top of page

The Soulmate by Iain Maitland. Review


Book Description

Everyone has a soulmate. Sharon just found hers.

Sharon Meyer is terribly lonely. She spends her days walking by the sea, watching afternoon television and reading. She hates how small her life has become.

Then, a chance meeting with the cool and sophisticated Pippa, and Sharon knows she will be alone no more. Because she feels it in her bones – she and Pippa are destined to be best friends. Maybe even soulmates.

And it seems she’s right. Soon she and Pippa are having coffee, meeting for lunch in town, and there is even talk of weekends away and holidays. It’s wonderful.

But there is a problem. Pippa is married to Peter and they have a son, Dominic. Which means Sharon can only see Pippa when she has time off from her busy family life.

Sharon isn’t big on sharing. And she starts to think that maybe there’s a way she can have Pippa all to herself…

How far is Sharon willing to go to get what she wants? And will Pippa discover the horrifying truth about her new friend before it’s too late?




BLOG TOUR REVIEW



Review for 'The Soulmate' by Iain Maitland.



Read and reviewed for ZooLoos Book Tours, Iain Maitland and Inkubator Books.



Publication date 15th October 2023.



This is the second book I have read by this author. I have also read the first book in the Bloomfield & Palmer series The Wickham Market Murder which I would also highly recommend.


'The Soulmate' discusses some topics that may upset some readers or may not be suitable for others. I like to point this out ahead of time in my reviews so you can judge if this book is for you or not. In this book Iain discusses/includes domestic stalking, child abuse and sexual assault of a minor.



This novel consists of a prologue, 24 chapters and an epilogue set over three parts which are all dates and timed individually which I thought was a fantastic idea!! The chapters are short to medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!



OMG!!! I ABSOLUTELY LOVE, LOVE ,LOVED THIS BOOK, AN ABSOLUTELY HEART RACING, GRIPPING, SUSPENSE FILLED CREEPY PSYCHOLOGICAL THRILLER THAT WILL HAVE YOU HOOKED AND ON THE EDGE OF YOUR SEAT THROUGHOUT!!!




This book is extremely well written with vivid and evocative descriptions that really put you in the storyline, feeling the hair on your arms raise and putting you on the edge of your seat!!!




This book has absolutely everything you could ask for in a psychological thriller and so much more!!! If you love a good book or are a fan of psychological thrillers then you just have to grab your copy of this true page turner today!!!! I absolutely loved this addictive, explosive, creepy, humourous and dark page turner!!! I honestly loved absolutely everything about it from the characters to the settings it was just one heck of an amazing read!!! If you love crime, thrillers, suspense, well do you know what if you love reading then grab a copy of this book today and you will not regret it!!! It has got to be one of, if not the best psychological thrillers that I have ever read!!! I LOVE the fact that although this book is dark and is a psychological thriller it is also ram packed with humour, mostly twisted humour, but definitely my type of humour and it lightened the atmosphere throughout!!!! Filled with suspense, murder, friendship, family, mystery, twists and so much more this book is an absolutely explosive and epic book in what promises to be an addictive must read series!! I absolutely love ,love, LOVED the unique storyline!! I have read so many books that it is getting harder and harder for me to find a truly unique plot but Iain absolutely smashes it out of the park with this one!! I picked it up and even though I kept telling myself just one more chapter I just could not put it down as every time I went to something happened which meant I had to read just one more again until I ended up reading it in one sitting having been glued to my kindle for a few hours!! Iain's evocative writing skills and descriptions really brought the storyline to life and I just cannot wait to get hooked into another book by this absolutely epic author!!! This book will suck you in and keep you gripped in the pages until your thrown out at the end with a racing heart!!



Clear your schedules before turning a single page as this book is truly unputdownable!!!




WATCH OUT FREDDY, JASON, CHUCKY AND THE GANG THERES A NEW PSYCHO IN TOWN BY THE NAME OF SHARON AND YOU ALL HAVE NOTHING ON HER!!!


Honestly I have never met such a creepy, psychotic and scary character in any book I have ever read and I have read books about serial killers, ghosts and hundreds of psychological thrillers but Sharon really does take the top spot of psychos!! I mean not even in just books but films too!!! She is scarily realistic and the most worrying part is that she is the friendly older lady in your book club or the stranger you chat to on a bench!!!! She really did make my skin crawl and the hairs on my arms stand on end!!! Iain has absolutely amazing evocative writing skills and made her come alive ensuring the reader is standing by her throughout her, shall we call them, adventures. I will say though that even though she is the blatant villain here that my heart did go out to her and all she went through as a child but I will end my talk about her as I don't want to give anything away. Pippa is a bit of a mixed bag for me as although I did feel for her there were also times where I just wanted to shout and shake some sense into her!!! I was completely invested in them both and was just completely unable to put the book down as I just HAD to know what was going to happen next with each of them!!! Unfortunately I can't say anymore as I don't want to ruin this amazing book for future readers and if you love a good book then that will be you!!! An absolutely fantastic selection of unique and memorable characters and, although there were some that I could not stand, regardless of how you feel about them they all worked together perfectly to create an absolutely addictive page turner!!!




This book is the BEST psychological thriller I have read this year and one of the best EVER!!! This book really is a truly unique page turner that I picked up this morning and could not put it down until I finished!!!




Well done Iain on an absolutely addictive and explosive page turner and I would definitely like to welcome you on to my top 3 favourite male author list!!! Congratulations on an absolutely fantastic success and here is to what is guaranteed to be many more 🥂





Overall an absolutely addictive, action packed suspense packed psychological thriller that will keep you turning the pages until you've devoured the book in hours!!!




292 pages.



This book is just 99p to purchase on kindle, free with kindle unlimited and £8.97 (at time of review) via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!



Rated 5/5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.



Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews.




@TheSoulmate @IainMaitland @ian.maitland.31@InkubatorBooks @Inkubator @ZooLoosBT @ZooloosBookTours @Netgalley @Bookworm1986 @BooksOnTour @BlogTour @BookReview @bookworm86 @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger @KindleUnlimited



















Author Bio


Iain Maitland is the author of three previous psych thrillers, The Scribbler (2020), Mr Todd’s Reckoning (2019) and Sweet William (2017), all published by Contraband, an imprint of Saraband.

Mr Todd’s Reckoning is coming to the big screen in 2023, courtesy of Infinity Hill, the team behind the award-winning BBC TV series Staged, starring David Tennant and Michael Sheen.

Iain is also the author of two memoirs, Dear Michael, Love Dad (Hodder, 2016), a book of letters written to his eldest son who experienced depression and anorexia, and (co-authored with Michael) Out Of The Madhouse (Jessica Kingsley, 2018).

He is also an Ambassador for Stem4, the teenage mental health charity. He talks regularly about mental health issues in schools and colleges and workplaces.

This is Iain’s third psychological thriller with Inkubator Books.

Social Media Links







Purchase Link








44 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page