top of page

'The Vacation' by M.M Chouinard

Title: The Vacation

Publication Day: 27/05/2021

Author: M.M. Chouinard


Description:

One of them is missing… One of them did it…

The Thanksgiving retreat was meant to be a time for them to get away from it all, miles from the secrets that threaten to tear their family apart. But they’re each hiding something:

Rose hopes the pretty house overlooking the sea is just the break her family needs. But as she gazes at the water and remembers her own childhood, she is utterly terrified.

Brandon knows his wife Rose has barely forgiven him for his affair. He’s started drinking again, a road that led him to disaster once before.

Brianna, Rose’s sister-in-law, is recovering from her fifth miscarriage, and when she looks at her adorable niece, she can’t help but see the daughter she deserves.

Then three-year-old Lily disappears from her bed in the villa. Isolated in what should have been paradise, it quickly becomes clear that one of them took her.

As one by one their secrets are uncovered, who will be destroyed next?

A completely addictive thriller about every parent’s worst nightmare that will keep you guessing into the early hours of the morning. Perfect for fans of The Guest List, One by One and The Sister-in-Law.






BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'The Vacation' by M.M. Chouinard.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for M.M. Chouinard, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 27th May 2021.


This is the first book I have read by this author.


I was originally drawn to this book by its eye catching beaitiful cover and its intriguing synopsis and title. The synopsis stated that this book is 'Perfect for fans of The Guest List, One by One and The Sister-in-Law'. I am a fan of 'The Guest List' so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of 66 chapters and an epilogue. The chapters are short to medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in Jamaica 🇯🇲


This book is written in third person perspective and the main protagonists are Rose, Bree and Anabelle. The benefits of third person perspective with multiple protagonists are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything.


OMG!!!! Absolutely shocked!!! Fairplay I was not expecting that ending or any of them twists!!! Love, love, LOVED IT!!!


A fantastically written psychological thriller with vivid descriptions which really put you in the picture. The cover, title and synopsis work perfectly with the storyline.


It is set over multiple time lines. When books show what has happened in the past and what is happening in the present I find it really helps the reader (if it is well done) understand why things are happening and what has lead to the present activities and decisions. It also shows the bigger picture.


The storyline is petrifyingly realistic and is every mothers worst nightmare!!! A holiday from absolute hell. I was gripped from the first sentence and completely hooked and absorbed until the explosive ending!!! Absolutely packed with love, loss, secrets, friendships, deceit, crime, lies, twists and turns, everything and more that you look for in a psychological crime thriller. I could not put this book down and it kept me on the edge of my seat, biting my nails and with my heart in my throat throughout!!! I won't lie it also brought tears to my eyes on several occasions. An absolutely addictive page turner!! I love how everything is explained and wrapped up perfectly by the end, nothing worse than loose ends.


The characters were realistic, well defined and strong. I really connected with the majority of the main characters which is rare for me, I usually just connect with one or maybe a couple but I seemed to really 'bond' with most of them. I really felt for Rose from her fears from the first chapter to everything she went through, I can't go into more detail as not to spoil it. I wasn't sure about Bree for a while but once I got to know her more I bonded with her more. Anabelle is also a very strong character who will stay with me for a while.


Well done M. M. Chouinard on an absolutely huge success and welcome to my favourite author list. I cannot wait to read more of your novels as if they are half as good as this one then they will still be amazing!!


Overall an absolutely addictive and explosive page turning psychological thriller


Genres covered in this book include Thriller, Fiction, Mystery, Suspense and Psychological Thriller amongst others.



I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Shalini Boland, Lisa Gardner and just anyone looking for an explosive page turner!!!



331 pages.


This book is just 99p to purchase on kindle via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@MMChouinard @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86










Author Bio:



M.M. Chouinard writes crime fiction (including suspense, procedurals, and cozies), and women's fiction. M.M. Chouinard's first fiction story was published in her local paper when she was eight, and she fell in love with Agatha Christie novels not long after. While pursuing a Ph.D in psychology and helping to found the first U.S. research university of the new millenium, the stories kept rattling around inside her skull, demanding to come out. For sanity's sake, she released them.

Author Social Media Links:









Buy Links:


9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Commentaires

Noté 0 étoile sur 5.
Pas encore de note

Ajouter une note
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page