top of page

'The Street Party' by Claire Seeber


Description:

The party was supposed to be the highlight of the summer. If only I’d known that night would destroy our lives…

All the neighbours were laughing, drinking out of plastic glasses and getting along. I almost felt happy. Almost forgot about the terrible argument earlier and the sinister messages I’d been receiving from a strange address all week, threatening to expose the lies behind my perfect life.

As we finished with the red and gold fireworks and welcomed everyone back to our house, I believed that everything would be okay.

But I didn’t know who I was inviting in.

I never could have imagined what would happen here, in our home, after I’d gone up to bed.

Everyone saw something different.

It’s my daughter’s word against the story the boy from down the road is telling. But how can I find out what really happened that night without everyone finding out the truth about me?

An absolutely gripping story of the secrets you would do anything to keep hidden, with a twist you just won’t see coming. Perfect for fans of Gone Girl, Big Little Lies and The Girl on the Train.







BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'The Street Party' by Claire Seeber.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Claire Seeber, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 8th June 2021.


This is the first book I have read by this author.


I was originally drawn to this book by its eye catching beaitiful cover and its intriguing synopsis and title. The synopsis stated that this book is 'Perfect for fans of Gone Girl, Big Little Lies and The Girl on the Train'. I am a huge fan of 'Gone Girl' so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of a prologue, 79 chapters and an epilogue. The chapters are short to medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


The storyline is set in London, UK 🇬🇧. The bonus for me of books that are partly or fully based in the UK is that I live in the UK and have sometimes visited places mentioned in the book which makes it easier to picture. I have actually visited London on several occasions so am looking forward to seeing if I recognise anywhere mentioned in the book.


This book is written in first person perspective and the main protagonists are Ruby, Melissa, Nella and Jan. The benefits of first person perspective with multiple protagonists are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything.


This book is well written with several perspectives which ensures you get to see the full picture. The cover, title and synopsis all worked well with the storyline.


This book is quite a slow burner but has got alot going on to keep the readers interest going. It is filled with friendships, lies, secrets, love and deceit. The storyline highlights the strength, morals, values and weaknesses of families and friendships. It shows the jarring damage that jealousy can do if not kept under wraps. There were moments of suspense and tension and the storyline was quite intriguing. I think the way it ended was perfect.


The characters were definitely an eclectic mix and all were well defined, realistic and strong. My heart really went out to Ruby and Zach who went through utter hell. I wasn't a fan of Nella and Marcus from the first page until the end. I had mixed feelings when it came to Melissa but I definitely think she would make a great mum as she always had Cecilia's best interests at heart. Rex was absolute scum and I quite liked the mysterious Fin.


Overall an intriguing storyline filled with a wide range of characters and emotions



Genres covered in this book include Psychological Thriller, Suspense, Psychological Fiction and Domestic Fiction amongst others.



I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of "Big Little Lies".



402 pages.


This book is just 99p to purchase on kindle via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 4/5 (I enjoyed it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@ClaireSeeber @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86




https://m.facebook.com/Bookworm1986/?ref=bookmarks






Author Bio:


Claire Seeber is a Londoner who started professional life as a (bad) actress and became a documentary maker, a journalist and a writer of, so far, psychological thrillers. The Observer said of her first novel: 'a disturbing debut' whilst The Guardian called it 'powerful'...she keeps writing whilst also studying psychology and (trying to) to manage a home of slightly feral kids and animals. Luckily she's got a very nice partner to help too.

Author Social Media Links:







BUY LINKS:

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page