top of page

'The Surgeon' by Leslie Wolfe

Author: Leslie Wolfe


Book: The Surgeon

Publication Day: March 8th 2023

Description:

Trusted surgeon. Loving wife. Murderer?


Before my world came crashing down, I had it all. The successful career I dreamed of. The beautiful red-brick home where I could relax in front of the fire. The handsome, devoted husband whose blue eyes and charming smile always made me feel safe.


As I call time of death, my voice is steady. My colleagues stand hushed around me, their eyes on me, confused, concerned.


I have never lost a patient until today.


My hands tremble inside their gloves. I slide down the cold tiled walls, my heart racing in my chest.


I have never hated a patient until today.


But what choice did I have, once I recognized him?


And what will I do to protect myself, if someone learns the truth?


A totally gripping psychological thriller that will have you racing through the pages, gasping for breath until the final jaw-dropping twist. If you love Freida McFadden, Shari Lapena and The Girl on the Train, you won’t be able to put this down.



BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'The Surgeon' by Leslie Wolfe.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Leslie Wolfe, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 8th March 2023.


This is the third book I have read by this author.. I have previously read 'Beneath Blackwater River' and 'The Angel Creek Girls' which are the first two books in the 'Detective Kay Sharp' series and which I also recommend.



I was originally drawn to this book by its eye catching cover and its intriguing synopsis and title. The synopsis stated that this book is 'A totally gripping psychological thriller that will have you racing through the pages, gasping for breath until the final jaw-dropping twist. If you love Freida McFadden, Shari Lapena and The Girl on the Train, you won’t be able to put this down. .' I am a huge fan of both Freida and Shari so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I am also a huge fan of Leslie Wolfe and if this is half as good as 'Beneath Blackwater River' it is sure to be a page turning read. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of 37 chapters. The chapters are short to medium in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in the USA 🇺🇸.


This book is written in a mix of third and first person perspective and the protagonists are Doctor Anne Wiley and Paula Fuselier The benefits of books written in first person perspective are as long as they are well written it makes you feel that you are being spoken to by the protagonist and it can create more of a bond between yourselves and them. If there are several protagonists you also get to see more of what is going on. The benefits of third person perspective with multiple protagonists are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything. To have the benefit of both first and third person perspective ensures you don't miss out on anything.


'The Surgeon' discusses some topics that may upset some readers or may not be suitable for others. I like to point this out ahead of time in my reviews so you can judge if this book is for you or not. In this book Leslie discusses sexual abuse and the death of a child.


Wow!!! Another absolutely page turning psychological thriller!!!! Extremely well written with vivid descriptions it also contains some chapters that take you back to the past so you can see what previously happened to lead to everything.


This is the first standalone book that I have read by Leslie as I have only previously read two of her books from her 'Detective Kay Sharp' series and I must say Leslie is just as talented as writing standalones as she is series. I loved this book just as much as I loved the books I read from the 'Detective Kay Sharp' series. This book wasn't just one storyline but several events going on together. It was very well written so that it didn't confuse readers. It kept be completely on the edge of my seat biting my nails waiting for the next twist and what was going to happen and what did happen in the past. The storyline is realistic, compelling and addictive. The medical and legal aspects of the storyline are intriguing along with the moral reasonings behind what happened. It really made me think and question that if I could get away with it would I do the same? Wrong and crime is not always black and white. There is a very fine line between justice and revenge. Without revealing too much of the storyline it is hard to say what I want without exposing the story too much and spoiling it for other readers. Some readers will agree with what she does, some wouldn't. I absolutely agree with the fact that the justice system we have is a joke!! I loved the MEGA twist at the end which I did not expect at all so a huge congratulations to Leslie as it is getting harder and harder to shock me but you managed to!! The story ended perfectly and there were no strings left hanging, everything was explained and wrapped up nicely. An addictive and well paced legal and medical thriller!!


The fact that Leslie had done her research on medical procedurals shined through and I was intrigued to learn about the statute of limitations. Another well done on doing research as again it really puts me off a book when the author hasn't done any research and so many simple mistakes are made.


This is one of the few books that I have listened 100% on Audiobook. If I listen to a book on audiobook I usually also read the physical book between but I listened to the whole book and I was impressed! I must say a HUGE congratulations to the narrator Gwendolyn Druyor who did a great job bringing this story to life. I would listen to it in the car and while walking at any opportunity and Gwendolyn did a fantastic job on both male and female characters voices!!! I'm not only looking forward to reading more books by Leslie but also to listening to more books narrated by Gwendolyn!


The characters have a mix of personalities and are all realistic. I was shocked by the fact that although I couldn't stand two of the three main characters I still loved the book! I had mixed feeling on the main character Doctor Anne Wiley. There were times where she annoyed me as she seemed really weak but other times where I wondered if it was just an act she was putting on. My heart went out to her for all the stress she was going on at work along with what was going on behind her back. I absolutely could not stand her husband Derreck or the other main protagonist Paula. Both of these characters completely disgusted me and I'm sure you will feel the same but I won't say anything else as I don't want to spoil it for future generations readers. However, regardless of whether you love or hate these characters each of them played their parts perfectly to make this the addictive storyline that it is!!


Leslie Wolfe congratulations on yet another absolute page turner! I this is exactly why you are one of my favourite authors and here is to your next success 🥂 . I would love to see this turned into a movie!!


Overall an absolutely addictive, compelling page turner that will shock you over and over again!!


Make sure you read to the very end of the book to read the first two chapters of Leslie's 'The Girl From Silent Lake' which promises to be just as explosive and addictive as this book and one I'm looking forward to reading myself!!


Overall an absolutely addictive, compelling page turner that will keep you addicted!!


Genres covered in this novel include Suspense Thriller, Medical Thriller, Medical Suspense, Psychological Thriller, Romantic Suspense, Psychological Fiction, Suspense and Thriller amongst others.


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Lisa Regan, Carol Wyer, Robert Dugoni, Angela Marsons, Kendra Elliot, Freida McFadden, Shari Lapena, The Girl on the Train, and anyone looking for a book that will shock you.



316 pages/10 hours 46 minutes


This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle via Amazon, free on kindle unlimited and £20.03 for the audiobook which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5/5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews




@TheSurgeon @LeslieWolfe @Bookouture @BookoutureAudio @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Netgalley @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger @KindleUnlimited







Author Bio:

Leslie Wolfe is a bestselling author whose novels break the mold of traditional thrillers. She creates unforgettable, brilliant, strong women heroes who deliver fast-paced, satisfying suspense backed up by extensive background research in technology and psychology.


Her novels have a consistent presence in genre bestselling lists and a solid sales track record, with more than a million copies sold. Her bestselling series include the Detective Kay Sharp series, the Tess Winnett series, the Baxter & Holt series, and the Alex Hoffmann series.




Author Social Media Links






Bookouture Email Sign Up: https://www.bookouture.com/leslie-wolfe



Purchase Links


Amazon:


Audible:







772 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page