top of page

'The Victim' by John Nicholl

Book Description


Alice Granger is no ordinary survivor. She has a tale to tell, a story of revenge.


Alice feels driven to protect the innocent from dangerous men. Men like her father. Men who hurt children. Predators who prey on the innocent. And there’s nothing Alice won’t do to make them pay.


Alice wants to make them suffer as their victims did. But the police are one step behind. And as the net closes, Alice’s life spirals out of control, the lines between good and evil becoming ever more blurred as she attempts to escape capture.


When the hunted becomes the hunter, is anyone innocent?




*Previously published as Killing Evil*



Book Review


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for John Nicholl and Boldwood Books.


Publication date 13th January 2023


This is the first book I have read by this author. It most definitely won't be the last!!


I was originally drawn to this book by its unique eye catching cover and its intriguing synopsis and title. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Boldwood books. I have yet to read a book published by Boldwood that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of 43 chapters. The chapters are short to medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in Wales 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁷󠁬󠁳󠁿, UK 🇬🇧. The bonus for me of books that are partly or fully based in the UK is that I live in the UK and have sometimes visited places mentioned in the book which makes it easier to picture. The fact that I live in Wales and only live a few miles from the authour is amazing as I'm hoping to recognise a few local places.


This book is written in first person perspective and the main protagonist is Alice Granger. The benefits of books written in first person perspective are as long as they are well written it makes you feel that you are being spoken to by the protagonist and it can create more of a bond between yourselves and them. If there are several protagonists you also get to see more of what is going on.


'The Victim' discusses some topics that may trigger some readers or may not be suitable for others. I like to point this out ahead of time in my reviews so you can judge if this book is for you or not. In this book John discusses/includes strong language, graphic violence and child abuse.


OMG!!!! John Nicholl where have you been all my life!!!! What a read!! Just Wow!!! This is one of the best psychological thrillers I have read in a long time, I'm fact that I have ever read!!!


The book is written perfectly and with such vivid descriptions it really feels that Alice is sitting next to you telling you what is happening while she is doing it. I absolutely LOVED that Alice is talking directly to me as a reader. It really immense the reader into the storyline. This is very hard to achieve correctly but John absolutely smashed it!!!


The storyline is absolutely addictive and gripping. I seriously WOULD NOT even start this book unless you have cleared your schedule because you will not be able to put it down!!! I absolutely blew through it in one sitting and it genuinely was unputdownable!!! A true page turner absolutely rammed with suspense, tension, gore, murder/executions and everything you want when you read a psychological thriller. This would be absolutely amazing if turned into a movie, if done right of course!!! Not only is this a gripping and addictive storyline but it is immensely thought provoking. It really made me think and question that if I could get away with it would I do the same? Wrong and crime is not always black and white. Without revealing too much of the storyline it is hard to say what I want without exposing the story too much and spoiling it for other readers. Some readers will agree with what she does, some wouldn't. I absolutely agree with the fact that the justice system we have is a joke!! However, towards the end of the book I do think that Alice lost her way and possibly her mind.


I really cannot compliment and recommend this book more. It is a heart racing, nail biting, suspense packed psychological thriller that will stay with you for one hell of a long time.


Congratulations John an absolutely epic novel and welcome to my favourite authour list!!! Looking forward to reading your next page turner!!!


Overall a unputdownable, heart racing, nail biting and addictive psychological thriller


Genres covered in this novel include Thriller, Suspense, Psychological Thriller, Mystery and Crime Thriller amongst others.


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as Charlie Gallagher, Mark Edwards and anyone who loves gore, good psychological thrillers and ANYONE looking for a good read!!


226 pages.


This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle or free on kindle unlimited via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews



@JohnNicholl @BoldwoodBooks @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86












Author Bio


John Nicholl, a former police officer, social worker and lecturer, is the award-winning, Amazon bestselling author of numerous darkly psychological suspense thrillers. He began writing after leaving his job heading up child protection services. You can find out more about John and his books at: www.johnnicholl.com


You can contact John at johnnichollauthor@gmail.com




Purchase Link





39 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

1 Comment

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
John Nicholl
John Nicholl
Jan 13, 2023

Thanks for reviewing The Victim on your brilliant blog.

Like
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page