top of page

'The Third Sister' by Keiron Cosgrave and Christine Hancock

Updated: Jun 28, 2022


Book Description

Is blood always thicker than water? Even the strongest human psyche can only take so much. And Jenny Payne is no exception. Jenny hates her life. Shaped by childhood trauma and duty-bound to care for her depressed, alcoholic mother and younger sister, Lucy, Jenny is a shadow of the woman she aspires to be. Following a hit-and-run on the night of the Glorious Twelfth, just hours after an incident at the local pub, and about to share a secret with Jenny, Lucy mysteriously disappears. The injured Jenny withdraws into herself and the family home rented from their wealthy landlord, Lord Hugo Armstrong-Bond. With Hugo and his son Miles closing ranks about the nature of their relationship with Lucy, and elder sister Kim suspicious that they know far more about Lucy's disappearance than they are letting on, Jenny endeavours to discover the truth … and Lucy... Suffering chronic migraines and debilitating insomnia, traumatised by recent events, Jenny’s tortured mind demands answers... Where is Lucy? Is she still alive? What secret did she intend to share on that fateful night of the Glorious Twelfth?



BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'The Third Sister' by Keiron Cosgrave and Christine Hancock.


Read and reviewed for Donnas Book Tours, Keiron Cosgrave, Christine Hancock and Indium Books.


Publication date 5th June 2022.


This is the first book I have read by this author.


I was originally drawn to this book by its eye catching creepy cover and intriguing sounding synopsis and title.


This novel consists of 50 chapters. The chapters are short to medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in Yorkshire, UK 🇬🇧. The bonus for me of books that are partly or fully based in the UK is that I live in the UK and have sometimes visited places mentioned in the book which makes it easier to picture.


This book is written in first person perspective and the main protagonists are Jenny Payne, Lucy Payne, Adriana and Kim Payne (?) . The benefits of books written in first person perspective, especially with multiple perspectives, are as long as they are well written it makes you feel that you are being spoken to by the protagonist and it can create more of a bond between yourselves and them.


'The Third Sister' discusses some topics that may upset some readers or may not be suitable for others. I like to point this out ahead of time in my reviews so you can judge if this book is for you or not. In this book Keiron and Christine discusses/includes rape, violence and sexual abuse.


This book is extremely well written with vivid descriptions that really set the scene and put you in the storyline. The cover and synopsis suit the book perfectly.

This book is extremely unique which is always a bonus for me. It is something that I haven't come across previously and am unlikely to come across again. Kieron and Christine completely emerge the reader into the storyline with their captivating writing and storytelling skills. Whilst this is predominantly a psychological thriller, and it most definitely had my heart raising and the hairs on my hands standing throughout, it is also filled with emotion and along with suspense and tension there are moments of heartbreak, love, family and quite a twist. I must say that I thought I had worked it out quite quickly but then there were certain events that made me question myself and to do THAT is one hell of an achievement, very rarely I have to keep questioning myself in a book. It turns out I was correct in my predictions and because of this I would usually give a book a 4/5 but because of the fact that I questioned myself so many times I believe this book is definitely worthy a 5/5. I absolutely LOVED the ending, the explanations and how everything was explained. It is a pet hate when there are events that happen in a book which are later forgotten. I can't say too much more as I don't want to give anything away. I did want to mention that I thought it was a great idea using different birds to represent each different person was a fantastic idea and anytime I forgot which perspective I was reading from I just recalled the bird and remembered. I also liked the fact that Jo Jo Moyes was mentioned as she is such a great author.


Don't start this until you have cleared your schedules as you won't be able to put it down!!!


