top of page

The Wedding Night by Clare Boyd. Review


The Wedding Night: An absolutely unputdownable family drama packed with secrets and suspense



Book Description


Whatever doubts I've had about my fiancé, I'm determined this will be the happiest day of my life. I smooth the expensive white silk of my perfect dress and retouch my make-up, trying to cover the dark circles under my eyes. But when I go to find my daughter, her room is empty. My beautiful girl has vanished.


My fiancé William is devastated as I force our guests to leave. My hands are shaking but as I stand amidst the wilting flowers and the discarded champagne glasses, I swear I’ll stop at nothing to find my daughter.


Crying in William’s arms, I try to remember that he just wants what is best for me. Even if Tess has been a difficult teenager, he’s loved her like his own, welcomed us into this beautiful home, the ivy-covered stone house nestled at the end of the tree-lined driveway.


Then my best friend tells me she saw Tess sobbing before the wedding. I thought I’d built a perfect new family for my little girl, but what if I’ve brought her into terrible danger? I remember the guest I only recognised from old photos. William swore it was all in the past. But was he lying?


I think about the unimaginable secret William told me and I swore to keep forever. Could Tess have found out? Will the truth help me find my daughter? Or will it break us all?


A totally unputdownable family drama about the secrets that lurk under the glossy surface of a perfect new life. Perfect for fans of Sally Hepworth, Liane Moriarty and Kerry Fisher.





BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'The Wedding Night' by Clare Boyd.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Clare Boyd, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture Anonymous.


Publication date 3rd July 2023.


This is the third book I have read by this author. I have also read 'The Pretty One' and 'The Villa' which I would definitely recommend.


This novel consists of a prologue and 88 chapters. The chapters are short in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!



Well done Clare on yet another addictive page turner!!!


The storyline is extremely powerful, addictive and eye opening. It was a very fast paced domestic thriller filled with suspense!! It started with a very chilling prologue and the pace kept getting faster and faster making it feel like the reader is on a rollercoaster ride!!! I couldn't read the book fast enough and was flipping the 'pages' until early in the morning. I was not expecting the explosive secrets that were scattered throughout !! A HUGE CONGRATULATIONS 👏 to Clare on that as it is getting harder and harder to surprise me with all the crime and psychological thrillers I have read but you managed it hook, line and sinkerI won't say any more than that as don't want to spoil it for future readers but I was absolutely shocked!! The atmosphere was absolutely stunning and I was gutted when I came to the end and realised I had to unpack my bags as I had genuinely set off to the the stunning Summerfield House and Surrey. It is ram packed with deceipt, Mystery, family, secrets, lies, drama , suspense, mind blowing surprises and everything you could want in a psychological thriller!! The characters are all solid and realistic with a large range of personalities!! Clare's evocative writing skills brings each of them to life making them jump out of the pages while you are swept away on this epic page turner!!!


Do not pick this up until you have cleared your schedules as you will not be able to put it down!!


Congratulations Clare on another fantastic page turner and here's to your next success 🥂


Make sure you read to the very end of the book to read the first two chapters of Clare's ''My Perfect Wife' which promises to be just as addictive as this book and is one I'm definitely looking forward to reading myself!!


Overall an unputdownable, rollercoaster of emotions that will keep you turning the pages until the end



441 pages.


This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle and £10.99 in paperback via Amazon (at time of review) which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5/5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews




@TheWeddingNight @ClareBoyd @Bookouture @BookoutureAnonymous @Netgalley @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger













About the author


Clare writes all her books in a little green shed at the bottom of the garden. Before becoming a writer, she enjoyed a career in television, as a researcher in documentaries and then as a script editor in drama at the BBC and Channel Four, where her love of storytelling took hold



Author social media









Buy links:













2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page