top of page

The Wedding Day by Sue Watson. Review



Book Description:



The blushing bride. The handsome groom. A secret one of them will kill for…



It’s the day I’ve been dreaming about my whole life. As I glide down the flower-strewn aisle overlooking the Greek orange groves, in my pearl-encrusted ivory gown, I finally see my fiancé Nik. We look like the perfect couple, but not all fairy tales have happy endings…



Today is supposed to be the day of my dreams.



But I don’t see a single friend or family member. I’m surrounded by strangers.



I have been so excited to finally meet my fiancé’s family.



Then why do they turn their heads away as I walk down the aisle?



Now, as I say my vows, I gaze longingly into Nik’s eyes.



But instead of love, he looks through me, as if he can’t wait for this day to end…



And I suddenly have an awful feeling that I don’t know my fiancé at all.



But then again, he doesn’t truly know me either.



And by the time he finds out who I really am, it will be far too late. There’s only room for one happily-ever-after on this wedding day, and I’m determined to make it mine…



BLOG TOUR REVIEW 


Review for 'The Wedding Day' by Sue Watson. 


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Sue Watson,

Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous 


Publication date 17th May 2023


HAPPY PUBLICATION DAY SUE WATSON!!!!


This is the fifth book I have read by this author. I have previously read 'First Date', 'The New Wife', The Nursery and 'The Forever Home' which I highly recommend. 


I was originally drawn to this book by its beautiful eye catching cover and its intriguing synopsis and title. I am also a huge fan of Sue and if this is half as good as 'First Date', The Nursery, The New Wife or 'The Forever Home' it is sure to be a page turning read. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture  that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).

This novel consists of a prologue, 44 chapters and an epilogue. The chapters are short to medium in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is set in Corfu, Greece. 


This book is written in first person perspective and the main protagonist is Alice. The benefits of books written in first person perspective are as long as they are well written it makes you feel that you are being spoken to by the protagonist and it can create more of a bond between yourselves and them. 


OMG!!! SHUT THE FRONT DOOR!!! WHAT HAVE I JUST READ!?!?!? Sue Watson you are an absolute writing legend!!!


This book is fantastically written with vivid descriptions that absolutely grip the readers attention and puts them right in the middle of it all making your heart pound and you constantly second guessing. 


Another huge success by Sue!!! This book has got to be the most heart racing books I've read in a long time, if not ever!!! It had me hook, line and sinker from the first page and I could not put it down!!! Every time I said one more chapter it ended on a cliffhanger and I just had to know what was going on!!! This kept on happened over and over until before I knew it I had devoured the whole book in one sitting!! If you are going to read this then clear your day because it is truly unputdownable. I started this yesterday afternoon and finished it at approx 2am, read it in one sitting and although I'm knackered today it was 1000000% worth it!!!


Alice is struggling with her divorce finalisation along with her infertility which leads to alcohol which takes her down the path of more pain, forgetfulness and more. After an episode with her ex she picks herself up and heads to Corfu to try and get her head together. While she is on holiday she makes a best friend in Sylvie and falls for Nik. Alice's life seems to be coming together at last until her wedding day to Nik ends in an arrest and she realises things aren't quite picture perfect! Sue's evocative writing ensures you are whisked away to Corfu and left feeling the sun on your face and a warm breeze in your hair. I loved that you got to meet so many different characters and that there was such a a mix of personalities and so many suspects!!! It keeps you constantly guessing who did what!! 


It is filled with friendship, romance, lies, sun, love, secrets, twists, turns and everything you could want from a psychological thriller along with some MASSIVE BOMBSHELLS which will leave you absolutely shocked!!! I for one was NOT expecting that at all!!! The fact that there wasn't just one bombshell that shocked me, towards the end it was like a war one of them and I was absolutely blown away. My jaw literally hit the floor!!! I don't think I have ever been as gobsmacked as I have after reading this absolutely gripping page turner! This book is rammed with suspense and tension and will keep you biting your nails, on the edge of your seat with your heart pounding while your flipping the pages because you just cant stop. I hated coming to the ending and leaving Corfu as it was a lot warmer than Wales, didn't miss what was going on too much though 😆 Sue when are you getting this made into a movie so I can be the first in line for it!!! 



As previously mentioned there is such a large mix of characters which makes it a realistic read. All the characters were strong and realistic as well as hiding their own secrets. I was completely invested in each and every one of them and although there were several occasions where I was shouting and screaming at Alice for her naivety I was still rooting for her on every page. It's hard to say too much about the characters without giving anything away but I do want to say that Sue's fantastic descriptios and writing skills really did make them jump out of the page and come to life! I won't go into any more information about any of these characters or other ones as I really don't want to give anything away to future readers.



Make sure you read to the very end of the book to read the prologue and first two chapters of Sue's 'The Sister-In-Law'. I haven't read this yet but after reading these chapters I cannot wait to get my hands on a copy!! 


If you read one book on your life, make sure it is this!!!! I would love to see this turned into a movie and Sue I really hope you are working on your next psychological thriller at this moment because this book will go far!!!


A HUGE CONGRATULATIONS on what promises to be a MASSIVE success!!!


Overall an absolutely heart racing, nail biting, unputdownable psychological thriller with a bomb shell you will not see coming!!!


Genres covered in this novel include  Romantic Suspense,Thriller, Mystery, Suspense, Psychological Thriller,  Literary Fiction, Women's Domestic Life Fiction, Womens Psychological Fiction, Suspense Thriller, Psychological Literary Fiction, Women Writers & Fiction, Mystery , Women's Literary Fiction, Psychological Fiction, Contemporary Fiction, Noir Fiction, Domestic Life Fiction, Mystery ,Thriller & Suspense Literary Fiction, Psychological Suspense, Domestic Fiction, Domestic Thriller and Thriller amongst others.   

 

I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of 'Gone Girl', 'The Wife Between Us', 'The Woman in the Window', 'The Girl on the Train' ,Lisa Jewell, ,Ruth Ware, Paula Hawkins, Gillian Flynn , Shari Lapeni, 'The Wife Between Us', 'The Housemaid' and anyone who loves a book filled with suspense and surprises!! 


400 pages.


This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle, free with kindle unlimited and £9.99 in paperback via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!! 


Rated 5/5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook. 


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews 



@TheWeddingDay @SueWatson @Bookouture @BookoutureAnonymous @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Netgalley @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger @KindleUnlimited 



  



 








Author Bio:


Sue Watson was a journalist on national magazines and newspapers before becoming a TV producer with the BBC. 

Now a USA Today bestselling author, Sue explores the darker side of life, writing psychological thrillers with big twists.


Originally from Manchester, she now lives with her family in leafy Worcestershire where much of her day is spent writing – and procrastinating. Her hobby is eating cake while watching diet and exercise programmes from the sofa, a skill she’s perfected after many years of practice.





Social Media Links






Sign up to be the first to hear about new releases from Sue Watson here: https://www.bookouture.com/sue-watson








Purchase Links



You can sign up for all the best Bookouture deals you'll love at: http://ow.ly/Fkiz30lnzdo








4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page