The characters were all realistic and strong and I was completely invested in Jenny, Kim, Adrian and Lucy throughout. Each of these characters were completely unique and the opposite to each other Adriana seems to have everything but does she really? My heart went out to her to a certain extent until I found something out and then my opinion of her went downhill. Lucy seems to be the immature child who was very needed and I struggled to believe some of the things she came out with but at the same child she is just a child. Jenny seems to have lost all control of life and given up on everything. My heart completely went out to her especially when she left the house and went to the market for the first time, it was disgusted how she was treated. Kim seems put together with her life all sorted but she seemed to make some awful choices too. I couldn't not stand most of the males in this book who seemed to only care about one thing. Unfortunately, I can't say more about the characters as. I don't want to give anything away. Regardless of what I thought about who, each character worked perfectly together to make this an intriguing read.


Congratulations Kieron and Christine on an absolutely fantastic page turner. I am looking forward to reading to more of your books. A huge well done on this and future successes 🥂


Some of my favourite quotes/sentences in this book include the following:

😂 "Imagine Hagrid in a Motörhead t-shirt" .


Overall an action packed psychological thriller that will keep you guessing and turning throughout.


Genres covered in this book include Mystery, Psychological Suspense, Thriller, Psychological Fiction, Suspense, Psychological Thriller amongst others.


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as anyone looking for a book that will keep you hooked and guessing!!!


342 pages.


This book is just 99p to purchase on kindle or free on kindle unlimited (at time of review) via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5/5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews



@KeironCosgrave @ChristineHancock @DonnasTours @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @IndiumBooks









About The Authors



We are Christine & Keiron partners in life and crime (though neither one of us has a criminal record... honest...). We live in the outskirts of Barnsley, South Yorkshire, bordered by rolling countryside rising to The Pennines. True Yorkies, we were born and bred and have never moved away from Barnsley. The famous 1970s BBC documentary got it right when they said, ‘it’s no joke living in Barnsley!’ It certainly isn’t…


Keiron – a former Chartered Surveyor – enjoys vintage scooters, fair weather fishing and trips to the coastal hostelries. A dream day out would be to ride to a course fishing lake by the seaside on his 1961 Lambretta, catch a 50lb carp, and retire to the pub to celebrate and forget all about 1961 Lambrettas and fishing…


Christine – a retired HR & Business Development Manager – enjoys reading, keeping fit, weight watching and weekends away. Christine’s dream day would be reading a great psychological thriller on an isolated beach, while sipping chilled white wine.

As often as time (and funds) allow, we enjoy motorhome adventures in Skylark 3. All Aboard The Skylark being our call to action! Skylark is also Keiron’s favourite writing den. He finds that a view over water is a great lubricant for the creative process.

Between us, we have three grown-up sons and four grandchildren: Oliver, Harry, and three-year-old twins, Margot & Layla.


Together, we write standalone psychological thrillers and crime fiction. We started collaborating on a psychological suspense idea in 2019 (Not Mine To Take). When the pandemic struck, we threw ourselves into writing together.

Christine is the marketing and social media guru for our Indium Books imprint, while Keiron prepares and updates the website, marketing materials and book covers. Fiercely independent Indie Authors, we complete every stage of the book production process in-house. Everything!

The Third Sister is our fourth co-authored thriller. We’ve also written: Not Mine To Take, Not Hers To Take and Not Theirs To Take, all standalone psychological thrillers with a similar theme… What happens when someone takes, or intends to take, something which doesn’t belongs to them.

Passionate about writing, Keiron is the author of the Wardell & Watts British Detective Series, which includes the novels, Promises, Promises, With Menaces, Beyond Absolution (an Amazon Bestseller) and the novella Murder at Devil’s Bridge. Keiron also wrote The Celtic Cross Killer: a standalone private investigator thriller spanning three generations and crossing continents. You can find out more about our books by visiting our website: www.keironcosgrave.net or by following us on Facebook at Keiron Cosgrave Author, as well as Twitter, Instagram and most recently, TikTok (BookTok).

Hope you enjoy reading The Third Sister.

Best Wishes, C&KA

Social Media


Our website

Amazon (.com) author page

Amazon(,co.uk) author page

Goodreads Link to The Third Sister https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/61128543

Our Facebook page

Instagram. @indiumbooks2021

Twitter @ CKwc02

For fun TikTok (see Chris making a fool of herself)





40 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page