top of page

'The Trapped Wife' by Samantha Hayes


Book Description:


The rain hammers the glass outside. My husband has stoked the wood burner with a fresh supply of logs, and I’ve just put a joint of beef in the oven. It’s the most clichéd Sunday afternoon ever, and it’s the most heavenly one, too. Little do I know that days later, the ash in the fire will be all that remains of us… My perfect life… I thought I had it all – a dream job as a doctor in small town, a stunning home and a family I adore – but that illusion shattered the moment my husband Jeremy left on a work trip and vanished without a trace. Now my son and I are all alone in the world. My missing husband… My best friend thinks Jeremy had an accident up in the mountains, that I’ll never see him again and need to move on. I know he loves us too much to ever abandon us, but my head is still spinning with the texts I found on his phone before he left. Did I ever really know the man I married? The night I can’t remember… Everything changed the night of the medical conference weeks before Jeremy disappeared. I wrack my brains for answers, but my memory goes blank after my first drink. Ever since, I’ve felt like I’m being followed and can’t explain why panic thunders in my chest every time I see my newest patient. If he’s not local to the village, then why does he seem so familiar? And so dangerous? As I piece together the shards of what really happened that fateful evening, only one thing can possibly be true: everyone is lying, even me…






BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'The Trapped Wife' by Samantha Hayes.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Samantha Hayes, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 8th September 2021.


This is the first book I have read by this author.


I was originally drawn to this book by its stunning eye catching cover and intriguing sounding synopsis and title. The synopsis stated that this book is 'Perfect for anyone totally gripped by The Wife Between Us, Gone Girl or The Girl In The Train. ' I am a huge fan of 'Gone Girl' so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of a prologue, 44 chapters and an epilogue. The chapters are short to medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in England 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿, UK 🇬🇧. I always enjoy when books are set in the UK as I'm from Wales and have sometimes visited areas mentioned in the book. This makes it easier to picture where the scenes are set at times.


This book is written in a mix of third and first person perspective and the protagonists are Jess and Rhonda. The benefits of books written in first person perspective are as long as they are well written it makes you feel that you are being spoken to by the protagonist and it can create more of a bond between yourselves and them. If there are several protagonists you also get to see more of what is going on. The benefits of third person perspective with multiple protagonists are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything. To have the benefit of both first and third person perspective ensures you don't miss out on anything.


'The Trapped Wife' discusses some topics that may trigger some readers or may not be suitable for others. I like to point this out ahead of time in my reviews so you can judge if this book is for you or not. In this book Samantha discusses/includes death of a child.


OMG!?!?!? WHAT DID I JUST READ??? MIND BLOWN!! SAMANTHA WHERE HAVE YOU BEEN ALL MY LIFE?!?!?!


This book is extremely well written and with the first and third person perspective it feels that while Jen is speaking directly to you, you also don't miss out on anything. The descriptions are vivid and the cover, title and synopsis suit the storyline perfectly.


The storyline itself is a must read!!! It is packed with suspense, lies, mystery, sadness, blackmail and red herrings!!! It is very fast paced and I was absolutely hooked throughout. There is so much going on and it constantly leaves you guessing, thinking you've worked it all out and then BOOK an ending you would never have guessed!!! I was absolutely addicted and it left me on the edge of my seat with my heart racing biting my nails. The ending was absolutely explosive and one I did not consider at all. A huge well done Samantha on this as it is getting harder and harder to shock me with all the books I read but you managed to completely blow my mind!!! I am looking forward to reading more of your books past and future!!! If you are planning on reading this then clear your schedules as it is completely unputdownable!!


It is set over/includes multiple time lines. When books show what has happened in the past and what is happening in the present I find it really helps the reader (if it is well done) understand why things are happening and what has lead to the present activities and decisions. It also shows the bigger picture.


The characters are all strong and realistic. All of the main characters were well developed with alot of history. I really liked both Jess and Rhonda but couldn't stand Scott from the start and got a feeling something wasn't right with him.


Congratulations Samantha on absolutely addictive read!!! Welcome to my favourite author list and here's to your next book!!! 🍻


Overall an absolutely unputdownable psychological thriller with an explosive ending!!



Genres covered in this book include Thriller, Suspense, Psychological Fiction and Crime Fiction amongst others.



I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of 'Gone Girl', Shari Lapena, Rachel Abbot and anyone who loves an explosive ending!!!



273 pages.


This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@SamanthaHayes @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86















Author Bio:


Samantha Hayes grew up in a creative family where her love of writing began as a child. Samantha has written eight thrillers in total, including the bestselling Until You’re Mine. The Independent said “fantastically written and very tense” while Good Housekeeping said “Her believable psychological thrillers are completely gripping.” Samantha’s books are published in 22 languages at the last count. When not writing, Samantha loves to cook, go to the gym, see friends and drink nice wine. She is also studying for a degree in psychotherapy. She has three grown-up children and lives in Warwickshire. https://www.samanthahayes.co.uk/ https://www.facebook.com/SamanthaHayesAuthor/ https://www.instagram.com/samanthahayes.author/ https://twitter.com/samhayes



Buy Links:







19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page