top of page

The Sunset Years Of Agnes Sharp by Leonie Swann. Review.


Book Description


One murder to solve and another to cover up. It'll be tricky, but the OAP residents of Sunset Hall are going to give it their best shot.


Sunset Hall is a house-share for the old and unruly, led by Agnes Sharp. It's an eventful day when this group of idiosyncratic geriatrics gets a visit from the police to inform them of some shocking news: a body has been discovered next door. Everyone puts on a long face, but they are secretly relieved that the body in question is not the one they're currently hiding in the shed (sorry about that, Lillith). Now the answer to their little problem with Lillith may have fallen into their laps. All they have to do is find out who murdered their neighbour, so they can pin Lillith's death on them, thus killing two old birds with one stone.


To investigate, the group (not forgetting Hettie the tortoise) will venture into the not-so-idyllic village of Duck End and tangle with sinister bakers, broken stair lifts, inept criminals and their own dark secrets





BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'The Sunset Years Of Agnes Sharp' by Leonie Swann.


Read and reviewed in hardback for Leonie Swann, Allison and Busby, NetGalley and Goodreads.


Publication date 21st September 2023


This may be the first book I have read about this author but I cannot wait to read her next one!!



This novel consists of a prologue , 25 chapters and an epilogue. The chapters are short to medium in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!



Well done and Thank You Leonie for a hugely successful start to what promises to be an addictive series!! This book is very smoothly written with vivid descriptions which really help you see what's going on around you as well as the storyline. The blurb and the cover compliment the novel perfectly. The illustrations on the hardback cover are brilliant and I absolutely loved the tortoise and footprints on the sides of the books!! Fantastic and unique!!




OMG!!!!! I absolutely LOVE, LOVE, LOVED this absolutely addictive and truly unique book!!! Leonie's amazing and evocative writing skills really has brought everything to life all throughout this fantastic book dropping you straight into Sunset Hall with these absolutely amazing characters that I will not be forgetting for a very long time, if I ever do!!! This book really has been one of the best books I have ever read!!! It is ram packed with crime, mystery, laughter, dodgy biscuits, friendship, a grumpy tortoise, a gorgeous dog, suspense, twists and turns, pensioners, pacts and absolutely everything you could ask for in an unputdownable must read!! There was no way I could finish just one chapter as even though I kept telling myself I would and then go to bed, each chapter ended in a way where I just HAD to know what happened next and before I knew it I had devoured the whole book in one sitting in a few hours!!! The storyline was realistic which I always prefer as it makes it more enjoyable to read when you can see that it is something that could happen. This book is well constructed and was absolutely ram packed with action with so much going on that you will just fly through the pages!!! It is multi layered with all the fantastic characters backgrounds and personalities coming out and each and every character has their own personalities. It was a very compelling and addictive read!!! I would never have guessed who did what and I was completely shocked by the mega twist. An absolutely fantastic read filled with suspense, mystery, twists and much more (I can't say much more as I don't want to spoil it for future readers) Congratulations Leonie, it is getting harder and harder to surprise me and you did just that!!! I genuinely could not praise this book enough as words just will not give it justice so grab your copy today, you won't regret it!!!!


Clear your schedules and pick up grab the tissues as this book will have you laughing until tears are streaming down your face!!!



I loved meeting all the characters again who are a delightful mix of personalities with intriguing backgrounds and each one was very compelling. I have never met a group of characters like this before and I've never loved a group of fictional characters as much as I did with this gang!!!! The only downfall is that they aren't real which is gutted as I would definitely get along with this gang!!!! I can't remember the last time I laughed so much, especially considering it is technically a murder mystery!!! Such a bunch of fantastic quirky characters!!! Without going into too much detail as you really need to 'meet' these characters yourself!!! The main character Agnes is the one who set up Sunset Hall, a "care home" with a difference and a secret to hide. She loves her rules although not so much her medication, she also wants to break into another care home!!! Edwina likes to make dodgy biscuits and is very protective of Hettie the tortoise. Hettie is hilarious in herself and likes to refer to the gang as Big feet with Lettuce holding hands!!! Bernadette may not be able to see but her attitude more than makes up for her eyesight!! Marshall is another leader in the house who helps vet newcomers but is starting to forget things although remembers the umbrella. Winston is found in his wheelchair or racing in the stairlift. Charlie is the newest member of the "mad house" bringing with her Brexit. Brexit isn't just a reason for the TV being put in the cellar but Charlie's loyal and sweet dog who brings more adventure to Sunset Hall. There are many more amazing and unique characters waiting to be found between the pages of this fantastic book. Pick up your copy and meet them all today!!! I cannot wait to meet them all again and find out what other trouble they can get themselves in!! Leonie's evocative writing skills really have brought each of these characters to life throughout this book and it is really sad to say Goodbye but hopefully it won't be long until I meet them all again!!! I am a huge animal lover so any books that contain animals as part of their plot are always a huge hit for me and Hettie and Brexit have been massive characters with their own brilliant personalities and I will definitely be missing them until I see them again!! An amazing group of realistic, strong, hilarious and unique characters that I have loved getting to know in this amazing book and that will stay with me for a very long time!!!!


Congratulations Leonie on an absolutely successful book, an absolutely brilliant, unique, hilarious must read and I cannot wait until book 2 is translated into English!! A perfect start to what promises to be an immense series!!! Welcome to my favorite authors club and here is to your next guaranteed success 🥂!!!!



Overall an absolutely fantastic, hilarious page turner with absolutely bonkers and memorable characters!!!



350 pages.


This book is just £8.99 to purchase on kindle, £8.99 in paperback and £13.89 via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews





@TheSunsetYearsOfAgnesSharp @AgnesSharpMysteries @LeonieSwann @_LeonieSwann @AlisonandBusby @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Netgalley @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger



























Author Bio



Leonie Swann studied philosophy, psychology and English literature in Munich, and now lives in Berlin.


Her first novel, Glennkill (published as Three Bags Full in English), sold over 100,000 copies in the first six months after publication. It has been translated to 32 languages. Her second novel, Garou, a sequel to Glennkill, is not a detective novel but a thriller.





Purchase Links










0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page