top of page

The Spirit Girls by Dawn Merriman. Review



Book: The Spirit Girls


Author: Dawn Merriman


Pub Day: May 9th 2023




About the Book: 


“Where are you taking me?” Rylan follows the figure through the trees. The girl’s dark ponytail swings as she turns back, then walks on without answering. Deep in the woods, she disappears… and Rylan finds her body, mouth wide in a silent, final plea for help.


Rylan Flynn has always been able to see what others don’t—the restless spirits haunting Ashby, Indiana. She’s learned to live with her “gift” but sometimes she longs to escape.


The woods have always been a peaceful place for Rylan. But on a visit to her aunt’s cabin, she catches sight of a spirit in the trees. The ghost of a young woman approaches, leading Rylan to her body.


With a flood of horror, Rylan realizes that the girl, Celeste Monroe, has been murdered. An outgoing newcomer to town, Celeste had no enemies. Who on earth would want to see her dead?


When a coin carved with strange symbols is discovered in Celeste’s throat, it’s clear that a twisted, cold-blooded killer is at work.


Rylan’s abilities could be the only way to prevent further deaths. But Ashby’s handsome head detective, Ford Pierce, has made it very clear that he doesn’t want her help.


And any unexplained knowledge of the case could make Rylan the perfect suspect.


When another body is discovered and blood at the scene points to Rylan’s family, she is more determined than ever to uncover the truth. She must race against time to untangle a web of dark secrets… but can she find answers before the murderer claims another victim?


A heart-pounding mystery with a touch of romance, The Spirit Girls begins a new series of paranormal thrillers that are impossible to put down. If you love urban fantasy or psychic thrillers by Heather Graham and Wendy Wang, this book will grab you from the first page and never let go.















BLOG TOUR REVIEW



Review for 'The Spirit Girls' by Dawn Merriman.



Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Dawn Merriman, Second Sky Publishing, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous



Publication date 9th May 2023.



This is the first book I have read by this author. It is also the first book in the 'Rylan Flynn Mystery' series.


I was originally drawn to this book by its colourful cover and intriguing, sounding synopsis and title. The synopsis stated that this book is 'A heart-pounding mystery with a touch of romance, The Spirit Girls begins a new series of paranormal thrillers that are impossible to put down. If you love urban fantasy or psychic thrillers by Heather Graham and Wendy Wang, this book will grab you from the first page and never let go’'. I am a fan of Heather Graham and am looking forward to seeing if this book lives up to this statement!! I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Second Sky (Bookouture). I have yet to read a book published by Second Sky or Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).



This novel consists of 32 chapters. The chapters are short to medium in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!



This book is based in Indiana, USA 🇺🇲.



This book is written in first person perspective and the main protagonists are Rylan Flynn, Detective Ford Pierce and the killer. The benefits of books written in first person perspective with multiple protagonists are as long as they are well written it makes you feel that you are being spoken to by the protagonist and it can create more of a bond between yourselves and them. If there are several protagonists you also get to see more of what is going on.



OMG!!! WELL THAT WAS NOT WHAT I WAS EXPECTING AT ALL!!! ABSOLUTELY LOVED THIS BOOK, AN ABSOLUTELY PERFECT START TO WHAT PROMISES TO BE AN EXPLOSIVE SERIES!!


This book is extremely well written with vivid descriptions that really put you in the storyline, feeling the hair on your arms raise and putting you on the edge of your seat!!!


As previously mentioned this book was not what I expected when I seen this book was published under Second Sky which is a science fiction and fantasy publisher within Bookouture and Hachette UK. I was expecting there to be a lot more scifi. Now, I must admit I am not a massive fan of scifi but I'm an eclectic reader and will give most books a try. I would say this book is more paranormal, ghost and horror than SciFi so if you are a paranormal, ghost story or love a chilling book that will raise the hair on your arms and not a SciFi or fantasy fan please give this book a read. Trust me, you really won't regret it!! In fact, it doesn't matter what genre you like to read give it a read!!! Paranormal Investigator Rylan Flynn sees ghosts and she helps them to pass on to the other side along with some help from her Dad who is a priest. When visiting her Aunt Val she follows a ghost who leads Rylan to her body before she disappears. The police are called and Rylan is told to stay away from the investigation. However, what fun would listening be? Rylan starts digging into what happened but another body is discovered and the blame is put too close to home. Rylan won't rest until she finds out who the killer is even when it puts her in danger herself. Filled with suspense, murder, witchcraft, ghosts, friendship, family, mystery and a sprinkle of romance in the air this book is an absolutely explosive and epic start to what promises to be an addictive must read series!! I absolutely love ,love, LOVED the unique storyline!! I have read so many books that it is getting harder and harder for me to find a truly unique plot but Dawn absolutely smashes it out of the park with this one!! I picked it up and even though I kept telling myself just one more chapter I just could not put it down as every time I went to something happened which meant I had to read just one more again until I ended up reading it in one sitting having been glued to my kindle for a few hours!! Dawn's evocative writing skills and descriptions really brought the storyline to life and I just cannot wait to get hooked into the next book in this fantastic new series!!!



