top of page

'The Trivia Night' by Ali Lowe

Book Description


Question: How long does it take to tear someone's life apart?

Answer: Sometimes just one night.


From the outside the parents of the kindergarten class at Darley Heights primary school seem to have it all. Living in the wealthy Sydney suburbs, it's a community where everyone knows each other - and secrets don't stay secret for long.


The big date in the calendar is the school's annual fundraising trivia night, but when the evening gets raucously out of hand, talk turns to partner-swapping. Initially scandalised, it's not long before a group of parents make a reckless one-night-only pact.


But in the harsh light of day, those involved must face the fallout of their behaviour. As they begin to navigate the shady aftermath of their wild night, the truth threatens to rip their perfect lives apart - and revenge turns fatal.


THE TRIVIA NIGHT is a gripping, domestic page-turner full of shocking reveals, perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty and Sally Hepworth.





BLOG TOUR REVIEW 



Review for 'The Trivia Night' by Ali Lowe. 


Read and reviewed for Ali Lowe, and Hodder & Stoughton. 


Publication date 22nd February 2022.


This is the first book I have read by this author. 


I was originally drawn to this book by its eye catching cover and intriguing sounding synopsis and title. It is also a book that was chosen for Burry Port book club. The synopsis stated that 'THE TRIVIA NIGHT is a gripping, domestic page-turner full of shocking reveals, perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty and Sally Hepworth.' I am a HUGE fan of Liane Moriarty so am looking of the book lives up to this statement. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Hodder & Stoughton. I have yet to read a book published by Hodder & Stoughton that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book). 



This novel consists of a prologue, 28 chapters and an epilogue. The chapters are short to medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!



This book is based in Australia 🇦🇺. 


This book is written in first person perspective with the main protagonists being Amanda Blackland, Alice Daniels and Zoe Makin. The benefits of books written in first person perspective are as long as they are well written it makes you feel that you are being spoken to by the protagonist and it can create more of a bond between yourselves and them. If there are several protagonists you also get to see more of what is going on.


This book is extremely well written with vivid descriptions that really set the scene and kept me on the edge of my seat. The cover and synopsis suited the storyline perfectly. 


An absolutely must read, addictive, unputdownable and memorable page turner!!! 


Love, LOVE, LOVED this absolute page turner!! It may be the first book I have read by Ali but I can promise you it won't be the last!!! As soon as I've written this up I'm off to add all her books to my wishlist. The storyline is absolutely ram packed with mystery, tension, lies, romance, suspense and OMG the twists just kept on coming again and again!!! Every time I kept telling myself one more chapter the one I was in ended at a point where there was no way I could stop reading so I absolutely devoured it in one sitting!! I absolutely LOVED the school setting which made this book all the more realistic. I loved the unique storyline, an absolutely fantastic idea for a book. I WAS absolutely blown away by the twists and considering I read approximately 30 books a month that is certainly no easy feat so a HUGE congratulations on that Ali. If you are looking for something unique, filled with suspense and that will blow your mind then this is definitely the book for you!! This book really does go to show how one night and one idea can change so many lives. 


I absolutely love the fact that this book is written in several different formats which is another reason it is so unique as I have never seen a book that does this. Amanda's perspective is written as if she is speaking to the reader, we see Zoe's perspective from emails that she has written to her sister and Alice's perspective is told to us via a transcript taken in the office of a Dr Martha Davis. It is a fantastic way to write a book and makes it all the more realistic. I also loved the addition of the table plan for the trivia night for table 6 at the start of the book. 


DO NOT EVEN THINK ABOUT READING THIS UNTIL YOU HAVE CLEARED YOUR SCHEDULES AS YOU WILL NOT BE ABLE TO PUT IT DOWN!!!  


I wasn't just 100% invested in the storyline but also in the characters. Every single one of the characters were well defined, realistic and strong. They all had their good and bad sides and I enjoyed watching how the different women reacted to each other at the school, the event and afterwards. My heart absolutely went out to a few of the characters. I can't say I felt sorry for all the characters but I also won't say anymore as I don't want to spoil it for future readers. I loved how Ali brought the characters to life and many are so realistic to what parents at school runs and events are genuinely like. However, you can't get along with everyone and each of these characters had the perfect personalities to make this book as addictive as it was!! These characters were so strong with such large personalities they won't be forgotten by me anytime soon!! 


A HUGE CONGRATULATIONS to Ali on what promises to be a massive best seller!!! I WAS absolutely blown away by the twist was absolutely shocking!!! I can't say anything else but when you've read it you'll know!!! Welcome to my favourite author list Ali and here's to your next explosive success 🥂!!! 


Overall an absolutely addictive, mind blowing page turner filled with secrets, romance, family, friends, suspense, tension and everything you could want in a book that will keep you up with a racing heart until you've finished!!! 



Genres covered in this book include Crime Fiction, Thriller, Women's Detective Fiction, Psychological Thriller, Home Schooling, Crime Fiction, Contemporary Romance, Domestic Fiction, Suspense, Women's Crime Fiction, Domestic Thriller, Contemporary Thriller, Detective Fiction, Mystery, Contemporary Fiction, Noir Fiction, Psychological Fiction and Women's Sleuths amongst others. 



I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Angela Marsons, Helen H Durrant, Rachel McClean, One of the Girls, Nine Perfect Strangers, Sarah Pearse, Sue Watson, Alice Feeney, Freida McFadden, Colleen Hoover, Lucy Clarke, Patricia MacDonald, Liane Moriarty, Sally Hepworth. and just anyone who is looking for a page turning addictive read!!! 



320 pages.



This book is just £3.99 to purchase on kindle and £8.99 in paperback (at time of review) via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!! 


 


Rated 5 /5 (I loved it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook. 



Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews 





@TheTriviaNight @AliLowe @Bookworm86 @bookworm1986 @Hodder&Stoughton @HodderAndStoughton @Netgalley @Goodreads 













Author Bio


Ali Lowe has been a journalist for 20 years. She has written for magazines, newspapers and websites in London and then Australia, after she moved to Sydney sixteen years ago on a trip that was meant to last a year. She was Features Editor at OK! in London, where she memorably stalked celebrities in Elton John's garden at his annual White Tie and Tiara ball.


Ali lives on the northern beaches of Sydney with her husband and three young children.




Purchase Link











8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page