top of page

The Wedding Guest by Kathryn Croft


Book: The Wedding Guest


Author: Kathryn Croft


Pub Day: September 14th 2023



Book Description:


I’m lying to the man I’m about to marry. I’m not the woman he thinks I am. But my secret’s safe. Isn’t it?


I feel like the perfect bride as I drift across the beach towards my handsome new husband, the sand warm between my toes, my ivory slip wedding dress showing off my suntan. Today is the beginning of my new life. My dark past can no longer touch me.


When I reach my husband, we kiss against the perfect backdrop of the shimmering turquoise sea. The congregation clap and I turn to smile at them.


Then my smile freezes. I see him. Sitting there amongst my loved ones. An uninvited guest who knows the truth about me and the terrible thing that happened ten years ago. The man who won’t ever let me be happy.


And as he steps forward, asking for everyone’s attention, my legs buckle. I know he wants to destroy my perfect new life.


But how can I stop someone who will never let me go? And how far will I go to keep my secrets?



If you love Lisa Jewell, K.L. Slater and Daniel Hurst, you’ll love The Wedding Guest.



BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'The Wedding Guest' by Kathryn Croft.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Kathryn Croft, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 14th September 2023.


This is the third book I have read by this author. I have also read 'The Suspect' and 'The Lie' which I would also recommend.



This novel consists of 37 chapters and an epilogue. The chapters are short to medium in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


'The Wedding Guest' discusses some topics that may upset some readers or may not be suitable for others. I like to point this out ahead of time in my reviews so you can judge if this book is for you or not. In this book Kathryn discusses gaslighting, mental health, abuse and toxic relationships.



This book is fantastically written with vivid descriptions that absolutely grip the readers attention and puts them right in the middle of it all feeling the hair raise on your arms and feeling the sweat run down your back.


This book is an intriguing and engaging psychological thriller that will keep you turning the pages from the start. I ended up reading it in one sitting of several hours. Kathryn does a fantastic job of weaving the chapters from the past and present perfectly so we start slowly getting a picture of what is going on and what happened but she doesn't give too much away to spoil it for readers. This also helps build up the characterization from when Christian and Emily met at college to when they meet again many years later at Emily and Jeremy's wedding Kathryn does a fantastic job weaving the timelines together to create tension and suspense as we turn the pages. This is one of those books that will continuously keep you guessing throughout from the start untile the unexpected and explosive twist at the end which I never seen coming so a HUGE well done to Kathryn as after reading hundreds of crime books it is getting harder and harder to surprise me but you managed to do it especially when it came to the mega twist at the end!! You absolutely blew my mind with that one!! This book is definitely a rollercoaster ride of suspense, shock, twists, turns, family, secrets, mystery, tension, romance and so, so much more that it will keep you on the edge of your seat throughout! It is very fast paced and every time I said I would just read one more chapter that chapter ended in a way that there was no chance I could put it down so I read one more and then another and another until before I knew it I had come to the explosive ending!! It really is an intriguing, chilling, suspenseful and action packed psychological thriller that will keep you guessing throughout!!



It is set over multiple time lines. When books show what has happened in the past and what is happening in the present I find it really helps the reader (if it is well done) understand why things are happening and what has lead to the present activities and decisions. It also shows the bigger picture.


The characters are realistic, strong and each have their own unique personalities and I was completely invested in them. My heart went out to Emily who was in such a desperate and inescapable position by Christian that my heart was pounding along with her. Thanks to Kathryn's fantastic evocative writing skills each of the characters come to life in front of the readers eyes. The cat and mouse game between Emily and Christian had my heart in my throat and on the edge of my seat so many times I lost count!! Each of the characters are complex as are the dynamics between them and I enjoyed the character development throughout the book. I wont say anymore about them as I don't want to risk giving anything away. Regardless of whether you love or hate the characters they all jump out of the pages and play their parts perfectly. I am looking forward to reading more books by Kathryn and seeing what she comes up with next!



Make sure you read to the very end of the book to read the prologue and first chapter of Kathryn's 'The Girl With No Past' which is promising to be just as good as this book and I look forward to reading it!



Overall an intriguing chilling and complex psychological thriller that will keep you hooked and guessing throughout.



349 pages


This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle, free with kindle unlimited and £8.99 in paperback (at time of review) via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 4 /5 (I enjoyed it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews



@TheWeddingGuest @KathrynCroft @Bookouture @BookoutureAnonymous @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Netgalley @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger @KindleUnlimited












Author Bio


Kathryn is the bestselling author of ten psychological thrillers and to date she has sold over one million copies of her books. Her third book, The Girl With No Past spent over four weeks at number one in the Amazon UK chart, and she has also appeared on the Wall Street Journal's bestsellers list.


Kathryn writes full time and is now hard at work on her next book.


After twelve years living in London, she now lives in Guildford, Surrey, the place she grew up, with her husband, two children and two crazy cats.



Social Media Links








Purchase Link









1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page