top of page

'The Tuscan House' by Angela Petch

Updated: Apr 22, 2021


Book Description:


Corbello, Italy, 1947. A woman and a little boy stagger into the ruins of an old house deep in the forest, wild roses overwhelming the crumbling terracotta walls. Since the war, nowhere has been safe. But they both freeze in shock when a voice calls out from the shadows… For young mother Fosca Sentino, accepting refuge from reluctant British war hero Richard – in Tuscany to escape his tragic past – is the only way to keep her little family safe. She once risked everything to spy on Nazi commanders and pass secret information to the resistenza. But after a heartbreaking betrayal, Fosca’s best friend Simonetta disappeared without trace. The whole community was torn apart, and now Fosca and her son are outcasts. Wary of this handsome stranger at first, Fosca slowly starts to feel safe as she watches him play with her son in the overgrown orchard. But her fragile peace is shattered the moment a silver brooch is found in the garden, and she recognises it as Simonetta’s… Fosca has always suspected that another member of the resistenza betrayed her. With Richard by her side, she must find out if Simonetta is still alive, and clear her own name. But how did the brooch end up at the house? And with a traitor hiding in the village, willing to do anything to keep this secret buried, has Fosca put herself and her young son in terrible danger? An absolutely gripping and heartbreaking page-turner that explores the incredible courage of ordinary people in extraordinary times. Perfect for fans of Rhys Bowen, The Nightingale, and anyone longing to lose themselves in the mountain landscapes and olive groves of rural Tuscany.






BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'The Tuscan House' by Angela Petch.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Angela Petch, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 7th April 2020.


This is the first book I have read by this author.


I was originally drawn to this book by its eye catching and colouful cover and its captivating synopsis. I also wanted to read something a bit different from the same genres I've been reading lately and this historical novel seemed to attract my attention. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of a prologue, 38 chapters and an afterword. The chapters are medium to long in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in both England 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿 UK 🇬🇧, Venice and Tuscan, Italy 🇮🇹.The bonus for me of books that are partly or fully based in the UK is that I live in the UK and have sometimes visited places mentioned in the book which makes it easier to picture.



This book is written in third person perspective with the protagonists being Richard, Fosca and Natalie. The The benefits of third person perspective with multiple protagonists are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything.


It is set over multiple timelines via flashbacks When books show what has happened in the past and what is happening in the present I find it really helps the reader (if it is well done) understand why things are happening and what has lead to the present activities and decisions. It also shows the bigger picture.


This is a beautifully written story with vivid descriptions. The synopsis and cover suit the novel perfectly.


The storyline is a slow burner but thay is perfect for the storyline. Although this book is already set in the past I enjoyed that it went even further in the past and finding out all about both Simonetta and Fosca's history and backgrounds. I did have to Google a few words but being set in Italy I thought this was appropriate and it also shows that the author did her research on the language, either thay or knows Italian. The author emerges her readers into the storyline as well as the settings and actions and emotions of the characters. I was slightly concerned about not reading the previous books in the series (as I always am when reading a book in a series where I haven't read any previous ones) but my worry was unfounded.


This book is fascinating and gloriously intriguing, a devastating, beautiful, heartbreaking, compelling and riveting page turner. It is perfect for fans of historical and WWll stories and of course any fans of Angela's previous books. I for one am looking forward to reading the previous and next books in this series. I definitely believe Angela has done plenty of research and it shines through.


I was absolutely shocked by the two big reveals and it's killing me trying not to say too much as not to spoil it for future readers but I did not see them coming!!! If your looking for a book with a twist this is definitely for you!!!


The characters are absolutely fantastic as well as intriguing, unique and realistic. I loved discovering and delving into their history and background. I loved watching Fosca and Richard's relationship develop as well as Simonetta and Fosca's friendship along with the other characters inside and outside of partigiana and monastery. The ones that also stood out for me include Pasquale, Rosa, Although I absolutely adored many of the characters there were also quite a few I actually despised. Several of them being Gobbi, Hansen and all of the tedesco for obvious reasons (once you read the book). Barbara was another character I seriously disliked. The way she was so flippant in the way she left Richard was disgusting and her attitude just grated on me.


I was devastated when I found out the destiny, shall we say, of a certain character as I had kept my hopes up throughout the book that they would reappear but it was not to be. However, Karma is a wonderful thing and I was delighted by the ending. Again, I don't want to reveal too much and spoil it for future readers.


Overall a devastatingly beautiful, heartbreaking and memorable historical page turner.


Genres covered in this novel include Historical Fiction, Romance Novel, War Story, Historical Romance, Diary Fiction and Holiday Fiction amongst others.


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of historical and WWII fiction and anyone looking for a beautiful, romantic yet devastating page turner which will shock and leave you thinking about the story for a long time .


400 pages.


This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5/5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@AngelaPetch @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86










Author Bio:


I’m an award winning writer of fiction – and the occasional poem. Every summer I move to Tuscany for six months where my husband and I own a renovated watermill which we let out. When not exploring our unspoilt corner of the Apennines, I disappear to my writing desk at the top of our converted stable. In my Italian handbag or hiking rucksack I always make sure to store notebook and pen to jot down ideas. The winter months are spent in Sussex where most of our family live. When I’m not helping out with grandchildren, I catch up with writer friends. https://twitter.com/Angela_Petch



Buy Links:




15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page