top of page

The Stepmother by Sally Rigby & Amanda Ashby. Review


Book Description


She’ll do anything to protect her family…


Libby Curtis never wanted children, until she met Nathan, a gorgeous widower with two young

children. Now ten years later she can’t imagine her life without Sam and Sienna – she’d do anything

for her precious kids. Anything….


So when a missing teenager is found lying on the side of the road, Libby’s first thoughts are for her

own kids. Are they safe? Are they home?


What Libby doesn’t expect is for her children to be involved in the girl’s disappearance. But when she

discovers an item in her stepson's car linked to the victim Libby’s fears increase.


She can't believe that the sweet boy she's raised could do something like that. But if not Sam….who?


Libby must discover the truth before her family is ripped apart. But someone is determined to make

sure their secrets stay hidden - even if the consequences are deadly...






BLOG TOUR REVIEW



Review for 'The Stepmother' by Sally Rigby and Amanda Ashby



Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Sally Rigby, Amanda Ashby, Boldwood Books and Rachel's Random resources Tours.


Publication date 30th October 2023



This is the second book I have read by either of these authors. I have previously read 'The Ex Wife' which I would also highly recommend.



This novel consists of a prologue, 36 chapters and an epilogue. The chapters are short to medium in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!




WHAT did I just read!!!! WOW!!! I mean seriously Wow!! I was NOT expecting that lot fair play!!! This has GOT to start with a MASSIVE WELL DONE SALLY AND AMANDA!!!! Ooopps sorry, yes, needed a minute to get over that but I've just left you hanging there... Sorry.... Let me tell you more...



Firstly let's start off with the writing style, etc!! This book is an extremely well written book by these amazing authors which had me hook line and sinker!!! It is so smoothly and fantastically written with vivid and evocative descriptions I completely forgot I was even reading a book a few times. The blurb, title and cover really fit the storyline. Sally and Amanda work perfectly together to create an absolutely explosive and addictive storyline that had me hooked from the gripping first chapter to the absolutely shocking ending!!!



As you can tell I LOVED the storyline. I found it to be realistic, very fast paced and I read it in just several hours!!! I loved the setting, characters, atmosphere and just well... Everything!!! Twists after shocks after turns!!! Arggghhh... Its so hard to NOT say anything about them as it will give too much away and spoil it for future readers but it definitely left me speechless over and over!!! I have read hundreds of psychological books and it gets harder and harder to keep my interest and to shock me but these fantastic authors managed it hook, line and sinker Just brilliant fair play and all links in and wraps up perfectly!!! During the book Sally and Amanda build the tension and suspense perfectly and leading the readers up to some extremely explosive twists that I would never have seen coming. I cannot remember the last time I flew through a book so quickly. Each and every time I went to put it down to do something my fingers were itching to pick it back up as I just HAD to know what happened next!! Amanda and Sally's evocative writing skills ensure you are sucked deep into the storyline seeing everything that is happening and feeling the tension, stress and suspense that each of the main characters are going through. My heart was in my throat throughout reading this fast paced, gripping and gritty psychological thriller! I just cannot wait to get stuck into more books by these absolutely epic authors and I have added all their previous books to my wish list already and look forward to what they come out with next!! It is ram packed with family, lies, twists, drama ,heartbreak, twists, tension, stress, suspense and everything you could ask for in a psychological thriller. I can't say more than that as I don't want to spoil it for future readers so if you want to know you'll have to grab yourself a copy!! You won't regret it!!


Just like with the storyline the characters come to life with Sally and Amanda's fantastic writing skills. They are well rounded, realistic and strong making them all the more believable. They were also all complex and the further I got into the book and the more I got to know them it felt like I was discovering more layers the more I read. I have twins myself so any books that inckjde twin characters always intrigue me that but more and Sam and Sienna are definitely intriguing!! I was completely invested in Libby and her family and just had to know who was hiding what. I won't go into more details as I don't want to risk giving anything away but Amanda and Sally really have done an amazing job constructing an addictive and explosive psychological thriller with fantastic and varied characters that you just won't be able to put down!!



Congratulations Sally and Amanda on an yet another explosive success!!! This is the exact reason that you are both in my favourite author club!! Here's to many more successes 🥂!!!



Clear your schedules before picking this up as you will not be able to put it down!!! "



Make sure you read to the very end of the book to read the first chapter of Sally and Amanda's 'The Ex Wife' which I have actually read already and I would highly recommend it!!!


Overall an absolutely page turning, addictive, gripping and explosive must read that will keep you addicted from the very start to the fantastic ending!!!



306 pages.



This book is just 99p to purchase on kindle via Amazon, free with kindle unlimited and £9.99 in paperback at time of review which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!



Rated 5/5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.



Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews




@TheExWife @SallyRigby @AmandaAshby @BoldwoodBooks @BoldwoodBloggers @BookAndTonic@Netgalley @RachelsRandomResources @rararesources @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger @KindleUnlimited




https://kcmw86.wixsite.com/bookworm86



https://m.facebook.com/Bookworm1986/?ref=bookmarks


https://m.facebook.com/Bookwork86/?__tn__=%2As-R



https://www.instagram.com/bookwormwhitlock86/



https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/34299953-kirsty-bookworm86


https://mobile.twitter.com/kcmw86





Author Bios


Amanda Ashby and Sally Rigby are a crime writing partnership. Both authors live in New Zealand, have been friends for eighteen years and agree about everything (except musicals). They decided to collaborate on a psychological thriller which they then entered into a competition, run by Boldwood, and which they won!



Social Media Links


/







Purchase Link










5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page