Clear your schedules before turning a single page as this book is truly unputdownable!!!


It is always worrying when starting a new series as you have no idea who the characters are. It is very important for me to bond with not only the lead protagonists but also any characters that may make repeat appearances during the series too.


The characters are all strong, well rounded and realistic. I really enjoyed getting to meet and learn all about Rylan Flynn, her past, her unique abilities and discovering how she feels about Ford. I love how she refuses to back down even when she has been threatened with arrest!! She has a great likeable personality and my heart goes out to her when her gift turns into a curse, especially in regards to her Mum. I also liked her friend and camerawoman Mickey and they have a great friendship which I'm looking forward to continue reading about in the next book. I also really like Ford and I cannot wait to see if it goes anywhere between him and Rylan, I've got my fingers and toes crossed that it does!! I was completely invested in all these characters as well as Rylan's Dad and Aunt Val who I am also looking forward to meeting again in the next book in this absolutely fantastic series. I'm just hoping it doesn't take that long too come out!! Hint, Hint Dawn 😉. Dawn's evocative writing skilsn really brought each of the characters to life and I am already missing them!! Of course I can't finish without giving a mention of the handsome George who is definitely one of my favourite characters!! I am a huge fan of pets/animals in books being a massive animal lover and I loved meeting George and looking forward to meeting him again soon!!


The ending was an absolutely explosive twist that I did not see coming at all. What an shocking cliff hanger!!! I was genuinely gobsmacked and I really cannot wait to get hooked into book 2 'Almost Human: Evolution'.


This book is the BEST ghost thriller I have ever read !!! This book really is a truly unique page turner that I picked up this morning and could not put it down until I finished!!!


Well done Dawn on an absolutely fantastic succeess and here is to what is guaranteed to be many more 🥂



Overall an absolutely addictive, action packed paranormal suspense packed thriller that will keep you turning the pages until you've devoured the book in hours!!


Genres covered in this book include Witch & Wizard Suspense, Christian Fantasy, Ghost Suspense, Spiritual Mystery, Psychic Fiction, Urban Fantasy, Occult Suspense, Religious Science Fiction & Fantasy, Occult Fiction, Christian Fiction, Witch & Wizard Suspense, Metaphysical & Visionary, Witch & Wizard Thrillers, Psychic Thriller, Occult Thriller, Ghost Thriller, Paranormal & Urban Fantasy amongst others.


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Heather Graham, Wendy Wang and anyone who loves a unique, creepy paranormal page turner!!



322 pages.



This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle, free with kindle unlimited and £6.99 in paperback via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!



Rated 5/5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.



Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews



@TheSpiritGirls @ARylanFlynnMysteryBook @DawnMerriman @SecondSky @Bookouture @BookoutureAnonymous @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Netgalley @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger @KindleUnlimited


















Author Bio


Dawn Merriman writes creepy small town murder mysteries from her small farm in northeast Indiana where she lives with her husband and teenage children. You can often find her with muck boots on her feet and a story in her head. She enjoys animals, auctions, snorkeling and archaeology.


Dawn Merriman grew up a small town farm girl, on a small time pig farm in Indiana. She spent her young adulthood sitting on her bedroom floor scribbling stories in notebooks. She won the "Northeast Indiana Young Writers" award as a sophomore in high school.


After battling severe depression, she wrote her debut novel "How Murder Saved My Life" as therapy, mixing her love of murder mysteries and farming with climbing out of the darkness of illness.





Social Media













Purchase Link
















2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page