risk giving anything away but yet again Miranda has done an amazing job constructing an addictive and explosive psychological thriller that you just won't be able to put down. Regardless whether you love or hate the characters each of them comes to life and had a part to play, which they did perfectly!!



Congratulations Miranda on yet another explosive success!!! This is why you are one of my favourite psychological thriller authors. Here's to many more successes 🥂!!!



Clear your schedules before picking this up as you will not be able to put it down!!!



Make sure you read to the very end of the book to read the prologue and the first chapters of Miranda's absolutely addictive 'Not My Mother' which is another explosive page turner and one I have read myself and would highly recommend!!


Overall an absolutely page turning, addictive, gripping and explosive must read that will leave you shocked!!!



310 pages / 8 hours 22 minutes via Audible.



This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle, free with kindle unlimited, £8.99 in paperback, £16 for the Audiobook with Audible (at time of review) via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!



Rated 5/5 (I loved it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.



Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews.






@TheWeekendAway @MirandaSmith @MadelinePell @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Netgalley @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger @KindleUnlimited @BookoutureAudio @Audible @Audiobook @KindleUnlimited




















Author Bio:


Miranda Smith writes psychological and domestic suspense. She is drawn to stories about ordinary people in extraordinary situations. Before completing her first novel, she worked as a newspaper staff writer and a secondary English teacher. She lives in East Tennessee with her husband and three young children.






Social Media Links






Sign up to be the first to hear about new releases from Miranda Smith here: https://www.bookouture.com/miranda-smith






Purchase Link



You can sign up for all the best Bookouture deals you'll love at: http://ow.ly/Fkiz30lnzdo








2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page