top of page

'The Stepdaughter' by Georgina Cross

Title: The Stepdaughter

Publication Day: Sept 2nd 2020

Author: Georgina Cross


Description:


It’s a normal afternoon when I walk out the patio doors of our kitchen to check on Mia, my stepdaughter, who is swimming in our backyard pool. But she’s gone. My heart stops when I see the back gate is open, her pink, fluffy towel lying folded on a chair. I was just feet away. Why didn’t I hear her scream? Who took our little girl?


My husband can’t understand how I could have let his daughter disappear. And when the police come asking questions, I wish I could wind back time to that normal afternoon when I was cooking lasagna for my family, Mia’s favorite. I can tell the officers don’t believe me: they’ve cast me as the evil stepmother.


I just wish I could understand the messages I’ve found from my husband on Mia’s phone: I’m so sorry, I still love you. And why his wedding ring is found at the bottom of the pool after Mia disappeared. He never told me it was missing. What else is he hiding?


But the detective keeps asking me where I was during those ten minutes when Mia vanished. And I can’t tell her my secret. From the way she’s looking at me, I know she thinks I did something to my stepdaughter. Mia and I haven’t always been that close and sometimes she drives me nuts, just like any normal teenager, but I would never hurt her.


I just need you to believe me.


A twisty novel packed with unputdownable suspense about the power and damage of secrets we hide. Perfect for anyone who was totally hooked by The Mother-in-Law, Kerry Fisher and Big Little Lies.






BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'The Step Daughter' by Georgina Cross


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 2nd September 2020


This is the first book that I have read by this author and it most certainly won't be my last!


I was originally drawn to this book by its intriguing title & blurb. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of a prologue and 6 acts which are made up with 63 chapters which are short in length so perfect to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is written in first person perspective with five protagonists. I always enjoy reading books written in first person more as it feels like I'm sitting across the table from them while they are telling their story or in the book next to them. I also enjoy books from several perspectives as it gives you a bigger picture of what more people are seeing, doing and feeling so this is definitely a big positive for me. It is also written with 2 timelapses which helps create a bigger picture as you can how events lead up to the present day.


The way it was written made me feel like I was right next to the characters and going through the events with them.


Wow!! Where do I begin? What an absolutely gripping, intense psychological thriller that will keep you on the edge of your seat, flying through the pages and full of suspense!! Filled with twists, turns, red herrings, lies, secrets,shocks and a big bang bang you won't see coming.


It was very well written and a true page turner. Filled with fantastic descriptions that makes you feel your following the characters around while you wonder whats around the corner. I just did not want to put this book down.


Excellent characters who all 'played their parts' perfectly, very strong, realistic and detailed it was very easy to picture them and I enjoyed seeing events unfold from different perspectives.


I cannot wait to read more books by the very talented Georgina Cross who I will definitely be adding to my top authors list!!!


Overall a mind blowing, suspense filled psychological page turning thriller!!!


Genres covered include Suspense, Mystery, Romance, Coming of age, thriller, police procedural, Psychological thriller, Crime fiction, Noir fiction and Domestic fiction.


I would recommend this book to fans of any of the above as well as of page turning books that leave you shocked.


302 pages.


This book is 99p to purchase on kindle via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5/5 (I loved it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@GeorginaCross @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86


https://kcmw86.wixsite.com/bookworm86


https://m.facebook.com/Bookworm1986/?ref=bookmarks


https://m.facebook.com/Bookwork86/?__tn__=%2As-R





Author Bio:


Georgina Cross is the author of The Stepdaughter (publishing September 2020) and Book 2 (title to be released January 2021) and Nanny Needed (to be published 2021) which are works of domestic suspense, psychological suspense, and thriller.


She is represented by Rachel Beck with Liza Dawson Associates with her suspense fiction appealing to readers of The Good Girl by Mary Kubica, The Marriage Lie by Kimberly Belle, The Mother-in-Law by Sally Hepworth, and Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty.


Georgina has been writing since she was a child. Notebooks & floppy discs filled with stories: adventures growing up in New Orleans and tales from Malaysia & England where her family lives. After graduating from Louisiana State University, she pursued a career in marketing & communications and founded Susie's Wish non-profit which sends patients with life threatening illnesses to the beach. She spends time with her husband and their combined family of four sons watching plenty of scary movies and is thrilled to be a full-time author.


Author Social Media Links:


Author website: www.Georgina-Cross-Author.com

Twitter: @GCrossAuthor

Facebook: GeorginaCrossAuthor

Instagram: GeorginaCrossAuthor





Buy Link:


Amazon: https://geni.us/B08C5L1TVGSocial


Apple: http://ow.ly/yt5J50Arui9


Kobo: http://ow.ly/qZVq50ArugJ


Google: http://ow.ly/iGyT50Arukh

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page